7/19 Celia AMPS 205 PMPS 368

Angie & Celia (Cruz)

Member Since 2023
Celia was "trending toward remission" according to the vet recently bc she was staying mostly in the 100s and sometimes 200s, but I guess not anymore since lately she's hitting the 300s randomly which is really worrying me. No other household, food, etc. changes have occurred. If looking for a curve, last time vet recommended was on 7/3. I'm also wondering if this could be dose-related (time to increase?). She's still on the same low dosage I started on (0.25 U) bc I was a newbie and deathly scared of hypo's (still am, but it also defeats the purpose if the dose is insufficient).
 
On this forum, we use dosing methods that determine how to change the Lantus dose based on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking the cat. Those lows are typically 4-7 hours after shot time, but there can be variation in that. With SLGS, you need to do a curve at least once a week, and ideally spot checks would help fill in more information. Can you get any night time checks? Say just before you got to bed if it's at least 2-3 hours after the PM shot time?

Without more data, all I can say is that those pinks are either because his dose is too low and he needs more insulin, or it's too high and he's bouncing from some low numbers we don't see.

When do you think you could schedule a curve again?
 
So sorry for delay. I thought the curve was every 2 weeks? Well, I had planned to curve tomorrow, but vet suggested a T4 check for her since she's been losing a lot of weight so I'd forgotten & made her appt for that tomorrow. So will have to shoot for Wednesday since I work Tues. Will try to get some spot checks in the meantime too. Thanks.
 
The curve should be once per week, at least. If you can still do the curve tomorrow, you can do it with tests before and after the vet appointment.
 
Sorry for delay. Didn't see this in time. I have 7 rescue pets (incl. Hyperthyroidism & FIV w/Stomatitus) & a TNR colony on a part time income while in bad health so I don't know if I'm coming or going most of the time. Was able to do curve Wed. 7/26. She has been trending much differently than her norm lately. Please see SS. Thanks!
 
The purpose of the curve is to see how she is doing on a particular insulin dose, but you skipped on Wednesday. Her numbers are pretty good, but a little high from where we would expect a cat off of insulin to be. I suspect she still needs some insulin. Maybe try the 0.1 unit dose, but I would suggest doing it on a day you can monitor her more closely.
 
Thanks so much, yeah that's what I was thinking too. I'll try that. I assume you mean 1U because she's already on .25U.? I've managed to shoot when she's as low as @150 (formerly 200), but so far am afraid to go lower yet because her nadir & other readings have been so low during the curves (to a newbie at least who's still scared of Hypoglycemia). Thanks again!
 
Back
Top