7/19 Bob PMPS=193 125+2 115+3 128+4 117+5, 162+6???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL! TGIF!!! I am so excited I have a weekend to do NOTHING. I have furniture being delivered tomorrow and I can get some good BG tests on Bob.

He's been a little sleepy last two days, but I think that may be from the big highs and lows he has had. Tried to feed FF Chicken & Beef and he was having none of it. He was all excited when I opened the can and then when I put it down he walked right away and went to lie down on his sheet and just stares at me. I think he does it on purpose so he can see me running through the apt trying to find something else he would eat. He knows he is in control! Bad kitty! I ended up giving him the FF appetizer - chicken & tuna. I didn't think he would eat it because he's so picky about textures and pieces of food. He scarfed it! I've never seen him finish anything. I know it's not a replacement for his meal, but I'm happy to know he will eat it. I can buy a few to tempt him when he's being difficult. Going to stock up on what I know he will eat - so far, it's the Fromm duck & chicken pate, the Lotus chicken & veggie pate, the BFF tuna and possibly the FF turkey & giblets. I would like to try a few of the Merrick foods, but don't want to order a whole case. I wonder if Petco carries it?

So, is Bob ready for an increase? I don't know if I've done that great of a job with getting his numbers. I will be home this weekend to get some. The nights have just sucked really bad lately. I'm crazy exhausted and it's so hard interrupting sleep to do it. I set my alarm for +6 last night and tried to get a test, but the clear cap feel off the lancet and couldn't find it. Then Hector ran off with all the little cotton pads I use so I just gave up and went to bed. Got up again just to check on him and didn't want to bother him for another test.

I feel like his bounce is over and maybe I should increase, but of course it makes me nervous....

I hope everyone has a great Friday! Thoughts and prayers for all who need them!
 
Re: 7/19 Bob AMPS=305 Ready for dose increase?

So, is Bob ready for an increase?

I think there is still room for Bob to drop more. The only reason I did not suggest it yesterday, was because you are doing a food change. You need to monitor closely when you are doing that. Been there, done that.

If you can be home to monitor, have plenty of strips, your hypo toolkit ready just in case, then yes, go up to 4.5U.

The nights have just sucked really bad lately. I'm crazy exhausted and it's so hard interrupting sleep to do it. I set my alarm for +6 last night and tried to get a test, but the clear cap feel off the lancet and couldn't find it. Then Hector ran off with all the little cotton pads I use so I just gave up and went to bed. Got up again just to check on him and didn't want to bother him for another test.
A comedy of errors at your home last night. :shock: I laughed and laughed reading this! :lol: :lol: :lol: Especially where little bratty brother Hector ran off with the cotton pads. :o

BJM says that sleep cycles are 45 minutes so setting your alarm for multiples of 45 should work better.

Maybe try topping the FF Turkey & Giblet with some of the appetizer? Mushing it into the T&G a bit?
 
Re: 7/19 Bob AMPS=305 Ready for dose increase?

I don't know about in your area but the Petco here carries Merrick. If you go to the Merrick website, I'm pretty sure I remember seeing a store locator.

Providing Bob clears the bounce from yesterday's blues, I think you're fine to increase his dose.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob AMPS=305 Ready for dose increase?

Deb & Wink said:
A comedy of errors at your home last night. I laughed and laughed reading this! Especially where little bratty brother Hector ran off with the cotton pads.

Deb - Hector is a NUT! I call him the "big oaf", poor little baby. He's always in the way with his chubby self. it was pretty funny when he ran off with the cotton....

Sienne and Gabby said:
Providing Bob clears the bounce from yesterday's blues, I think you're fine to increase his dose.

Did Bob clear his bounce? I didn't see anymore 400's so I assumed so....

Can someone remind me where the food list is? I saw a really big one someone put together. Can't find it now...
 
Re: 7/19 Bob AMPS=305 Ready for dose increase?

Food list is here. http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

Don't know if the bounce has cleared yet. Only the AMPS from today so far, we're waiting to see some more numbers from tonight.

I saw a note on your SS about how the cats are all eating less and you were wondering if the canned food is more filling. Good deduction, that's exactly it. :cool: It's one reason why smart vets recommend canned food for cats that need to lose weight. You can portion control better and get fewer calories for the same volume of food.

Other people have mentioned how much silkier, soft and shiny their cats fur is once off the dry food and onto the wet. Another bonus.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob AMPS=305 Ready for dose increase?

That's good, but is that ok for Bob? He probably eats about 5 ounces of canned food and maybe 1/4 cup of dry each day.

I hope it helps Penelope! She is black and has some serious dandruf going on all of a sudden. And, of course, Hector could stand to lose a pound or two!
 
Re: 7/19 Bob AMPS=305 Ready for dose increase?

Is Bob really skinny? Or more at his ideal weight? Where does he fall on this body condition chart?

body condition chart

The 5 ounces and the 1/4 cup dry may be enough for Bob right now. You can weigh him, to get an idea if he is losing weight or gaining or staying the same. Maybe once every week or two should be enough to see how his weight is doing.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

O......m.......g!!!!! This cat!!!! I gave him his shot because I was a little late coming home. Gave him his fav-Fromm duck & chicken and he won't eat it. Keeps going over, smelling it and walking away. How long do I wait to give him something else?
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Lantus onsets in about 2 hours. So he should eat some food by +1.5.

ETA: Please update your SS.

And get a +2 please.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

I'd give him 30 min. If you have something that might entice him (freeze dried chicken dust?) try that or just wait and see what he does. Maybe having a talk with Bob would help, too.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Hey Bob. Whatcha trying to do, stress your mamabean out? Its time to start eating.

Dara, he heard you say you had NOTHING to do tomorrow so decided to 'seek attention.'

Hope its a good night!
Karen
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

I will update my ss and get a +2. I hsd a serious talk with bob and he ate some of his food. Good boy!! But I haven't politely out the dry yet. i need some advice on how to stop the dry food totally. Aren't I supposed to decrease his insulin before I do that?
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Deb & Wink said:
But I haven't politely out the dry yet
Huh?

I was posting from my phone - love that autocorrect! I meant to say "I haven't put out the dry yet". I wanted to hold off on putting out the 1/8 c of the dry to see how much of the wet he would eat. He's probably eaten about 1/2 of a 5-ounce can. But I worry because he was at 192 and I gave him 4.25 units. That's why I was wondering exactly how I should go about getting rid of the dry totally.

GregFurBall said:
Hey Bob. Whatcha trying to do, stress your mamabean out? Its time to start eating.

Dara, he heard you say you had NOTHING to do tomorrow so decided to 'seek attention.'

Hope its a good night!
Karen

Haha! Karen, you are probably right! He's so bad!
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

1/2 of a 5.5 ounce can is plenty. We might want him a little hungry in case he drops low tonight.

I'd hold off on putting out the dry for the rest of the evening.

And have your hypo toolkit on standby just in case.


When is that +2?
 

Attachments

  • cats pajamas 4 small.jpg
    cats pajamas 4 small.jpg
    11.9 KB · Views: 1,763
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Oh, Bob, you heard what your mom said, and want her undivided attention!! Eat your good fuds!!

Hope he surfs smoothly for you tonight, Dara!
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Deb - In about 15 minutes I'll get that +2.

Cleo & Jane said:
Oh, Bob, you heard what your mom said, and want her undivided attention!! Eat your good fuds!!

Hope he surfs smoothly for you tonight, Dara!

Thanks JAne! He's eating pretty good now. I gave him 3/4 of a can and he's almost had it all. He's got a lot of energy tonight! Here he is playing in a box and trying to look all innocent like he wasn't being a brat earlier..
 

Attachments

  • phpPt1xit_c2PM.jpg
    phpPt1xit_c2PM.jpg
    7.2 KB · Views: 1,751
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Looks like the mind meld worked! We're both having a PJ party tonight! :lol:

Bob's got his innocent look down pat. :-D
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Here, I borrowed the BOS from Nikki's post for you. Heard you requested them.
 

Attachments

  • Balls%20of%20Steel%202.png
    Balls%20of%20Steel%202.png
    67.8 KB · Views: 1,747
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Nikki's Mom said:
Looks like the mind meld worked! We're both having a PJ party tonight!

Bob's got his innocent look down pat.

Hey Alexis - I was just replying to your post!

Yeah - I'm sweating a little. He's going down and he ate a whole can of food. Haven't given any dry yet, but I may have to beg Deb to let me give him some!

Dyana said:
Bob is the most photogenic cat. I love him!

Awww, Dyana - what a nice compliment. JD is quite photogenic as well in his little bow tie! :-D

DEB!!! Bob is still going down and he's eaten almost all of his canned food. Maybe 3.5/4.0 ounces. Should I give him a little dry?? Should I put down more canned? Yikes!
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Yay! The balls of steel! Hope I can make them proud....I'm being a little wimpy right now...
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

If Bob would eat a couple tsp of wet, that might help slow him down a little. Let's see if we can hold off that dry yet. Dry takes a while to hit the blood stream.

Very nice cycle BTW. :-D :-D Time to take a couple deep breaths for yourself.

ETA: Could you update your first post with your +2 test?
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 Need help????

Alright there Bob. Nikki is sending you some blue surf vibes. Slow your roll and hang out just where you are for a bit! :cool:

Oh and Dara, you'll do just fine! I'll share the ice cream I stocked up on just for tonight! I must have known we'd need it. :-D
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125 Need help????

Dara, the dry takes so long to digest.

Let's see if he'll eat more of the wet, like Wendy suggested. A teaspoon or too.

Another test at +3 wouldn't hurt. Sooner if your nervous.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125 Need help????

Nikki's Mom said:
Alright there Bob. Nikki is sending you some blue surf vibes. Slow your roll and hang out just where you are for a bit!

Oh and Dara, you'll do just fine! I'll share the ice cream I stocked up on just for tonight! I must have known we'd need it.

So funny that JD and Bob are on the same "pancreas-wave". Just gotta prepare for a possible ugly number in the am.

Wendy&Neko said:
If Bob would eat a couple tsp of wet, that might help slow him down a little. Let's see if we can hold off that dry yet. Dry takes a while to hit the blood stream.

He's been eating the 4 or so ounces of Fromm duck & chicken on and off for the last two hours. I just gave him 1/2 of a serving of the FF tuna and chicken appetizer. Is that ok? By my calculations, it is LC. He loves it - he just finished it and I looking for more! I picked up more today - I knew they would come in handy!

I hope this means once Bob is fully on wet food, he may not need a whole lot of insulin!!
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125 Need help????

Alexis - I meant Nikki! Gosh - what is wrong with me lately! I'm either calling Nikki a boy or calling her by the wrong name! :oops: Sorry!

I just replied to one of JD's posts, so I'm a little confused. Too busy worrying about Bob!
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125 Need help????

Hold the rest of that FF appetizer in reserve for later. To bring his numbers up if needed. We can always add a drop of syrup to a LC food to make it a MC food, or a couple of drops to make it a HC food.

We need to keep him a little hungry tonight. So he will eat little bits throughout the next several hours.

I think the dose and the food change just might have kicked in all at once for Bob. Loving these numbers for Bob. It's what we've been striving for all these months.

I bet you are stressed and nervous though.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125 Need help????

Deb & Wink said:
Hold the rest of that FF appetizer in reserve for later. To bring his numbers up if needed. We can always add a drop of syrup to a LC food to make it a MC food, or a couple of drops to make it a HC food.

We need to keep him a little hungry tonight. So he will eat little bits throughout the next several hours.

I think the dose and the food change just might have kicked in all at once for Bob. Loving these numbers for Bob. It's what we've been striving for all these months.

I bet you are stressed and nervous though.

Indeed I am feeling the stress! should I feed him a little each hour? I am very happy to see him with these numbers, just not so fast! He needs to slow his roll! I do have some HC foods, but that doesn't mean he will eat it. I gave him the Merrick Turkey pate tonight and he wouldn't eat it so I had to give him the fromm, which he wouldn't eat at first, but then he did. I bought him some tuna flakes and he didn't want those either. Stubborn little fella! He definitely likes those appetizers though! I will have to stock up for nights like this.

I really NEVER thought he would eat the canned. Not sure what kicked in, but I'm glad it did.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125 Need help????

Lost track of time. How soon until your +3?

No food until after that. Sorry Bob, we need you a little hungry tonight.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125 Need help????

Dara

As long as you have broken the dry food habit for him, it's better to stick with the wet food as the others have said. It gives you much better control over the numbers.

When numbers are coming down fast, you want to feed a little at a time to control the drop.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125 Need help????

Just be happy he hasn't acquired a taste for lobster or filet.

You have to try a balancing act.You don't want to feed too much so Bob gets full. But, you want to give some food to slow the drop. I would test at +2.5 and see where Bob's at.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125, +3=115 Need help????

ok, so my P's are being affected now - I'm about to crap my pants thinking Bob is at 115 and I have how many more hours to go??? I posted my +3 - what should I do now? Should I give him the other half of the appetizer or try a couple spoonfuls of one of the other LC cans of food? maybe a fishy one he would like?
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125, +3=115 Need help????

Dara....deep breath! You got him slowed really nicely! Great job.

I'd get a +4. Remember food is your friend so if he goes a little lower, we use food to bring him up. We will stay with you...you won't be alone.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125, +3=115 Need help????

Half of that FF appetizer would be a bit much. How about only a teaspoon. Of that appetizer or the low carb food.

Next test at +4, unless you hear different.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125, +3=115 Need help????

Actually, I wouldn't necessarily feed right now. He only came down 10 the last hour. Lets see where he is at +4. He might take a bigger drop, Dara, so don't be scared. If you really, really feel the need to feed right now, Id agree with Deb...just a tsp of LC.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125, +3=115 Need help????

I gave him about a TBS of the BFF tuna & chicken chuckles (sorry! It was before you posted). He likes that one. He scarfed it. I'll check at +4. Thanks guys for all the help! I'm high-strung. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125, +3=115 Need help????

This is new territory for you. Once you get the hang of it, it will be a piece of cake! I agree with Marje. You've slowed the drop. Test at +4.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193, +2=125, +3=115 Need help????

Evening Dara and Bob

I have been following your postings tonight.......you are going great!!

looks like something has finally kicked in with stubborn Bob!!

it is quite scary for us newbies when that insulin actually does what it is supposed to do!! even though we hate the constant PINKS .....they are quite easy to live with actually....you know...sleep ....put the meter away for the night....enjoy some TV......

now that we both are seeing some normal numbers.........OUR LIVES AREN'T NORMAL, hello stress anyone??

good luck

I will be watching you 2

aren't we lucky to have these great people helping us through our ordeals!! this site is AMAZING....couldn't do it without them!


~kelly
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 125+2 115+3 128+4 ???

tomtom13 said:
Evening Dara and Bob

I have been following your postings tonight.......you are going great!!

looks like something has finally kicked in with stubborn Bob!!

it is quite scary for us newbies when that insulin actually does what it is supposed to do!! even though we hate the constant PINKS .....they are quite easy to live with actually....you know...sleep ....put the meter away for the night....enjoy some TV......

now that we both are seeing some normal numbers.........OUR LIVES AREN'T NORMAL, hello stress anyone??

good luck

I will be watching you 2



aren't we lucky to have these great

I agree Kelly- it is a little easier to be in the pink! I def didn't worry about hypos! I'm sure it was the food change - yay! And I'm definitely grateful for all the help here. Without it, I would listen to the vet who told me he was regulated in the 300's and no telling what would have become of my boo!!

Thanks for the encouragement! We'll be keeping our eyes on Tom too...
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 125+2 115+3 128+4 ???

ok - so I'm happy we are staying kind of even here. But I guess we still need to get through the next 3 or 4 hours and we can feel safe? Should I feed anymore or see what the+5 is?
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 125+2 115+3 128+4 ???

I would suggest testing at +6 but if you are nailbite_smile and would feel better, I'd not feed unless he's starving, and get a +5. It's whatever your comfort level is, Dara.

I know the first venture into lower numbers is scary. We've all been there. But remember that you are in control with testing and food. Symptomatic hypos on Lantus are rare and especially when you are watching the numbers and managing the curve with food. In fact, in almost three years here, I haven't seen a symptomatic hypo when the CG was testing and feeding the curve.

A hypo is when there are clinical signs...so it isn't just the low numbers. The way to keep our kitties safe is to test and feed appropriately which is what you are doing.

Great job tonight!
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 125+2 115+3 128+4 ???

Thanks for your help guys! He's not starving, but he's looking for the yummy tuna food I've been giving him (just found him on the counter in the kitchen). I'll probably give him more at +6 unless his numbers start going down again before that. So, do you think if the +5 and +6 are in the same range as they have been, we need to continue to test after +6? I'll stay up all night if you think I need to, I just want to see what you think. As you can see....Bob is quite stressed out by all the excitement tonight....
 

Attachments

  • BOB.jpg
    BOB.jpg
    7.1 KB · Views: 1,657
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 125+2 115+3 128+4 ???

He's very adorable as are his compadres! Great profile.

We usually like to see two rising, non food influenced numbers before you call it a night. But if he starts to zoom up with just LC on board, you're ok. It takes about two hours for HC to wear off and numbers can start to wobble and come back down.
 
Re: 7/19 Bob PMPS=193 125+2 115+3 128+4 117+5???

down a few points at +5. I'll test again at +6. Please don't stay up on my account! I feel bad making you guys lose sleep! I'll keep posting in case you just like staying up! I really appreciate this though. I remember trying to call the vet in the middle of the night and feeling so alone and helpless! You guys are amazing!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top