7/19 Hefner meowing - youtube

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Some diabetic HAHAHA. Can you imagine shooting 2 units of humilin on this reading?

He's eaten 6oz of Special Kitty Turkey and Giblets since 6pm last night. Just fed him some more. Wonder if he'd eat some good wet food. I have Wellness and other things in the cupboard.

He meowed at the door for about five hours straight last night. And as soon as I removed the cardboard from the baby gate this morning he started. Will be researching integration.

Thank you for all the hugs, words of support and being so awesome guys.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55

WOW! It's a good thing Hefner is now in safe hands with you! I hope the integration goes smoothly!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55

wow - this is simply amazing.... I can't fathom giving this guy any insulin... how lucky it is that he has found you. Well done Karrie!! and yeah.... some diabetic! :-D

Good luck with the integration!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55

What a wonderful thing you are doing!! Great numbers! I hope the integration goes well. Have a great day Karrie!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55

Wow, I am amazed at Hefner's AMPS! No, I can't imagine two units Humulin either! This is great with the numbers. I had to laugh at your post last night in my condo with Hefner's meowing/talking. I would be more than happy to share Chatty Kathy with you so that I can get some sleep. I think when you rescue a kitty, they just can't get enough love and attention and are forever grateful and thanking you. Maggie is a feral rescue and she is always so loving and grateful. I think you have a talker with Hefner. Maggie used to love the Special Kitty chunky chicken, and I'm still trying to get her on Wellness Chicken. Right now she's eating FF Chicken Feast. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55

HAHAHAHA! Is right on the diabetic kitty!
I think this is what Jennifer and Venita of DCIN say... you got a broken diabetic. The diabetic part doesn't work anymore, hahaha!

This is so terrific that you sprung him from his cage at the shelter... 2 shots of N... shooting blind.... on a kitty that was no longer diabetic. OMG! That just sent chills down my spine. :shock:

Now your main challenge is to socialize and integrate him. I hope that will be as easy as fixing his diabetes! :lol:
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

OMG I get it now.... the broken diabetic. That made my day.

Ann I think Chatty Kathy will be bringing her bags with her. He went on and on and on. ohmygod_smile I think he's feeling like a new cat being off that horrible insulin dose. I still can't imagine it. I don't want to jinx the talking thing.

Thanks Trixie and Michelle!! :)

Now I'm getting spooked. I have the two other cats. Victoria is eating wet food. But Henry will not touch it. He won't eat tuna or lap tuna juice either. Please help me think of a way that Hefner can be out and Henry will still eat? He is a kibble grazer too and eats a lot of kibble. I haven't started his controlled diet yet (to lose 1-2% a week). Advice?
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

Yup, looks like he's broken. Don't fix the diabetic part!! Have a good day of socialization and maybe some first steps toward integration. Send a pic when you have a moment (if you have a moment, that is!).
Karrie, you are doing a good thing!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

What a great number you sure he is diabetic :lol: :lol: so wonderful you are giving him this opportunity Karrie what a super Bean you are :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

I cannot believe they were giving insulin to a cat with those numbers. Poor thing. You are an angel.

I cannot help you with kibble or integration as I'm having problems myself :shock:
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

Karrie, what a wonderful thing you have done -- basically given Hefner back his life. He must have been feeling really bad with all the insulin being pumpted into him.

I love that he is a talker. I know that was something you were missing since Maverick was always a good talker. I wish I could give you help with the integration thing. Maybe Tena could help. Didn't she have issues with Curry and her other cat?
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

How wonderful for Hefner....that's a great ambg this morning.

Karrie, I can email you the information my vet behaviorist gave me about reintroducing Curry and Sid this weekend.

And I have a kibble kitty, Sidney. I now have her food dish in my bedroom. She use to graze until I started taking up her food dish since Curry would gobble her food. I now feed Curry in the kitchen and Sid in my bedroom with the door closed. When its feedng time, Sid will now run to the bedroom and wait for her food. She usually eats most of her food...sometimes she'll only eat a part of it and I'll feed her a bit later. So far its worked out. Curry gets the wet and Sidney gets the EVO kibble. Its kinda a pain but it seems to work.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

wow. i had a cat that i left with my family when i went to college who later became diabetic. he was always shot blind and just once a day. i can't help but wonder now, given what I've learned here in the past week, if he even ever was diabetic. he did last a looong time (much to my mother's chagrin she loathed him and my father LOVED him)
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

Hefner.jpg
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

he is handsome! you are doing a great job by keeping him from getting insulin when he clearly doesn't need it!!!

hugs to you and your crew!!!!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

Fantastic Number!!! Wow Karrie!!!! You fixed him!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Good luck with the integration and the kibble. I hope Henry chills about it all!!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner AMBG 55 - integrating with a kibble cat

Good luck with the integration/kibble scenario. I'm not sure if you recall, but I have 6 cats, and 3-4 different diets. Of course there's Trixie's diet (which Frankie is also willing to eat), then Mario has the renal diet (both wet and dry, because while he'll eat a decent amount of wet, he won't commit to all wet), and Noah, Petey, and Zen who are also primarily kibble cats, but have digestive sensitivities. And, they'd all rather be nibblers. On top of that, Mario really prefers to eat with/for me than for DH. Soooo, I spend a lot of time - literally hours per day - sitting on the floor, referring meal/snack times. If I could convince everyone to eat the same diet (Trixie's would work for everyone, if only they'd agree!) my life would be much different. But, I've accepted that I'm the food distributor for the herd...as much time as it does take and as tiring as it can be, some great bonding that I wouldn't trade for anything goes on during feedings.

I can't wait to hear more of Handsome Hef's updates!

Amy
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

I didn't bother getting a bg reading. I know he's not a diabetic after two test results like that. He's eating wet food well.

Here is a video of him meowing. Thankfully last night was a lot better. Five minute spurts of meowing but he stopped after that. Not five hours straight. I bet he is feeling amazing without that horrible insulin in him. I couldn't imagine it. When I saw him at the shelter on Thursday he was zonked right out. You had to bang on the cage to wake him.

[youtube]SeAxnU6bQag[/youtube]

Hefneretc_11.jpg


Hefneretc_7.jpg


Hefneretc_1.jpg


I resized them so I have no idea why they are showing up so large.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

WOW, karrie! just WOW!!!
thank gd you took this little guy under your wing. he's one lucky kitty!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

Karrie,
It's great to see Hefner doing so well! And I loved the pics and video. I hope he does well integrating into your family.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

Hi Karrie, I love the video and pics. Hefner is adorable and looking so healthy and playful. I love his talkative voice. I heard it in the beginning of the video. What a lucky kitty to have you as his Bean. He looks like he is right at home. Good luck with the integrating all the kitties. Have a wonderful weekend.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

What a sweetie!!

This book, by Pam Johnson-Bennet who's a feline behaviorist, has great info on integration. Her info is similar to the website you linked.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

He is beautiful and so lucky to have found a good soul like you.

Love his meows and his energy. Awesome!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

Did I read that right? He was getting insulin when his BG was in his 50's? I'm so glad you took him in!

He's such a gorgeous cat. So playful!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

You saved his life. No question about it.

Look at him play... that video brought tears to my eyes.

 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

Karrie,
as i told you before....you are doing a great thing by helping Hefner out....he needed you to help him since they were blind shooting him with insulin he obviously did not need! told ya!

are you still going to foster him or will he go back to the shelter as a normal non-diabetic cat?

he is adorable....you can tell his personality is that of a cuddler!!!....

good luck with the integration thing....i know nothing about that...i have only known Rocket and Comet...and when Comet came into the picture Rocket was 4 y/o and Comet was a puppy of 8 weeks....Comet NEVER became a threat to Rocket as he grew up to be the same height at him :lol: :lol:

i can't get over on how energetic he looks and you mentioned he was not well at the shelter....we now ALL KNOW WHY!!!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

Karrie: he is absolutely gorgeous!! I think DH needs to have a little extra time to warm up....uh maybe reconsider the whole "foster" thing to "adoption" thing :lol: :lol:

I do not understand how they kept from killing the poor boy if they were blind shooting him when he didn't need insulin. How does that work that they didn't hypo him? Unbelievable. Thank God for you, Karrie. You literally saved his life.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

Sorry I haven't been able to personalize. I've read everyones replies at least once. Thank you so much. You guys are the best. Without knowing you guys were behind me to manage his "diabetes" it wouldn't have been an option. I couldn't get him out of my mind. I didn't even see him in person when I was there last. I didn't want to feel a connection. I was so raw from just losing Maverick.

I asked DCIN what happens when they get a broken diabetic - I guess they can go back into hyperglycemia. Anyone have any feedback on this? I gather they took him from the shelter to the vet in February because of the amount of urine he was depositing in the litter box.

Hefner doesn't really fit the royal theme of Henry and Victoria. But it makes me laugh just saying it. Ideally I would love for him to find a forever home that isn't me. I know when that becomes an option, I will be hooked and he will be mine. The integration is the thing that will decide this though. Harmony in the household is a must and I am concerned Henry will be bullied by both of them. He's such a scardey cat. Who knows what the next weeks/months will bring.

I'm glad he's out of a cage. There are so many that are still in cages. They are expanding so more will be in runs soon. The ones that are on special diets will always be in cages though. They should be in foster. They don't have a formal foster program though.

I went in and brushed him. I'm amazed how much hair comes off a short haired cat!!! Wow. I've exchanged towels.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

Hefner is such a handsome boy. Loved the video! Yep, my short-haired civvies spew a ton more hair the my long haired civvies :lol: !

Hopefully the integration will go well. Maybe Henry and Hefner will become great buddiess...at least I've got my finger's crossed for that!

Great job on "fixing" Hefner!!! Maybe we should send all of our FD kitties your way for a short stint so you can work a little of that magic on them :lol: :lol: :lol: !

Have a lovely evening, Karrie!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

Karrie, Hefner is one lucky kitty, and it is clear that he has a great personality (and a great voice; he'll be good in the Kitty Chorus). You saved his life. It's amazing how he could turn around so quickly as soon as the insulin was removed! I hope that the integration will go well and that all three will be friends and/or companions very soon. Don't forget that they were all shelter cats and they really haven't been out of the shelter that long. Do you know how old Hefner is?

Have a good night and enjoy the rest of the weekend. You and DH are just the best!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner video and pics :)

They don't know how old he is - their best guess is three and a half years old. He wasn't neutered when animal control turned him in as a stray in February.

Last night was a LOOOONG night. He talked and talked and talked for an hour straight at least. Then my sleep deprived brain thought maybe he's hungry. How much does a lean muscular kitty eat? It would have been 12 oz. Looks like I need to pace his food. He's not a grazer like Maverick was and Henry and Victoria are also. I've never had a non grazer.

Then once he was fed... he played for another hour. Banging and bouncing and chirping mouse chirping. Is night time energy normal also? ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

I would love for him to find another forever home. Its just that the thought of three cats overwhelms me. Three vet visits, three blood works, three to worry about. But if he does integrate well he will have a forever home here as they would be a family. Victoria hissed this morning when she smelled Hefner on my hand after petting him. Henry sits and watches and when I pet him over the baby gate. And when I let him smell my hand he just smells. No hissing.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

Is night time energy normal also?
Why, yes, I do believe kitties are nocturnal creatures. :lol:
Hee, hee! When my kitties were younger I tried to annoy play with them during the day so they would sleep more at night. Now they know the drill.
Sorry it was a long night, but I did giggle at your predicament!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

I am not used to night time energy at all. Maverick did the lone conversation at night but not wanting to play. I don't ever recall night time playing sessions. Wow. I'm not laughing yet. Maybe after some more ~O) ~O) ~O) I will be.

He must love how he feels. Kind of like me I guess with the fatigue I'm dealing with. I'd love a light switch transformation like he's had. No insulin, and feeling like a kitten again. That's what I want darnit.

Victoria is going to be the hard nut to crack. Just having his smell on my hands, she tried to bite me.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

Hi Karrie, Hope you can grab a nap today! Yes, I believe that cats, especially young cats, like to play and hunt at night. When Stu was young he would play for hours at night with his toys.

Hefner is probably just so happy to feel good again. I hope that Victoria and Henry will accept him.

Have a great Sunday,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

Sorry to hear you had a long night. He seems like he's such a sweet cat. Oh Victoria, don't you want to play with your new friend?
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

When I adopted BigMac... I already had his sister here and was concerned about them getting along. I read this idea in a book - to get them and you to all have the SAME smell, buy some light fragrance and put it on everyone to overpower their natural scent. Then everyone including you smells alike.

I laughed and laughed at the idea and didn't actually need to do it. But I did think it was valid because my daughter always used Tea Rose cologne and all her kitties smelled like Tea Rose. The vets used to laugh at her. They smelled that way just from her petting them and nuzzling. Just a thought. :lol:
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

How about petting Hefner with a sock over your hand and then using the sock to pet Victoria. It will transfer the smell.

As far as what happens, it may be that he's a diet controlled diabetic. As long as he's on a LC diet, he may be fine. Stress or illness may effect his BG levels so I would test intermittently just so you know how he's doing.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

Karrie and Maverick said:
I am not used to night time energy at all. Maverick did the lone conversation at night but not wanting to play. I don't ever recall night time playing sessions. Wow. I'm not laughing yet. Maybe after some more ~O) ~O) ~O) I will be.

He must love how he feels. Kind of like me I guess with the fatigue I'm dealing with. I'd love a light switch transformation like he's had. No insulin, and feeling like a kitten again. That's what I want darnit.

Victoria is going to be the hard nut to crack. Just having his smell on my hands, she tried to bite me.

Me and you both Karrie wouldn't it be great if someone could take out fatigue away and we could feel like young kittens :cool: :lol: its so great he is feeling so good and hope things work out even 3 is not such a bad number :lol: :lol: :lol: says the cat lady here who has 15 :roll: :roll: :roll: I know I breed but still I do have a lot of cats...... a lot of pets are here as well so wish you the best with this you have done Hefner such a great thing by getting him out of there whether you keep him or just find him that right home at least he is no longer getting insulin he certainly must not have needed
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

Hi Karrie, I think Hefner and Maggie would make a great pair with their nighttime chatter. I wonder if the incessant talking might be due to Hefner not having much stroking and love in the past. Now that he's getting it, he can't seem to get enough, but he should settle down eventually. I'm just going by my experience with Maggie as a stray when I first adopted her and got her indoors. I hope others can offer suggestions. It sounds like it will just take time, but I do understand it's a lot to take on right now. Hoping you can get some rest today. Hugs. I love the pics.
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

I'm sorry, I know you're not laughing yet, but I had to giggle, too. My youngest is 8, and I still hear kitties tearing through the house, meowing, and playing all night long! Hefner just sounds so happy and excited to free! I think some of these shelter kitties are just so grateful to be out of a cage on on their own that they just can't contain themselves.

It sounds like he'd be the ideal kitty for the right, responsible home - beans who would know he has to stay on an LC diet, and he has to be monitored, just in case.

As we worked our way up from 1 kitty to 6 kitties, I have to say there wasn't a huge difference between "2" and "3"...6, on the other hand, is admittedly a handful! But just like ECID, EBID (every bean is different), and you definitely have to do what you're comfortable with...it's the only way to be fair to all parties involved!

In the meantime, Victoria may come around quicker than you think...you never know.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

Karrie, all i really can say is WOW!! Everyone is right, you saved Hefner's life and he's just trying to repay you by being the kitty he always wanted to be, Happy, healthy, energetic and full of life (thanks to you)..
What a remarkable story and what an amazing bean you are. I sure hope that harmony is to be had between the 3 of them.. You've brought happy tears to my eyes this morning! THANK YOU... we need stories like this every now and then :-D
Lauren & the gang!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night

Hi Karrie,
One thing Ive noticed with each of my 2 fosters is the first month or so they played NON STOP. I specifically took Tippie on a 4 day weekend because I KNEW I was going to get little sleep. Duchess was play, eat, sleep (short naps so she could play again...or maybe eat?). Tippie spent the first few weeks playing under my bed as soon as lights went out, then the tracker into wee hrs of the a.m. until she decided it was time to give me some wet willies and smackin's on the head. ;-). Tippie is still very playful and wears me out. But she IS very young. As they both settled in, they also settled down some. I suspect it has to do with being cooped up in a cage, or new experiences with toys? They are just little kids, ya know? Think about kids at christmas, or birthdays. Its sooo hard to get them to bed after opening all their presents. I suspect you will see him mellow at least a little in time. I also noticed a little less following me around, and talking so much. THere is probably a sense that you are a good person and care for them. They are in a new place and dont want to lose track of you.

You did get the tracker, right? Hopefully you have or will find other toys he will play with by himself. Tippie LOVES her pillows and nanners...big and small. I just throw one at her and she goes to town for 20 minutes or so. Laser lights were a favorite with Duchess when I was really tired. I do a lot of multi tasking, like bringing a cat toy into the bathroom instead of a book or magazine (like normal people :lol: ).

Im glad he may be a failed diabetic! Certainly would make it easier for him to find a home.

I hope the integration goes well. Wish I had ideas on multi cat households and feedings. Sorry.

Hope you get some sleep!
 
Re: 7/15 Hefner - long night x 2

Patrick is going to want to shoot me tomorrow. Ruh roh. He's gonna be one snarky tired husband.

After 45 minutes of meowing, I got up, closed the bedroom door, took the dog out, fed him Hefner, put cardboard on his door, And I'm sitting on the loveseat with Victoria on my lap. Its 4:30AM. I want his energy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top