7/18, Susie, 198 AMPS, 86 @+2, 76 @+3, 47 @+4, 55 @4.7

The three times under 50 for those not holding reductions is on three different cycles, not the same one. I don’t think you should do that and I would take a full .25 reduction.
 
Great job today Summer! Sounds like you go to bed in about an hour? At least now you can get some good sleep tonight without your subconscious worrying about her. Even if she bounces high for a couple cycles at least she's safe. :)
Thanks, Heather. I wasn't looking for a good night's sleep but I will take it. I have just been really worried about Susie and the fact that I have struggled all day long to get her numbers up. This was truly a first for me but she never ceases to amaze (and shock) me :arghh::arghh::arghh: Now, I'm wondering what kind of bounce I will see from all of this.
 
I just got back on the board. Under the circumstances I think a skip was a good idea. It will help drain the depot and allow you to get some sleep. She may be high tomorrow morning, but she'll get back on track. You'll still want to get a +1 and a +2 tonight because of the depot.
Draining the depot applies more for high dose cats or if a cat is very hard to bring up over 50 with hc. That’s not what happened. Skipping is fine but not for that reason.
 
Great job today Summer! Sounds like you go to bed in about an hour? At least now you can get some good sleep tonight without your subconscious worrying about her. Even if she bounces high for a couple cycles at least she's safe. :)
Thank you Heather. I am going to bed now at 8:10 pm (EST). No more testing today and I'm sure Susie will be grateful for the break.
 
@Summer and Susie

I’d like to make a few observations.

First, doing three drops between 40-50 on separate days before reducing is an aggressive method of reduction. It doesn’t make any sense to me to use a more aggressive method of reduction but to skip a perfectly shootable BG (like tonight). Remember we shoot low to stay low. Before I started giving reductions after three drops on separate days between 40-50, I’d learn to shoot everything above 50 on time with the full, current dose (in this case, it would have been the reduced dose of 2u since she earned a reduction today).

I also learned long ago from a very wise and experienced person here that it’s better to do increases and decreases by 0.25u unless you completely understand your cat’s onset, nadir, and duration as Elise did with Max. It takes alot of time to “know thy cat” and I’d suggest you stick with the modified TR protocol as written for now and learn the basics of shooting low with the full dose.

Congrats on the reduction and I’m glad you are taking the full 0.25u. Good luck with it!! Go Susie!!
 
Just to clarify I was not suggesting you shave and fatten the dose as I think he’s holding reductions just fine. I was just trying to explain that there are other less aggressive things to try before attempting 3 drops under 50. You also mentioned that’s what happened but it was three drops on the same cycle. Sorry if I was not clear. You don’t want to get more aggressive as Marje explained when you are not shooting the 70’s. You can’t rush fd. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Back
Top