7/19 Huey AMPS 72, +3 63, PMPS 83, +3.5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy & Huey

Member Since 2014
Slept pretty erratically last night and managed to give Huey half a can of chicken FF at 5:30 this morning and now I have a low preshot on my hands! I'm planning on being home most of the day so I thought I'd give him his drop BUT I am running low on test strips ohmygod_smile What is the general practice if you have to shoot blind? I think I can make it until my delivery comes on Tuesday **fingers crossed** IF I don't screw up and need five strips to get one reading again...

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122001
 
Re: 7/19 Huey AMPS 72!!!

Hi Nancy,

The "crew" here would prefer it if your general practice is to ALWAYS have enough supplies,i.e, test strips; LC-MC-HC wet cat foods; "spare" lancet with the pokies; an extra blood glucose monitor. They also would prefer it if you NEVER shoot a low blood glucose level, (like this 72 here, for you) unless you are going to be home to monitor your fur baby for many hours. They believe that you as a newbie to giving cat insulin shots have not gathered enough information yet to know how your cat will respond to shooting a low BG number. The advise giver's motto is "Better safe than sad."

I think maybe in the past two months you might have had a chance to read through some of the other condos to see how people are handling their cat's low numbers. If not, you will find that the advise givers main concern is your cat's safety and welfare. If you shoot while your cat's blood glucose is still going down, it means there is the chance that you might overdose your cat on insulin. A hypos attack from too much insulin is an emergency and can kill.

I don't mean to alarm you. Just sharing what I've learned. When will you be home to re-test Huey's BG or have you already tested and his BG is within a normal range?
 
Re: 7/19 Huey AMPS 72, +3 63

I just poked Huey again and the 63 looks like what it ought to be. I feel pretty dumb about the strips, I've just been burning through them faster than I expected (also not mentally accounting for a ~30% screwup rate so far) and I live in New York City so I haven't quite gotten the hang of the timing for ordering online. Still, he looks good for today and I'll just be more conservative in shooting for the next couple days. I'm hoping if I keep with the small meals and that +9 snack, his pancreas will help out too.
 
Re: 7/19 Huey AMPS 72, +3 63

How many strips do you have left?
He seems to be surfing along nicely. I think you can wait until +5 to do the next test, if you want.
I always have an extra box of 50 strips stashed away in my emergency case. You'll learn. ;-)
 
Re: 7/19 Huey AMPS 72, +3 63

I have eight strips left. :oops: I'm gonna see if there's anyone commuting into the city who could pick up a box for me, and if it comes down to it, there are a couple Wal-Marts in NJ and the wee western fringes of Long Island I could spend three hours on a bus to get to. I'm hoping I can get by with just AMPS/PMPS til the next box comes (again, assuming I don't screw up the lanceting, been doing alright but I managed to use up five strips for one test the day before yesterday...)
 
Re: 7/19 Huey AMPS 72, +3 63

For where he is, I definitely wouldn't shoot blind. I'd rather you skip a shot over shooting blind because he's likely to stay fairly green.
 
Makes sense to not shoot blind, what seems like the least worse option?

1) Shoot the mid-greens now (like this 83) and test at the normal intervals til I'm out of strips, then skip the shots til my strips come in?
2) Test only the preshots and shoot only the ones that are high enough to be safe without any midcycle tests? (Also how high should that be? 120s, 150s?)

I'm wondering what's going to throw things off more, not shooting these greens or skipping three or four shots in a row. I was really hoping to take advantage of the weekend to push the momentum on these greens, is there a smiley for 'kicking yourself in the rear'? ohmygod_smile isn't quite cutting it for me just now.
 
Re: 7/19 Huey AMPS 72, +3 63, PMPS 83: rationing strips, sho

it's hard to say, nancy. i guess my fear would be that he would be that he would go below 50 and take more than a few checks (and therefore a few strips) to bring him up. but if i'm counting right, you've got 7 left after the pmps test- is that right?

it's not necessarily safer to shoot a higher number than a lower number. shooting lower typically holds the cycle low and flat, as you had today. shooting higher means that there is farther to drop.

ugh - i think i would lean towards shooting the drop tonight, getting a +3 as well, and making the decision on when to test after that based upon the +3. i wouldn't skip on testing tonight, though and would use the strips as you need them now and deal with running out if it happens.

what do you think?
 
Re: 7/19 Huey AMPS 72, +3 63, PMPS 83: rationing strips, sho

Aaaaaah, I shot him. Yes I have seven strips left, should be set for tonight at the very least.

I think you're right on using the strips now and dealing with running out if it happens, especially if the rationing out might be just as risky. There's always the chance some strips will show up earlier and Huey's been doing pretty good since we got down to a drop. **knock on wood** I thought about cutting down the dose just to ease my nerves but I put what I've been measuring out as a "drop" on a clean plate and it really is A DROP, there's no way I could've sucked up only half of it. Fingers crossed for a nice uneventful flat night...
 
thanks for the vibes julie, they seem to be working so far.. He got a snack at +9 this afternoon after we came in from a walk and that seems to be working well, I've got my alarm set for 6:30am in the hopes of getting him another snack again. good night all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top