7/19 China AMPS 226,+2 254,+5.8 214,PMPS 229,+2.3 268

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Good morning Lantus Land!!

China's appetite is really down in the last 24 hrs. I wish I could get her to eat a little more, but her levels have been pretty nice. She cleared the bounce she had on the 16th incredibly fast, especially considering she had no shot that morning! It's REALLY nice to have the numbers start to make sense too!!

Got more mom errands today...off to the orthopedic surgeon to see about surgery to fix the torn cartilage in her knee, but I know he won't do anything in the way of surgery until the cardiologist clears her.

Hope everyone has a good day!!

AMPS 226
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226

Hope the "Mom errands" go smoothly and you get the next steps in place to help her medical issues.

Sure would like to see a few more greens on China's SS. She's probably bouncing again today from last night's 95 which probably went even lower. What do you think of increasing to a fat 0.5U? The weekend is coming up so you might be home to monitor. On the other hand, you are helping your mom out a lot right now.

When you have a chance, could you fix the color coding on that 7/13 PM +6? Should be green.
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226

What do you think of increasing to a fat 0.5U?

I think you're right Deb...I can't predict the future, but as long as my mother doesn't have something "emergency" come up over the weekend, it'd be a good time to increase her a little

I'll go for the fat .5 tonight if China doesn't do anything strange today

(fixed the color on that one cell too...brain must have been turned off already that night...lol)
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226

And if there is an emergency you need to attend to, remember you can always abort the cycle by giving some HC (high carb) food.
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226 Ketone Meter Question

Hello again Lantus Land!

After many failed attempts at urine ketone testing, I'm considering buying a meter if I can fit it into the budget. I am thinking this meter kit is the most economical since it includes 10 ketone strips (and I THINK 2 with the actual "kit") so would start out with 12. Nova Max Ketone Strips With FREE Glucose & Ketone Meter Kit

Does anyone have any better suggestions?

And would it be best for me to continue using the Relion Confirm for her BG readings and just use the Nova Max for ketones?

Also, how often should I test for ketones? When diagnosed and a couple weeks later (at the new vet) there were no ketones in her urine.

Thanks for your help
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226 Ketone testing meter question

That is the best deal on the ketone meter, plus the give you a card to get strips at a discount. Even cheaper than at ADW.

One thing that works great for us in testing urine was getting a Tidy Cats Breeze litter box. It uses ceramic pellets rather than litter and an absorbent pad underneath to catch the urine. If you need to get a ketone test, just take the pad out and the tray catches the urine for an easy test. Just watch for her using the box and test as soon as possible.

PLUS, there is practically NO smell, NO dust and NO tracking! We scoop the poo daily and change the pad about once a week, change pellets once a month. I actually sterilize them w/ bleach and dry them for the next change.
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226 Ketone testing meter question

Even cheaper than at ADW.

That was at ADW...the strips are $23.99 for a box of 10

I DO have one of those Breeze litterboxes and had thought about doing that very thing, but I have a multi-cat household and don't really want to have to lock China away until she finally goes (she's not a big fan of the Breeze box either)

How often should I be testing for ketones?
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226 Ketone testing meter question

How often depends on how prone china is to throw ketone. Tess has always been negative so we only test occasionally. Some w/ cats who have had ketone test daily.

Check out this offer directly from Nova Max. They have a discount card with it so you can get the strips for for $15 to $20 a box.
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226 Ketone testing meter question

Chris --

I would have suggested that you raise China's dose by 0.25u rather than fattening. Usually you shave or fatten when you are zeroing in on a dose. Even with the low of 95, you still have room for China to go lower. It's your call if you want to hold the fat 0.5u or bring the dose up to 0.75u.
 
Re: 7/19 China AMPS 226 Ketone testing meter question

Chris:

Check out this Free Nova Max Plus offer. Seversl of us ordered these for LLEF so we'd have them. The answers we used are: parent of a child with diabetes, 18+, take insulin via injection, 14 (i think), and no coverage.

I also agree with Sienne on the dose increase.
 
Sienne, I went with the fat .5 tonight, but if I don't see any big changes tonight, I think you're right. Is there any reason I can't go ahead and increase to .75 in the morning?

AMPS 226
+2 254
+5.8 214

PMPS 229
+2.3 268

Also thanks for the link Ann...I've submitted my information and will watch for my new meter
 
Well this is kind of interesting....The link that Ann gave me to get the Free meter asked less questions (and different questions) than the link Marje gave me.

Ann's link...http://www.novacares.com/dmomfeb.php

Marje's link..http://www.novacares.com/deg.php


I used the one I got from Ann since it was posted first..Hopefully it won't make any difference

Thanks again for the help, and I'll increase China to .75 in the morning unless I get some really low greens tonight (but it's not looking like that's going to happen)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top