7/19 Boomer AMPS 266 +3 238 PMPS 310 +3 236 dosecrease tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's tears
Good morning!
Thank you everyone for your support, comments and suggestions yesterday. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: This situation is really frustrating me!
Last night I told Boomer...if you get me up to help you eat you're getting a pokie. He did....and he did lol. +9 223. So he likely came down a bit more last night and was on the way back up at +9.

AMPS 266 shooting .5u
Boomer ate all of his fuds; Allen also ate well overnight.

Is tomorrow too soon for a dosecrease, assuming he does nothing today? Before the dental he was getting 1.25u but because he stayed in good numbers for a couple of days after the dental and was in low blue when I resumed insulin I started him back at .25u. So maybe he's just not getting enough insulin yet.
 
I'm still learning about Lantus but tonight would be your 6th cycle with 0.5U, so with TR (if I understand it correctly :bookworm:), tomorrow would be your dosecrease day anyway, yes? Also since he's staying kind of flat with nadir above 200 but less than 300. Hopefully you'll get his depot filled again and see your ocean and lagoon kitty again :).
And a more experienced member will chime in so you can just ignore mine :smuggrin:
 
My thought is that Boomer most likely does need more juice. I think tomorrow is perfectly fine for an increase, and honestly, I would keep increasing every 6 cycles until you get him consistently in good numbers again. You don't want him getting used to these higher numbers by holding doses too long - that just makes it harder to hit a break through dose - especially with a longterm diabetic who is back from The Falls.

I would also consider getting new juice since your current juice is from February....however, I would be cautious about increasing and trying new juice at the same time.
 
You don't want him getting used to these higher numbers by holding doses too long
I would be cautious about increasing and trying new juice at the same time.

Yes, my thoughts exactly to both of these comments. If I change bottles of insulin I will have to hold the dose for another 3 days. My instinct (for what it's worth) is telling me to increase. There have been decent drops in BG the last two PM (although the AM cycles have been wonky). I'll see what happens today.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: It is so difficult not to be affected by the numbers our kitties give us.

Please work the juice Boomer! There is a dosecrease threat on the table.
 
If I change bottles of insulin I will have to hold the dose for another 3 days
You don't have to hold the dose an extra 3 days...maybe just a cycle or two. I'm doubtful it's the insulin but would be a good idea to start a new vile soon. Some do use the insulin for even longer than 6 months but my general rule was no more then 4 month. Although once Doodles became a gulper that was a none issue.

Down now Boomer, you're stressing mama bean and your aunties out buddy. Hang in there Judy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You don't have to hold the dose an extra 3 days...maybe just a cycle or two. I'm doubtful it's the insulin but would be a good idea to start a new vile soon. Some do use the insulin for even longer than 6 months but my general rule was no more then 4 month. Although once Doodles became a gulper that was a none issue.

Down now Boomer, you're stressing mama bean and your aunties out buddy. Hang in there Judy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
My plan (if one can have a plan when it comes to cats) is to increase his doses until I get him in blue. At that point when he's in better (not good but better) numbers I will buy new insulin. I just can't stand these yellow numbers so I don't want to have to hold the dose for another couple of days.
 
My plan (if one can have a plan when it comes to cats) is to increase his doses until I get him in blue. At that point when he's in better (not good but better) numbers I will buy new insulin. I just can't stand these yellow numbers so I don't want to have to hold the dose for another couple of days.
That sounds like a good plan. If you're able to monitor, I would increase rather quickly too. That seems to have made a huge difference for Mandarin... but, then again, ECID. No clue why Walter all of a sudden decided to be a flat blue/green cat - at least to my knowledge, I didn't do anything different.
 
That sounds like a good plan. If you're able to monitor, I would increase rather quickly too. That seems to have made a huge difference for Mandarin... but, then again, ECID. No clue why Walter all of a sudden decided to be a flat blue/green cat - at least to my knowledge, I didn't do anything different.
My plan is to allow 6 cycles on each dose. If there is any NDW then I may have to extend it to 8 cycles until I know what he's going to do.
 
+9 297
When we got home at +7.5 I fed Allen and gave Boomer a bit of food too since Allen likely ate some of Boomer's +6 fuds. So this number may include a food spike.
 
My plan is to allow 6 cycles on each dose. If there is any NDW then I may have to extend it to 8 cycles until I know what he's going to do.
Ignore the NDW, he should let you know what the dose can do by the end of 6 cycles, especially if all he is getting is high blue or above nadirs. Paws crossed the increase works to get him in better numbers ASAP!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top