7/19 Morgaine AMPS 189,+3 131,+6 142,PMPS 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday
Morgaine continues to surf the blues and she continues to spill glucose in her urine. As good as I think her numbers were yesterday, she had a 1+ for glucose on diastix before bedtime. It is better than a 2+ but it still indicates she needs more insulin to get below her threshold. Let's see where she goes today.
 
Re: 7/19 Morgaine AMPS 189,+3 131,+6 142

So Morgaine seems to be at flat curve for this dose which is a bit lower but still not low enough to stop the glucose spilling in her urine. FYI, when she had the vet draw blood in May her Freestyle number was 132 and the lab number was 191 with a 1+ for urine glucose. So, i am thinking she spills when her Freestyle numbers are probably up near the 150+ range or a little lower. Just trying to figure this out in my head as I know spilling glucose is not desireable for the long term. I do think she can manage another small dose increase in a day or so.

I would like to increase her dose next time in the AM cycle so i can keep a close watch on her all day as our next increase will be 1.75. I give her her 9th cycle at 1.50 u bid tonight. I do think we are getting closer to the dose that will work for her and keep her urine glucose under control. Any thoughts are welcome. I appreciate discussing all of this with those of you here who have more experience.
 
Re: 7/19 Morgaine AMPS 189,+3 131,+6 142 and need input?

I think you're fine to increase in the AM. According to the protocol, with nadirs below 200, you give the dose 5 days. 9 cycles is close enough given that you're very good about staying on top of Morgaine's numbers.
 
Re: 7/19 Morgaine AMPS 189,+3 131,+6 142 and need input?

Good luck with the increase!!! I hope it brings her numbers below the renal threshold.

Have a great evening, Rosalie.
 
Re: 7/19 Morgaine AMPS 189,+3 131,+6 142 and need input?

Thank you Sienne and Marjorie! In reviewing everything, protocols and modified protocols, if I had started Morgaine at .25 per kg of her ideal weight she would have started at around 1.50u bid. I started her very low and slowly got to here so now we increase to 1.75u and move up from there. I actually thought, because her BGs were relatively low, that a smaller dose would kick in for her but she is a big girl. So, I am hoping that we see some green soon. If not, I will just keep going slowly upward until we get there. From what I am reading, she is actually right where she would be expected to be based on her weight if I had started with that value. I am on a real learning curve here with my girl and I once again thank you all for being here for us. I could not begin to do this without this board and the wonderful people on it.
 
Re: 7/19 Morgaine AMPS 189,+3 131,+6 142

Rosalie: the old protocol used to be "start low, go slow". There are times when we see kitties in here who were started way to high and their numbers, oddly enough, are really high. Sometimes it is recommended they start way back down the ladder and slowly move up it to find the fitting dose.

We also started really low. Even though with Gracie's weight, she could have started at 1u, we started at .5 and slowly moved up.

I think what you are doing is really smart and in the best interest of Morgaine's health. We're glad you are part of us!!! Have a good night.

And aren't the rains great? It's been raining here since sunset.
 
Re: 7/19 Morgaine AMPS 189,+3 131,+6 142

YES! The rains are wonderful and much needed here. My joints don't like the weather but the rest of me does!

Ms. Morgaine is neg for urine glucose tonight. I love that blue color.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top