7/19 Billie PMPS 281 +4 99 +5.5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121993

Billie is having a lovely day! Her PM shot was 30 minutes late last night, so I shot 30 minutes early/on time this morning to get back on schedule. It looks like she isn't too thrown off since we have green! Hopefully, she won't bounce too much.

I hope you're all having a great weekend!
 
Re: 7/19 Billie PMPS 281

hi deanna!

just checking in on miss billie.

you've got 12 cycles at 1.0u, lowest nadirs are in the 70's and still over 200 in most cycles. i'd consider increasing her dose. i know she got in the 40's on 1.25u. i think you've got a choice - you could either go back to 1.25u or increase a little bit, trying to hit a dose more than 1.0 and less than 1.25u. i think i'd lean towards the second choice and see if it's enough to bring down those overall numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
Re: 7/19 Billie PMPS 281

Hi Julie! Thank you for stopping by! We appreciate that. You must be psychic - I was just about to ask for opinions on an increase! I think I will go with option 2 - I'll try a dose between 1 and 1.25 and see what that does.
 
Re: 7/19 Billie PMPS 281

in some cats, a full increase can be more effective in actually moving the numbers, but since her nadirs are good in most cycles, i think it might be worth a try with the smaller increase.

it's something to observe & note in her spreadsheet - whether or not she does ok with a scootch more insulin and it gets her numbers down some, or if it doesn't work well, then next time try the full 0.25u increase.
 
Re: 7/19 Billie PMPS 281 +4 99

Wow, she really broke this bounce! +4 99. I guess she read her condo. I'm still thinking I'll try a fat 1u unless she has more tricks up her sleeve tonight or someone recommends otherwise.

I was thinking of giving her a before bed poke break and just setting a +6 alarm, but she got hungry all of a sudden and then thirsty, which sometimes happens when she is dropping. I don't know if that's typical, but I have noticed her drinking more when she is on her way down (and also when she is up around the 300s).

We'll see what she's up to!
 
Re: 7/19 Billie PMPS 281 +4 99

i haven't heard of cats getting thirsty when their BGs are going down, but it doesn't mean that Billie couldn't be doing that. Punkin got thirsty when his blood sugar went high, not low. But . . . she may be responding to the sensation of her numbers going down in her own way.

Many cats do get hungry when their blood sugar gets low.
 
Max sometimes drinks when he is going down as well. Maybe it's from the fd treats he gets?? Billie is looking good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top