7/18 Xena AMPS 202, +1 251 / PMPS 260

Don & Xena

Member Since 2023
We are still here :)... Just one of those crazy times. I just updated Xena's chart after a few days of just not having time. She was increased , and is at 7.5 now. She has stayed yellow recently, and today 2nd day of 7.5 u) her preshot was 202, which is the lowest in forever.
Obviously i want her #'s to go down... the only issue is OF COURSE, I will not be here Wednesday, Thursday, friday. My wife will be treating her. My wife was a vet tech for years, but hasn't worked (aside from every neighbor in the area being at our door when their pet is sick :) ) ...Anyway, she is capable, but not as familiar a I am... She is also going through serious health issues, and we have a special needs 10 yr old son, which is her main focus daily...he will be with me while I am away, so she will be able to focus on Xena.
I wa not TOO concearned, but I still am not thrilled about any changes with such a delicate thing.
AND... of course now that low # comes up. I know it isn't REAL low, but it is for Xena. She will be due for an increase on Thursday, so I just hope all goes well.
Obviously i want to see Xena make a big turn around (fingers crossed) but I'd prefer to be here when it happens.
So any advice, pointers as to anything that would make my wife stray from my usual routine/ increases?
@Wendy&Neko
 
End of tomorrow will be 5 cycles at this dose, and give you a better idea whether you'll need/want to change the dose while you are gone. Holding the dose an extra day isn't that big a deal if you want to. Obviously, if you see green/low blues before you leave, the dose is held longer. Will your wife be BG testing? Did you get a second test last night? Just wondering if she found her blues last night.

Xena is such a steady cat numbers wise, at least so far. That can be a good thing when you are away travelling. :)
 
Hello….:)
So… she started 7.5 Monday morning so her sixth dose would be Wednesdays p.m. dose and typically Thursday morning I would start her on a new dose.
The 202 pre-shot was from this morning’s (Tuesday’s) AM dose/ test. So it was actually today she went low and she’s back in the mid 200s. When I first posted this I wasn’t sure if she was going to go down or back to her normal numbers. 202 is low for her so I actually tested with another strip just to be sure, and it came out as 201.
Since she would be due for an increase Thursday morning, if I put it off until I got back, I would be putting it off for four cycles because I won’t be back until Friday very late or Saturday, not sure yet. Because of her history, I I figured, putting off the increase that long probably isn’t the best idea… Unless, of course she started dropping.
It’s just crazy because obviously I really want her to have low numbers but I prefer that it’s when I’m here to deal with it not leave my wife to handle it on her own, especially since she’s not familiar with the charts, posting, etc.
Yes, she will be testing, but not as much as I do because Xena’s is not as cooperative with her as she is with me. I’d rather she definitely get the pre-shot numbers and maybe another test per cycle if possible, than trying to get too many readings and wind up with Scabby irritated ears that you can’t get the pre-shots from even.
From what we know of Xena, my expectation is that when we do reach a dose that breaks through it’s probably not going to be from pink to lime green overnight.
So…..as per the protocol we would continue with the increase as long as she isn’t maintaining numbers under 200 if I’m correct??… At as normal unless she had a pre-shot number under 50, which I don’t foresee happening in the next couple days. HOWEVER…The fact that I won’t be here certainly makes the odds higher that something crazy will happen as per my standard crazy life, lol.
So let me know if you think what I’m saying makes sense. Thank you again.
 
Looks like Xena likes to keep you guessing with the AMPS. :rolleyes: Usually (but not guaranteed) a cat will let you know by cycle 5 of a dose if there's going to be some action. If you still haven't seen blue by tomorrow, I think increasing per schedule would be fine. You are right that she's not likely to go from mostly yellow to lime green. You'll get some more blues in there first. Your plan sounds good.

If you want, you could create a post for your wife to use while you are gone, and I'll keep my eyes open on it. I think two tests per cycle will be fine while you are gone.

Paws crossed for a little less crazy in your lives soon. :bighug:
 
Looks like Xena likes to keep you guessing with the AMPS. :rolleyes: Usually (but not guaranteed) a cat will let you know by cycle 5 of a dose if there's going to be some action. If you still haven't seen blue by tomorrow, I think increasing per schedule would be fine. You are right that she's not likely to go from mostly yellow to lime green. You'll get some more blues in there first. Your plan sounds good.

If you want, you could create a post for your wife to use while you are gone, and I'll keep my eyes open on it. I think two tests per cycle will be fine while you are gone.

Paws crossed for a little less crazy in your lives soon. :bighug:
Thank you :)
 
Back
Top