7/19 Doodles pmps 311 +3 185

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi and doodles

Member Since 2010
Good Morning LL :o

Ok...I certainly didn't expect this this morning!!! She is off to the beach to surf already!!! Summer is here!
We had a great day yesterday, I gave her a break from pokes since she was so poked the day before :smile:
She is super hungry, I'm not freakin yet, I will if she doesn't come up nice and slow. I gave her her regular breffis lo carb (3) and mixed with a higher carb (5)
hoping to control her numbers! Without freaking and giving her too HC ohmygod_smile
What would cause her to go so lo?
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 56 +.5 76

We have a little of a food spike :-D I'm more comfortable with this number :-D

I am waiting for her BG to go a little higher, I don't feel comfortable shooting at this number. I guess I should thank my mother for this ohmygod_smile
She is having a BDay party for my sister-in-law on Friday, but she is an hour away and I couldn't go because of Doodles shot time :lol: Looks like I might make it
after all :lol:
How great is Doodles doing, I'm so proud of her. And thank goodness the Lantus doesn't seem to have lost it's strength yet phew!

Let's go SURF!!!!
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 56 +.5 76

It's fine to stall if you're not comfortable with shooting this low of a number. However, you shouldn't feed. You're seeing a food spike which means you don't know if Doodles' numbers are rising or falling without the influence of the food. The only time we really suggest feeding a little bit of food is if the pre-shot numbers are in the 40s (or lower). Are you stalling or skipping the shot? (I couldn't tell from your post.)

Also, the 56 isn't your AMPS -- it's your +12 and the +.5 is your +12.5. You don't list a number as a pre-shot until you shoot. Instead, you keep the clock ticking until you shoot and the number you shoot on is your PS number.
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles +12 56 +12.5 76 +13 97

Thanks for the advice. I changed the heading and will fix my SS to reflect the right info.

I'm stalling...I'm afraid if I shoot she will drop too low. She is the lowest at +3 or +4 and with this number nailbite_smile

I have a question about the food? With her BG this morning why would I not feed her? This is confusing to me. That's no shock!

Thanks
Heidi
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles +12 56 +12.5 76 +13 97

Wow!! Doodles is sure working hard today and looks really Good!! Let's see where this goes :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles +12 56 +12.5 76 +13 97 amps 133

ok she's at 133 I feel more comfortable shooting this number, and its been 2 hrs since her last meal. I will be home to check her.
I'm kinda nervous nailbite_smile
Man I hope she's not going to go lower than 50!
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles +12 56 +12.5 76 +13 97 +14 133 I didn't shoot

I didn't shoot I'm a huge chicken sh*t!
I need to hear from you guys :-D what should I do? Confused.
I know I see people shoot all the time, but I'm afraid of her dropping too low. Crap ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles +12 56 +12.5 76 +13 97

heidi and doodles said:
Thanks for the advice. I changed the heading and will fix my SS to reflect the right info.

I'm stalling...I'm afraid if I shoot she will drop too low. She is the lowest at +3 or +4 and with this number nailbite_smile

I have a question about the food? With her BG this morning why would I not feed her? This is confusing to me. That's no shock!

Thanks
Heidi


why not? She's near the end of the cycle, the last shot (last nite) is wearing out... and seeing your new numbers as you stalled, you see she is on the rise, it's very common. However feeding before you shoot and while you are stalling is going to bump the actual shot number up as Sienne mentioned.

You want a clean number, free of food when you are stalling. For next time ok?

Since you are home, I would of shot at the 76. ETA: but you need to be comfortable with your decisions, and knowing that you will be home - it's a lot easier to monitor, plus you have the board to guide along with low numbers.

As for shooting 2 hours later?? I'm not sure. ETA: you will have to get back on schedule, so you got think if that is going to be difficult, plans, work etc.

Anyone else?
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles +12 56 +12.5 76 +13 97 +14 133 I didn't shoot

Doodle is rising, that's good. That is why the no food recommendation when you get a low +12... you want to see if the kitty will start to rise without the help of food. She is.

Now you can shoot, you are going to be home to check her, right? You can make sure Doodles gets plenty of food as needed.

Being a conservative person (me), if you really are worried you can skinny the dose a bit. I understand completely, since this is the first time you would be shooting a number this low.

Hope that helps a little.
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles +12 56 +12.5 76 +13 97 +14 133 I didn't shoot

There are 3 basic choices:
  • - Stall w/o food to look for a rising number. You want to see that the last dose is wearing off. If you feed you can't tell what caused the rise, food or metabolism.
    - Shoot a BCS shot
    - Do not shoot. I've been told if it goes beyond 2 hours not to shoot. So then you can move her shot time to whenever you want. :-D You can go to the B-Day party on Fri.

As to why it happened, I'm afraid she learned it from Tess, the have been hanging at the beach you know. ohmygod_smile

Keep the countdown going from the last shot if you skip.
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261

Crap, I did reread the stickies and thought I would go with the option to wait and see where she goes.
I wanted to catch her before it got that high. What difference 30 minutes makes.

Bummer, I should have shot at 133 to keep her numbers good. Now this, I'm so bummed at being freaked about her dropping too low. But
I know she has been known to cliff dive ohmygod_smile

Lets see If I can get her back into some good numbers.


Yeah....I guess I get to go to the party now :smile:
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261

Glad you shot and didn't skip. It's a learning experience today and next time you will feel more comfortable shooting a lower number. :-D We've all been there!
She will get back to those good numbers, don't worry. Doodles responds very well to her insulin.
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261

She will get back on track soon, we all second guess ourselves. Watch out though, Tess just left to surf w/ Doodles. You never know what they will get up to next! :roll:
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261

Ann & Tess said:
- Do not shoot. I've been told if it goes beyond 2 hours not to shoot. So then you can move her shot time to whenever you want.

Ann is partially correct. Not shooting is one option with a low number. There really isn't a 2-hour window on stalling/shooting, though. There are situations where we've all done this because of a schedule issue. However, if a shot is skipped, it's not because of scheduling, it's because of safety and it's the least preferable, but best alternative given the circumstances. If you've stalled for 2 hours, the likelihood is very good that numbers are going to be on the rise anyway because you're going to feed and Lantus onset isn't for another couple of hours. I think that's exactly what you saw this morning. If you'd shot when you got the 133, numbers would have continued to rise but the Lantus would have been on board a little earlier to help keep the numbers from rising further.

The closer you can come to staying on schedule and shooting your regular dose, safety issues and being data ready as a big consideration, the better.
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261 +1 233

Heidi, just to clarify,

at what + time did u shoot?

133 was at____

261 was at

+14 133
amps 261 (14.5) 1.25U (poke, fed, shot)

I have a question this shot time now for me is really going to be inconvienent after the party :lol: I told my mom thanks, now could she please put in a word with
the OTJ Fairy :lol: I would like to get her back to a 7am shot time...how do I do that? If her +10 is shootable can I shoot 2 hrs early? Or do I have to take the slow approach
of lessening the time by 15min. until I get her to where it's doable?

Thanks for the help. Just when I think I've got it :lol:

Doodles got a text from Tess their at the pier :-D
She's just hanging on that darn yellow beach towel ohmygod_smile she should be good after lunch to take up some waves with Tess :lol:
girlz :-D
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261 +1 233

She is surfing today, guess mom just had a food challenge and shot challenge today ohmygod_smile
lets see if I can keep her going :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261 +1 233 +3 75

It's possible that Doodles will bounce from the +3. If you have a +11 that's over 300, post around +11. It's possible for you to shoot early if the numbers are elevated. It's not a good idea to shoot early if the numbers are low. Generally, you can make up only an hour with an early shot. You'll need to move the remaining time either 30 min. at one time each day or in 15 min. blocks per cycle.

If you post at +11 with a dose question, please change your subject line in the first post of the day to let us know you have a question about dose or timing.
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261 +1 233 +3 75 +4 47

:shock: I'm guessing she gets a dose decrease tonight ;-) since she went below 50? She just came up from 1U to 1.25U great....is it one of those
flippin in between deals ohmygod_smile I hope not. I guess I won't sweat it until tonight :-D

She actually came to get me to feed her and layed down for her poke :mrgreen: I hope she doesn't go any lower. She usually starts rising after +4.
I fed her normal food of LC and will check in 30.
 
Re: 7/19 Doodles amps 261 +1 233 +3 75 +4 47 +5 72+7 198

yep, that looks like a dose reduction, congratulations!

It doesn't look like Doodles is bouncing as much these days, so it might be hard to get a shot in an hour early, but if you can get a +10 and a +11, that will give you an idea of the rate of her rise. That might help you see if an early shot is safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top