7/18 Tiger AMPS 453;+5=303;+8=319;PMPS 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121751&p=1267353#p1267353

I apologize it has been awhile since our last post. Been busy with household and other stuff. Tiger's vet called this AM to say that the specialty vet who performed Tiger's radio-iodine treatment is on vacation, but has left notes RE:Tiger's thyroid issue. Problem is, their fax is broken. (Who uses a fax anymore??? :roll: ) So, I continue to wait to see what she is going to recommend... :roll:

Okay, to my question- either I had given a furshot, or something happened. I feel like Tiger's numbers are on the incline, we hadn't seen RED ohmygod_smile in awhile! :roll: And I don't think it's really a bounce, it looks like an upward trend to me. Her SS looked like this in early April and May. I already increased to 2.50, but I want to increase to 3 units or at least 2.75 tonight. Why her liver is suddenly hollering again, I just don't know, but I wanted to ask to make sure this is okay? She is fine otherwise, eating okay, peeing, pooping, purring but after the insulin has kicked in. I just feel the need to get her insulin shed built up again. Thoughts? I have to go out right now, but I will be back home in an hour or so. Thanks for any input.

Hope all is well with those of you still around this weekend. Also, sending extra healing vines for Lucy, Sasha, Trish, Amy's Dad, and Molly's Dad; eating vines for JD and Lucy and Mariko. And the best of luck to Wendy in the regatta this weekend!
 
Re: 7/18 Tiger AMPS 453;+5=303;+8=319

Glad to see you all back! I've been looking for a Miss Tiger condo. I'm happy all is well. You are so right...who does use a fax anymore? I hope the news is good about what the specialty vet wants to do.

Question: you increased the a.m. cycle of 7/15 to 2.5u. Did you shoot a reduced dose of 2.25u the p.m. cycle of 7/15 or is that just a typo? Because my answers are different :-D

Scenario A: it's a typo and you've shot 2.5u consistently for 7 cycles. The TR protocol states (I added the bold):
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

She could be bouncing from that 135 yesterday morning. So you are right...WHAT is her liver thinking? IMHO, I'd hold the dose a few more cycles because she has gotten into nadirs less than 200 but then she's bounced. Tiger looks like she might be a bit of a "slow responder" like Gracie. I'd give her at least three more cycles (start counting tonight).

Scenario B: it wasn't an error and you shot a 2.25u the night of 7/15. The cycle count starts over the a.m. cycle of 7/16. The numbers could be because you drained the depot just a tad with that reduced dose and now you need to hold onto it for a little bit more (theoretically ten consecutive cycles) but I will add that if she just stays high the next few cycles, I'd be tempted to increase before the ten cycles is up.

Does that help? Hope all is well!
 
Re: 7/18 Tiger AMPS 453;+5=303;+8=319

Hi Ruth. I've been looking for a Tiger condo as well. Did you join the yahoo group? If so did you post what has been done so far and her numbers to see what they say? Then when you get the info from the clinic you will be prepared with questions. At least that is what I would do for what it's worth. I hope the numbers get back to where they should be soon.
 
Re: 7/18 Tiger AMPS 453;+5=303;+8=319

Good to see a Tiger condo again. Hi Ruth! I see by your spreadsheet that you chose Door #B in Marje's scenario's above. Time to haul those patience pants out of the closet and try them on again.

Hey TIger, bean is getting twitchy - how about some blue tonight?

Good luck on getting correspondence from the vet. My vet told me recently their fax was broken too, but they have no incentive to fix it because they don't use it anymore either. :roll:

Thanks for the luck - I'll need heaps of that this weekend. :lol: I'm trying to just enjoy the experience, but that darn competitive spirit keeps on kicking in.
 
Re: 7/18 Tiger AMPS 453;+5=303;+8=319

Thank you so much ladies! :smile:

Marje, I did make a mistake in dosing the PM cycle of 7/15 :oops: I forgot what I was doing and gave 2.25. :oops: Guess I have to pull on my patience pants for that... I did finally get in to see my doctor, and got my thyroid pills, kinda scared to take the levothyroxin at night like my doctor said, with all my sleeping problems, I don't need to be awake all night! So I guess I'll start taking them tomorrow.

Hi Elise, I haven't posted in that forum yet, but little by little, I am reading the posts. It's a little overwhelming and scary! I am frustrated in not getting more info from that other vet though it sounds like they should have something for me by Monday. Thanks for asking!

Thanks Wendy, I didn't expect to see you online due to your weekend plans, but thanks for your reply! Did I mention I hate putting patience pants on LOL! :lol: You sound just like my DH in the competitive spirit. There is nothing he does that isn't competitive, even if it is just for the experience or for fun! :lol: Go get em!
 
Ok Tiger...time to come down.

I take my levothyroxine the minute I get up in the morning and then I don't eat for 1-1/2 to 2 hours. I used to take it in the evening but my doc thought I should switch the time,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top