7/19 Catman AMPS 152, 2u , +3 196, +6 295, +9 354

AliceR

Member Since 2020
Yesterday was Catman's first full day of moist food with no dry and this AMPS was our 1st blue.... As a PS?

Unfortunately I missed the part about not feeding during a stall.... So he just ate ¾ can FF. There was a small puddle of diarrhea in his litter which is new but he just had a normal poop.

Not sure what to do.
 
Gave him 2 units. Will test throughout the day to see what happens. We have high carb food at the ready. Didn't feel like letting him bounce back up now that we finally have him closer to where we want him. Many of the posts indicated that above 150 it's okay.

But I'm not really sure what "stall" means. Does that mean wait half an hour? Don't shoot at all?

Thx
 
When you get a lower than normal Preshot the idea is to stall for 20 minutes, don’t feed and then test again after the 20 mins to see if the number is rising.

If it's not I would post BG XX STALLING NEED HELP!
 
This is just so weird. I changed the title to reflect his +3 BG at 196. Could it be changing from Purina DM dry to fancy feast that is the culprit here? I did the transition slowly over a few days.

That and it's pretty hot in Connecticut right now...
 
Last edited:
This is just so weird. I changed the title to reflect his +3 BG at 196. Could it be changing from Purina DM dry to fancy feast that is the culprit here? I did the transition slowly over a few days.

That and it's pretty hot in Connecticut right now...
I don't think so, the Fancy Feast Classic Pates are only 2 or 3 carbs is that what you are feeding?
The FF Gravy Lovers are much more
 
Congrats on getting dry food out of the picture! It will definitely make a difference in his numbers. Good for you on shooting that blue - that's great data to have. :cool: Looks like he possibly went lower last night and is now bouncing. Many cats go lower at night. Since we dose according to the lows, it's important to get an idea what is happening at night. A +2 or before bed test is a good clue what is happening at night.
 
Congrats on getting dry food out of the picture! It will definitely make a difference in his numbers. Good for you on shooting that blue - that's great data to have. :cool: Looks like he possibly went lower last night and is now bouncing. Many cats go lower at night. Since we dose according to the lows, it's important to get an idea what is happening at night. A +2 or before bed test is a good clue what is happening at night.
Just did a +3 before bed and he was 294. Feel bad that he went so low last night that it might have caused a bump... or worse!

20 yrs ago we didn't have the internet like this and lost a cat we had really stable because we had house guests and didn't realize he hadn't eaten. The vision of him in a hypo coma and the damaget it caused... I think we're just scared of low numbers!
 
As for the diorhea, it's normal for a cat to have different stools following a diet change. Too soft or liquid usually means his diet was changed faster than his gut flora could adapt but you won't learn this until you do it.

If it happens again and the diorhea doesn't improve on its own over the next day or two then you could try some pro biotics to speed it along.

Don't be alarmed also if his poop changes colour. That is totally normal when changing diet.
 
That’s a nice +3, coming down, but not too fast.
Is it weird that the +3 would be higher than the AMPS? I think we didn't put enough moist food in his PetSafe 5 overnight... Still getting the hang of his new feeding schedule and amounts...
 
As for the diorhea,....

If it happens again and the diorhea doesn't improve on its own over the next day or two then you could try some pro biotics to speed it along.
Looking back I think he probably was really low overnight and that stressed him out because as soon as we fed him in the morning his stool returned to normal. Scary to think that they can go so low while you're sleeping but now that we are providing more food during the early morning nadir this probably won't be a problem, I hope!
 
Back
Top