7/19 Harley PMPS 238

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Harley is starting in the yellow this AM. Not too bad. A quiet night here - no crying for food. Giving him treats of steak with his FF and he gobbles it up.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47898
 
Re: 7/19 Harley AMPS 256, +2.5/36

Hmmmm. +3.5/36. Began some MC food to bring him slowly up. Will test often. Glad I took today to catch up on my computer work and am home.
 
Re: 7/19 Harley AMPS 256, +3.5/36

Hi guys and wow, talk about action! Let's get you up from those 30's harley .. no need to be that low .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/19 Harley AM 256, +3.5/36, +3.75/32

Harley is very lethargic - HC food being served now. +3.75/32 - going down, not up.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/19 Harley AM 256, +3.5/36, +3.75/32

mix some karo with that HC if you have to. I don't like lethargic, and it's early in the cycle.
 
Re: 7/19 Harley AM 256, +3.5/36, +3.75/32

He hates karo and won't eat the food it is in. He really struggles when I try and put it on his gums. He did eat all the HC and I am testing soon. Gave about 2 tb of HC.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/19 Harley AM 256, +3.5/36, +3.75/32

Good Morning Pattie and Harley! Glad you are home today Pattie.

I've been looking for, and finally found the 1 article that was available for reference when BK was diagnosed w/IAA (you may have already read this):
http://www.faqs.org/faqs/diabetes/faq/part3/section-24.html

As I re-read this, after quite some time, a few things jumped out at me, particularly around Regular insulin action in someone w/IAA:
The antibodies bind to, and neutralize, the insulin....the antibodies have a half life of 3-4 weeks...The antibodies delay the action, so even though U-500 is regular insulin it acts like a lente or semilente in resistant patients...When insulin sensitivity returns, it can happen quite suddenly....At these times, large amounts of insulin...previously bound to the antibodies may be released, so avoiding...hypoglycemia is a major concern. The return to normal sensitivity will take at least several weeks due to the half-life of the antibodies, and insulin requirements may fluctuate a great deal during this time. A fast response to U-500 insulin (2-4 hours from injection to measurably lower bg) may indicate the decline of insulin resistance.

In our experience, as BKs resistance started breaking R had a completely differnt effect. There was a time I was shooting 5-6u of R every six hours...and still his BGs did not budge out of pink. Toward the end of his journey I really had to be careful. It seemed to me the R affected cycles the next day. Many times I sat on my hands and waited out the bounce - I didn't want to cloud what was going on with R.

Another thought I want to share with you is around bouncing. I knew about the bounce from visiting previously unvisited numbers, and I knew about the bounce from BGs falling too fast. I felt that BKs liver had another trigger that sent it into a panic and that was time spent at lower numbers. It was like the liver suddenly realized -- oh no, this cat has been at these (lower) BGs for x# of hours (longer than ever before). Then I'd see a bounce....

I know how frustrating it is. I hope some of what we experienced cann help you with Harley.

ETA - holy smokes - a lot happened while I was typing this long a$$ msg...I am REALLY glad you are home
 
Re: 7/19 Harley +4.5/35

Well, Harley is moving very slowly. Gave him more gravy (just the liquid part) and will see what happens.

pattie
 
Re: 7/19 Harley +4.5/35, +4.75/45, +5.5/40

Harley is doing a see saw here. I mixed the liquid gravy with FF this time to see if he will go up and stay there a little while. Testing again in 10 - then it will be +6

Pattie
 
Re: 7/19 Harley +4.5/35, +4.75/45, +5.5/40, +6/54

‎+6/54. He is being stubborn today. Usually by now he would be in the 100's. Wonder what's going on. Payback for being locked in a cage for a week while mom had fun.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/19 Harley +5.5/40, +6/54, +6.5/40

+6.5/40. Damn, he went back down. This time it's gravy with 1 tsp honey. He is really lapping this stuff up. I was going to test every 60 minutes but decided to do a quick one at 30 minutes...glad I did. now it will be Q 30 minute test.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/19 Harley +5.5/40, +6/54, +6.5/40

Harley and Pattie said:
+6.5/40. Damn, he went back down. This time it's gravy with 1 tsp honey. He is really lapping this stuff up. I was going to test every 60 minutes but decided to do a quick one at 30 minutes...glad I did. now it will be Q 30 minute test.

Glad you checked in 30. it's going to be a tug of war here - insulin actioin vs. HC. Interesting, he likes honey but not Karo. I'm glad he likes honey! Hopefully it will bring him up. . .glad he is lapping it up!
 
Re: 7/19 Harley +6/54, +6.5/40, +7/140

Harley and Pattie said:
Well the honey and gravy took hold. +7/140. In for a big bounce tonight.

:-D Yay! Mebbe another spot cheek in an hour? If he doesn't bounce from this I'd be worried!

For your readinng pleasure, on the subject of bounces, R, changing responses.... and sitting on hands sometimes!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?22,1347214

whew!

ETA - since I can't see BKs ss from tbp, I'm not sure when and how much R I used prior to the 11/01/2008 post
 
PM 238. today was a hard day. A real struggle to get Harley to move upward. My mind keeps going to the fact that if I was not at home, I don't think he would have made it.

I think he needs a dose decrease but not until the bounce is over. I did 4.5u (minus one drop) as his dose tonight and once the bounce is over, I want to go to 4.25. Am I missing something?

Anyway - I glad today is over with!

Pattie
 
Today was scarey.

I am not by any means a dosing expert, but my instincts are saying ride out the bounce (that has not appeared yet and may be ugly) without using any R. Then see what a cycle or 2 look like, with no R. Then re-evaluate. If he stays too high too long, do an R curve with just a drop. It may be he needs more Lantus, to keep him off the R roller coaster. R seems to send him to the cellar and keep his liver in perpetual freak out mode. The R is clearly affecting cycles beyond the one it's administered in.

That's my $0.02. Hopefully the more experienced will chime in.

Hang in there Pattie!
 
Pattie,

I often find that R given the day before, will affect J.D.'s BGs the next day. That's why I (usually) only give it on weekends when I'm going to be home the next day.

Next time you give a TOR, maybe could you try 0.10? Just to see what it does? I have a feeling it is more what you want.
 
Everyone measures differently, but I consider 0.10 to be where the plunger is just below but still touching the zero line.
I'll try to find the pictures for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top