7/19 Catcat AMPS 267,+2.5=194,+5=88,+11.8=92,+12.3=101

Catcat - ya gotta get closer to the beach if you're going to get into the cool water today...I is on the tree...Luci said that...:cat::cat:

Luci is still stalling up in the trees... she needs to get on down to the beach with the rest of the cool kids...just can't seem to get her moving...:(

It's a mighty hot day out there...all us beans want to talk about...hot stuff...go swimming kitties...go swimming!:cool::cool:
 
got the neatest pool around out here, a former sandstone quarry that flooded, with the stream still running, a waterfall at the other side of the pool

https://cityoftenino.us/community/page/tenino-quarry-pool
photo_quarrypool1.jpg
click the website and enjoy the slideshow

@Sue and Luci

@MrWorfMen's Mom

@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
Nice numbers today. It looks like 0.75 is a fitting dose, with a little bounciness. Not all our diabetic kittehs have perfect curves.:bighug:

That predicted high of 88 is a good day for a swim. That is a neat quarry pool. I lived in North Seattle (Lynnwood) ~1980 and it was 95 for a week. That was pretty toasty without air conditioning.
 
not-a-PMPS = 92 --- will stall and retest

ETA, update 20 minutes later 101

@MrWorfMen's Mom

Linda, I feel brave tonight, should I go ahead and shoot the .75 ?
or shoot a reduced dose?

I have Friskies to feed, and it's only quarter to 7 --
 
Last edited:
Since you are following SLGS you technically should have reduced the dose a couple of days ago to 0.50u when Catcat dropped below 90. That said, the 0.75u seemed to be working very well. You have never shot a pre-shot that low before and we usually suggest you work your way down gradually. So first off, I'd reduce the dose to 0.5u and it's up to you whether you shoot or not bearing in mind that you could potentially be chasing numbers for several hours given it appears Catcat's nadir is at least +4 or later and today he didn't really come up much past +5. If I were you, I'd probably opt to skip tonight.
 
looking at what happened last time -- following day was a flat yellow which isn't all that bad -- I'm thinking I need to get more mid-afternoon test number to see if this is the +10-11 slump that some cats get, or if he truly stayed down in greens and low blues all afternoon (I wound up with another nap I hadn't intended)

so yeah, even though I have things all set to go, I'm gonna skip again, feed him the regular stuff and see what transpires, if he's still dropping I'll open the Friskies

the thing is -- the "below 90" was not a nadir -- that's why I didn't reduce --
these late late numbers aren't nadirs, are they?

wait a minute, rereading, yes it WAS at nadir time
 
Just to clarify - Nadir is not a fixed point in the cycle. It's simply when the peak insulin action is occurring or when the BG is at it's lowest in the cycle. Since we aren't testing every hour on the hour, we may not catch the precise nadir every day but those lows we do catch are indicative of how low the insulin is taking BG and suggest when nadir might be/is occurring. While we may expect nadir to occur in a specific timeframe, some cats can be later or earlier and nadir is not necessarily at the same time every day.
 
yes, that's why I may try checking later in the daytime cycle -- to see if it's a late dip after a rise, or if it's stayed low for awhile

second time he's done this -- makes me wish for a Libre for a few days, I really would like to see more points on the curve, but OH his POOR EARS
he has a tendency to flinch just as the lancet approaches, so he has several slices across his ear, rather than nice round holes that close easily

he can jerk away even from those nubby finger protectors you mentioned, I still had a few left over from back then -- albeit crumbly
 
Last edited:
- I'm thinking I need to get more mid-afternoon test number to see if this is the +10-11 slump that some cats get, or if he truly stayed down in greens and low blues all afternoon (I wound up with another nap I hadn't intended)

Oh those accidental naps! I feel you! :joyful:

I bet you are free to rest for your night, with the skipped shot!
Whoo good job reducing, Catcat!!!!

Now you can all follow Alice’s lead and take another nap. :D
 
Back
Top