7/19 Luna - AMPS 394, +6 129, +8 84, PMPS 250, +3 363

For_Luna

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's Fun
After a few days in the yellows and pinks we went back up to 1.25u yesterday morning. By +3 Luna already dropped over 200. At +5 she was 41.

The last 3 attempts at 1.25u have lasted 3,2, and 1 day(s) in that order. Obviously it's too high of a dose. At the same time, 1u seems to be not enough. If this one fails again, we're going to try what Amanda did and give a "fat" 1u or 1.13 for the mathematicians.

If that still doesn't work or we can't get the dose dialed in, we'll give the calipers a try.

Thanks to everyone that checked in yesterday and gave advice
 
Last edited:
+6 129
I wasn't expecting such a good number today. Only problem is that's an over 250pt drop since this morning. Not good for a cat that bounces so much. Still, that's the quickest she's gone into blue after a reduction. Not getting my hopes up, but that's a good sign. We'll see how things look in a few hours at PMPS
 
I would have stayed the course with the 1.25 for the number of cycles recommended by your protocol - TR. I know it's nerve wracking to see them go low like that - but it might have been higher based on a 20% variance on your meter...I have seen Luci go low - but I hold the dose for three times below 50 before changing it. IF she needs a reduction, she's persistent in letting me know - usually what happens if I respond too quickly is she'll head right back up into the higher numbers - not where I want her to be - so try to take it slow with the changes - she's only had one dip that was too low. The other numbers yesterday were right where you'd like for her to become accustomed to being...it's a pretty shocking thing to get to spend some time in the greens and now for the bounce today...when she comes out of that - and with the lowered dose let's see if she makes it back to the greens - steady as she goes mama - steady as she goes...:D
 
I would have stayed the course with the 1.25 for the number of cycles recommended by your protocol - TR. I know it's nerve wracking to see them go low like that - but it might have been higher based on a 20% variance on your meter...I have seen Luci go low - but I hold the dose for three times below 50 before changing it. IF she needs a reduction, she's persistent in letting me know - usually what happens if I respond too quickly is she'll head right back up into the higher numbers - not where I want her to be - so try to take it slow with the changes - she's only had one dip that was too low. The other numbers yesterday were right where you'd like for her to become accustomed to being...it's a pretty shocking thing to get to spend some time in the greens and now for the bounce today...when she comes out of that - and with the lowered dose let's see if she makes it back to the greens - steady as she goes mama - steady as she goes...:D
Hi, just a quick question because Phoebe Squeak and Luna both like the trampoline and I would have done what Dan did. I read this on the T.R. sticky: If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. So what is considered "newly diagnosed?" Thanks for your help.
 
I would have stayed the course with the 1.25 for the number of cycles recommended by your protocol - TR. I know it's nerve wracking to see them go low like that - but it might have been higher based on a 20% variance on your meter...I have seen Luci go low - but I hold the dose for three times below 50 before changing it. IF she needs a reduction, she's persistent in letting me know - usually what happens if I respond too quickly is she'll head right back up into the higher numbers - not where I want her to be - so try to take it slow with the changes - she's only had one dip that was too low. The other numbers yesterday were right where you'd like for her to become accustomed to being...it's a pretty shocking thing to get to spend some time in the greens and now for the bounce today...when she comes out of that - and with the lowered dose let's see if she makes it back to the greens - steady as she goes mama - steady as she goes...:D
Hi Sue, thanks for taking the time to write.

I'm still kind of new, but doesn't TR call for a reduction under 50 and a mandatory reduction if the 30s are hit? I don't recall reading a set of time you have to hold before a reduction could be earned. And I know Luna didn't get into the 30s, but I'm pretty sure she would have if I hadn't tested early and intervened.

And the low number wasn't that concerning to me, it was more the quick drop on the very first dose of the increase. We were in the 40s before her usual nadir and the rest of the numbers after that were achieved by small snacks every hour. Left on her own, that wouldn't have happened.

I get what your saying, and I know we want our cats in the green, but I think yesterday was a little aggressive even by TR standards. Just the two cents of a newbie, but I'd be curious to hear what other people think.
 
Hi, just a quick question because Phoebe Squeak and Luna both like the trampoline and I would have done what Dan did. I read this on the T.R. sticky: If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. So what is considered "newly diagnosed?" Thanks for your help.

You may be correct - It does appear she's nearly 6 months - not sure when in January she was diagnosed...but not quite new, not old either...

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

I guess I had to move on past the 'newly diagnosed' portion with Luci - I soon found out that she wasn't holding reductions at all - as soon as you start to see the higher number after reducing it's a good indicator that she's not getting enough insulin.

Since she has already reduced, let's watch and wait to see if she holds her numbers down with this dose or if she goes back up - every cat is different - ECID - and sometimes it takes a bit of going back and forth - or even shaving a bit off a dose, or adding a bit before you hit it just right. Food is so important at this time too...Luci has always been a bouncy kitty...as you can see from her SS, we still haven't found the 'magic' dose - and we're closing in on two years at this sugar dance... :)
 
it was more the quick drop on the very first dose of the increase.

I agree with you - that is alarming. Take a look at Luci's SS - she loves to race off on me. Two things I have tried to always do:
1. Get a test at 1 or 2+ especially after a dose increase.
2. When she drops over 100 points, set alarm and test again in 30 minutes or a half hour - based on the amount of the drop.

I've had to refer to Luci as a 'diver' ... she loves to pull a fast one on me - and when she drops, she plummets - she doesn't seem to know how to put on her brakes - so if she's still diving the medium and/or high carb food comes and I try to 'feed the curve' to slow her descent - sometimes it works, sometimes not. When her depot is full and she's determined to go all I can do is give her higher carbs to try to slow things down and keep her out of the shark's part of the lagoon (under 40's)...

You'll get a feel for it over time - best to get some 2+ tests to see what Luna is planning for you for the day :)
 
You may be correct - It does appear she's nearly 6 months - not sure when in January she was diagnosed...but not quite new, not old either...

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

I guess I had to move on past the 'newly diagnosed' portion with Luci - I soon found out that she wasn't holding reductions at all - as soon as you start to see the higher number after reducing it's a good indicator that she's not getting enough insulin.

:)
Thank you. Don't mean to drive you nuts with questions, but I'm curious about why you switched from Lantus to Levemir.
 
Back
Top