7/19 - Cleo - AMPS(225);+11(194); PMPS(208);+3(80);+4.5(90)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225)

Hi guys .. nice low yellow to start off the day, not bad .. maybe some blues soon? have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225)

It looks like you've been at the 1.0u dose for 9 cycles. I would suggest continuing with this dose tonight and unless Cleo drops below 50, that you increase the dose tomorrow.

BTW, I saw in Cleo's profile that she was given Convenia. While I'm assuming she tolerated it well, there are two medications -- Convenia being one of them -- that you should be aware of. Because Convenia is a long-acting antibiotic, if a cat has an allergy or negative reaction to the drug, you're stuck. It lasts 2 weeks and once the drug is in, there's nothing you can do. It's only indication is for skin infections. Vets like to prescribe it for a range of problems since you don't have to pill your cat.

The other medication is a pain med -- Metacam. Metacam (meloxicam) has an FDA black box warning since it can cause renal failure. Unfortunately, there are a lot of vets who are still prescribing Metacam despite the strongest possible warning that the FDA will give short of requiring the drug be pulled off the market.
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225)

Thank you for the warning and the dosing suggestion! I'm pretty much in agreement, with the caveat that I have to be out a good portion of Saturday, so I was thinking of putting off any increase of dosage until Sunday when I'd be able to monitor Cleo more closely.
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225); +11 (194)

I might repost this somewhere on its own topic, if it merits it, but if anyone has some input that would be great...

I've noticed in the last couple days that Cleo is walking sort of oddly on her front legs - with her "wrists" so to speak against the floor as well as her paws, so it looks like her paws go way up her arm (which they don't). She appears to be walking normally on her back legs.

I thought this might be feline neuropathy but read that usually shows in the back legs. I have emailed my vet for input, but I was wondering if anyone had experience with this sort of behavior with the front legs?
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225); +11 (194); PMPS (208); +3 (80)

My darling Cleo seems determined to give me something to worry about every night.... she seems to be on the low side in the evenings (maybe she is during the day too, I can't test her mid-day to find out).

I know she's at 80 now and that's safe, but it's such a drop from 208 before insulin that I worry she'll keep going down into dangerous levels, especially since this is only +3... will be retesting in an hour!
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225); +11 (194); PMPS (208); +3 (80)

Good idea, Kathy. She's a ways from nadir and she had a pretty good drop. You'll want to test until you get two rising numbers that are non food influenced.

I believe that neuropathy can also affect the front paws but it is best to check with your vet.
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225); +11 (194); PMPS (208); +3 (80)

Thanks :) I did email my vet already (she's been wonderful so far about answering emails!) and she said that there's some controversy over supplementing with B-12 Methylcobalamin but some vets do recommend it. There hasn't been anything shown that it's harmful, so if it's something that "at worst" does nothing but may help, I'm all for it. I'll be picking up some B-12 Methylcobalamin tomorrow (assuming I can find it at the local stores).

The vet also mentioned Cleo might be having a problem with low potassium. Her numbers were on the very lowest end of "normal" with last week's labwork, so I need to look into that.
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225); +11 (194); PMPS (208); +3 (80)

Hmmm...I know of no controversy about supplementing with methylcobalamin and many members do. I use it in my CKD kitty. I wouldn't just get any methylcobalamin. Here's the one most in LL use: Zobaline

Does Cleo have chronic kidney disease? Did you check all of her tests just to make sure she doesn't run a little lower? Here's some good info about potassium levels in cats: Potassium. While this website is considered to be the bible for CKD, it also has some great, basic info. A stilted gait in the front legs can be due to a low potassium level.

Please keep us posted.
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS(225);+11(194); PMPS(208);+3(80);+4.5(

Thank you! Do you know if you can get Zobaline in a retail storefront, or do you have to order online? I want to start this immediately so don't want to wait for delivery of an online order...
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS(225);+11(194); PMPS(208);+3(80);+4.5(

I don't know but you have to be careful.....some of them contain sugar. That's why everyone uses this one.
 
Re: 7/19 - Cleo - AMPS (225); +11 (194); PMPS (208); +3 (80)

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hmmm...I know of no controversy about supplementing with methylcobalamin and many members do. I use it in my CKD kitty. I wouldn't just get any methylcobalamin. Here's the one most in LL use: Zobaline

Does Cleo have chronic kidney disease? Did you check all of her tests just to make sure she doesn't run a little lower? Here's some good info about potassium levels in cats: Potassium. While this website is considered to be the bible for CKD, it also has some great, basic info. A stilted gait in the front legs can be due to a low potassium level.

Please keep us posted.

Oops, sorry, didn't mean to ignore your questions...

Cleo does not have CKD that I'm aware of. We only have one set of labwork on her right now from anytime recently - she hadn't been to the vet's in several years before this as she was always pretty healthy and she's an indoor-only cat in a 1 cat household, so we weren't very good about keeping up her shots, etc. I am going to talk to the vet in more detail tomorrow about her potassium level and see if another test would reveal anything (not sure it would make a difference, since it's only been 1 week since the last lab workup). Cleo's potassium was at the very low end of the "normal" spectrum - 3.4.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top