7/18, Susie, 198 AMPS, 86 @+2, 76 @+3, 47 @+4, 55 @4.7

Susie had a beautiful day in the lagoon yesterday! I hope it wasn't a fur shot...but it happens to all of us...let's hope it was just your lack of coffee at the early hour...

Hit the lagoon Miss Susie...let's see your surfing skills today :)

Have a great day Summer!
 
Susie had a beautiful day in the lagoon yesterday! I hope it wasn't a fur shot...but it happens to all of us...let's hope it was just your lack of coffee at the early hour...

Hit the lagoon Miss Susie...let's see your surfing skills today :)

Have a great day Summer!
Thanks, Sue. Nice to hear from you. Hope your DH has a successful surgery tomorrow and that Luci is feeling good.
 
Summer, if you think she is not holding reductions, you have the option of going for three drops between 40 and 50 to reduce to 2U.
Not saying you shouldn't reduce right away. Just letting you know there is this option.
Frankly, I do not want to reduce. She is still getting far too many yellow numbers. I'd like to keep her at 2.25 units. She surprised me because even though she had that big drop, between AMPS and +2, the difference between the +2 and the +3 was only 10 points so I thought she was leveling off. I would have given m/c food at +3 had I known she was going to drop in the 40s. Wish I had a crystal ball with this cat. Thanks for the info. Good to know I don't have to reduce.
 
@Bandit's Mom Now I am getting confused she just got a 50 at +6.2. I gave her a tsp of high carb at +5.2 when she was at 49. It didn't seem to make any difference. What should I feed her now? Low carb, medium or more high carb?
I have .75 oz l/c I would normally be giving her around this time. Should I just give her that?
 
Susie cat, you cease to amaze me and i can rarely predict what you will do next!

Summer, Susie didn't want to make herself any kind of common text book case! I'm impressed with how much you have learned, including knowing your cat much better;):cat:
Hi Jan. The only thing I know about Susie is that I don't know anything at all. We are supposed to "know our cat" but it doesn't seem possible with her.
 
Hi Jan. The only thing I know about Susie is that I don't know anything at all. We are supposed to "know our cat" but it doesn't seem possible with her.
If it's any consolation I don't know everything about Bandit either. Like Sienne & Wendy like to say - their cat's nadir was at +X except in cycles when it was not. They are never going to be a 100% predictable. The problem is in expecting them to be. Just be ready to be stupefied every now and then! :-)
 
If it's any consolation I don't know everything about Bandit either. Like Sienne & Wendy like to say - their cat's nadir was at +X except in cycles when it was not. They are never going to be a 100% predictable. The problem is in expecting them to be. Just be ready to be stupefied every now and then! :)
I agree! I guess I can scratch the thought of a potential fur shot this morning. :joyful: I'm gonna hate to see the bounce after today. :arghh::arghh::arghh:
 
Maybe it was just moisture from a drop off the needle from clearing air before shooting? Even a drop can feel like a lot on their fur. I don't know y'all just stumble out of bed and shoot, I feel like my brain is scrambled when I have to!
 
@Bandit's Mom Now I am getting confused she just got a 50 at +6.2. I gave her a tsp of high carb at +5.2 when she was at 49. It didn't seem to make any difference. What should I feed her now? Low carb, medium or more high carb?
I have .75 oz l/c I would normally be giving her around this time. Should I just give her that?
It did work! She was still dropping, and by giving her the HC it kept her flat instead of dropping more ;)
 
It's nice to see Susie is getting into some greens, but I hope she comes up and surfs a little higher for you. If you have to fight to keep her up this cycle, you may want to take the reduction.
 
@Bandit's Mom Okay, so we are two hours without food and Susie is back down to 50. I am reducing her tonight. I wanted to stay on this dose but I am now concerned. What do I do now? I think I need to feed again. I'm afraid if I don't give her something it might be a mistake. Please advise if you are still awake. Thank you so much for all your help today.
 
@Bandit's Mom Okay, so we are two hours without food and Susie is back down to 50. I am reducing her tonight. I wanted to stay on this dose but I am now concerned. What do I do now? I think I need to feed again. I'm afraid if I don't give her something it might be a mistake. Please advise if you are still awake. Thank you so much for all your help today.
Yup. She is gunning for that reduction. Take it. If it fails, you can do the 3 drops rule from the next time. Feed some MC (LC might also work, but she has nothing to prove and you need a break from testing).
 
Maybe it was just moisture from a drop off the needle from clearing air before shooting? Even a drop can feel like a lot on their fur. I don't know y'all just stumble out of bed and shoot, I feel like my brain is scrambled when I have to!
It is funny, Joey. My brain has gotten so used to getting up by 5:30 that I more often than not wake up between 5:00 and 5:30 without the alarm. Good thing I am a morning person. Plus, I have two dogs that get my blood going when I wake up in the morning. They want to go outside and "do their thing". Yes, it was surely not a "fur shot".
 
It's nice to see Susie is getting into some greens, but I hope she comes up and surfs a little higher for you. If you have to fight to keep her up this cycle, you may want to take the reduction.
As much as it pains me, I am taking the reduction. I have never been through something quite like this with her before. God forbid if it happens tonight, too.
 
Yup. She is gunning for that reduction. Take it. If it fails, you can do the 3 drops rule from the next time. Feed some MC (LC might also work, but she has nothing to prove and you need a break from testing).
Okay, thank you. I hope the m/c will bring her up but it doesn't seem like much has brought her up and kept her up today. Also, I can't take a break from testing until I see she is over 70. I'm just too concerned at this point. But, thanks to you, I am not panicking!
 
Sorry Summer, hope you don't mind me hijacking your post. Bhooma can you explain this 3 drops rule? I've never heard this before.
From the Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials sticky:

REDUCTIONS:

Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
If you think your cat does not hold reductions (you reduce only to have to take the dose back up and then again reduce...), you can choose to reduce only when the BG falls between 40 and 50 on 3 separate days (not cycles). A drop below 40 is always a reduction.
 
From the Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials sticky:

REDUCTIONS:

Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
If you think your cat does not hold reductions (you reduce only to have to take the dose back up and then again reduce...), you can choose to reduce only when the BG falls between 40 and 50 on 3 separate days (not cycles). A drop below 40 is always a reduction.

Great! Thank you for sending this. I must have missed this sticky note.
 
An alternative is to fatten and skinny the dose to see if that helps. I had to do both with Max.
Geez, Elise. How do you skinny a 2.25 dose on a syringe? Okay, so the 2 units is 2.50 mm on the caliper and the 2.25 units is 2.82mm on the caliper so I assume I will be trying to measure about 2.66 on the calipers?
 
Summer what is your shot time? You're EST correct? I can check in til about 930p EST...after that it's all up to the baby and Mr Kitty and if they behave lol
My shot time is 5:45 (EST) but please don't worry about helping me. You have your hands full. I hope to not be up after 8:00 but will set alarms for tonight depending on her +2. I think she is going to start coming up soon and not stop until she reaches the stratosphere. I also feed, a lot, when I want to sleep. Bless you for being around but we will be okay. You need your rest.
 
To skinny you dive tge .25 in half. Believe it or not that small a difference can make a difference.
 
To skinny you dive tge .25 in half. Believe it or not that small a difference can make a difference.
She just got a 59 at +11. At this point, if she stays on this trajectory, I might skip the shot at PMPS. I have been unable to get this cat to come up over 72 for hours and hours despite all the food she has received. I will wait to see what her PMPS is but there is no guarantee that I will be shooting anything. I might just give 1 unit depending on what her PMPS is. What do you think, Elise? Please keep in mind the fact that she, and I, have never been in this situation before after an "all day" effort to get her to come up. Thank you for your help.
 
If you give a BCS dose or skip the first half of the cycle could very likely be active. If you give the 1.0 she might not goes as high before coming back down to earth.

BTW looking at your ss I don’t think you should do 3 drops under 50. She’s looking good to me plus you aren’t ready for the roller coaster and long stretches of night monitoring. JMHO.
 
If you give a BCS dose or skip the first half of the cycle could very likely be active. If you give the 1.0 she might not goes as high before coming back down to earth.

BTW looking at your ss I don’t think you should do 3 drops under 50. She’s looking good to me plus you aren’t ready for the roller coaster and long stretches of night monitoring. JMHO.
Okay, I am confused. What are you saying? Shoot - don't shoot - if I shoot what should I shoot? I think I'm skipping the shot altogether. I'm just worried about her that she isn't really coming up after a day of l/c, m/c and h/c food. I'll be lucky if she even has an appetite but who am I kidding. She always wants to eat - thank God.
 
Will look at a full reduction of .25 tomorrow morning. I'm taking her back to 2 units. If it is another "failed reduction", which it could be, I will take her back up but I will wait a full 6 days before I do. This cat just doesn't adjust to dose increases, or decreases, as quickly as others.
 
Okay, I am confused. What are you saying? Shoot - don't shoot - if I shoot what should I shoot? I think I'm skipping the shot altogether. I'm just worried about her that she isn't really coming up after a day of l/c, m/c and h/c food. I'll be lucky if she even has an appetite but who am I kidding. She always wants to eat - thank God.
I’m not advising what to do. I’m telling you what might happen with a reduced dose. I’m saying that I don’t think I would try 3 times under 50 in your situation. The decision is up to you.
 
I’m not advising what to do. I’m telling you what might happen with a reduced dose. I’m saying that I don’t think I would try 3 times under 50 in your situation. The decision is up to you.
I'm sorry but I don't understand. Susie hasn't gotten a 3X under 50 on this dose, over any 3 different days, so I don't know how that applies. It was today's effort to keep her up that concerned me. I've never had to deal with these low numbers, continuously, for a full daytime cycle. So, you think that after everything she has been through today (and me) that I should make no reduction tomorrow?
 
I just got back on the board. Under the circumstances I think a skip was a good idea. It will help drain the depot and allow you to get some sleep. She may be high tomorrow morning, but she'll get back on track. You'll still want to get a +1 and a +2 tonight because of the depot.
Thank you, Carla. What dose should I give her in the morning? I would really prefer to go back to the 2 units and if it is a failed reduction I can adjust. Today was a stressful and unusual day for Susie. I have never seen her this low for this long.
 
Back
Top