7/19 Jake's (AMPS) 334 (+6) 297 **dose question**

Status
Not open for further replies.

breayle and jake

Member Since 2010
Hello everyone:

I did not post over the weekend so here is Friday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19979&p=200734#p200734

Jake has been staying in the mid 300's to the low to high 400's. His dose has been kept at 2.75u for 4 days now (today is the fourth). I wanted to see how he would do on one more day... to me it looks like he needs a dose crease again... however...

So, here my question. The next dose is obviously 3u... some of you thought that it was too much. But to me it looks like 2.75 is not enough... I think he should go back to three. Of course last time he was on three and got low numbers I still gave him 3u (advised by my vet) and since I was having PC problems and couldn't come here I listened to her. So... I should go back to 3u... hold for 3 days and if the NADIR is lower than 200 I'm suppose to drop the dose again by .25 yes? And adjust to his BG levels for the day?

I am not going to be home tomorrow during the day so I will not get spot checks in so would you guys suggest holding the dose crease till Wed when I'm off work? I do work Thurs and Sat too an will not get spot checks on those days during 7:30a - 6:30p at the very least. The family also wont help me with spot checks/shots etc. So I'm on my own here. Thoughts?

-Breayle and Jake
 
Hi Breayle,

I'm certain the experienced eyes will check your question out, so if you can check back before your PMPS, ok?

I do see suggestions for doing increases when you'll be home, so that might be a good idea.

How are you for strips this week?
 
Much better now with the ReliOn meter saving me over the weekend and his FreeStyle strips coming on Saturday! He's got one opened 50count bottle and another unopened 50count bottle. And Wal-Mart is 5 minutes away, so I'll be able to get those from now on. In fact I'm thinking of switching to that meter alone. But it's always good to have a backup meter, no?

Breayle and Jake
 
breayle and jake said:
Jake has been staying in the mid 300's to the low to high 400's. His dose has been kept at 2.75u for 4 days now (today is the fourth). I wanted to see how he would do on one more day... to me it looks like he needs a dose crease again... however...

So, here my question. The next dose is obviously 3u... some of you thought that it was too much. But to me it looks like 2.75 is not enough... I think he should go back to three.

I am not going to be home tomorrow during the day so I will not get spot checks in so would you guys suggest holding the dose crease till Wed when I'm off work?

-Breayle and Jake
Personally... since you are not going to be home tomorrow, I'd hold this dose one more day. You had some blue numbers on a lesser dose a few days ago. The 3 unit dose got Jake too low to shoot on some days and I wouldn't want that to happen tomorrow.

... hold for 3 days and if the NADIR is lower than 200 I'm suppose to drop the dose again by .25 yes? And adjust to his BG levels for the day?
No. If the NADIR is below 50, you drop the dose by .25u.
Otherwise hold the dose. If Jake is below 200 at nadir, that is good! Nadir is the peak time of action for the insulin... usually mid-cycle.

Maybe you meant to ask if the preshot is below 200? But for the most part we do not lower the dose based on the preshot alone. The mid-cycle nadir is the best indication of when to raise or lower the dose.

I hope this helps a little. :-D
 
Yes it does a little... but the whole thing is a bit confusing... especially since there is SO much information!! Thanks again :D

-Breayle and Jake
 
Awww, it's ok. I remember all the tidal waves of information washing over me and I just wanted to help my kitty feel better. Then I had trouble understanding all the slang and was too embarrassed to ask. Then some kind person guided me to the slang glossary (up there in the Sticky notes) and I was so happy.

Ask as many questions as you like, no problem. Take it one day at a time and things will get clearer to you. I promise!
 
OMG -- the amount of information to absorb is huge. It was completely overwhelming and I'm very comfortable with all things medical. Please -- ask away!!

The other thing that can help is to read other condos. "Visting" and asking questions or just reading and saying a hello to the other members of the Board will get them visiting Jake's condo and providing input or answering your questions, as well. It can also help to look at other SSs. That can be a bit overwhelming, so you may want to wait until you feel like you've got your legs underneath you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top