7/18 Shasta PMPS=290; +1=221; +2=157; +3=106; +4=100

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS 186

There's no way to know for sure what Shasta has in mind! I'd suggest getting a +2 test and see what that tells you. If the +2 is a good deal lower than your pre-shot, then chances are it will be an active cycle.

Overall, Shasta's giving you very good numbers!
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS 186

Hi guys .. don't think we've been in your condo before, so welcome from us! I see this is the lowest number you've shot to date, so you might want to grab a +1 just to see where shasta is going .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS 186

Good morning!

Thanks for the advice. I will get a +1 and +2. It's a great number (in comparison to her other PSs), but she has been proving to be a bit of a drama queen when it comes to her lows! Thank you all! I'll be +1 testing in 10 minutes (9:45am EST).

Deborah
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS 186

+1 = 235. Will be back with a +2 around 10:45am (EST). Thank you, everyone, for easing my mind! Hope everyone has a great day!!!
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS = 186; +1 = 235; +2 = 128

If it were me, I'd get a +3.

If you want, you can feed a teaspoon or two of LC food to slow things down a little bit. You only want to feed a small amount since it looks like Shasta may be carb sensitive. (It's kind of early to know if that's the case, though.) By slowing down the drop, you can encourage s flatter cycle.
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS = 186; +1 = 235; +2 = 128

Nice food spike today.

I think you might be busy today, Deborah :-D Unfortunately, I'm working today and I believe Sienne is, too, but there should be plenty of other good, experienced members around if you need help.

Have a super day!! And reread the link in my signature block to Handling Low Numbers....that will help you alot if she goes lower and there isn't anyone around.

We forgot to tell you we link the previous day's condo in the current day. Here is your condo from yesterday: 7/17 Condo

It helps us check out the last few day's history...not just what is on the SS but anything else that is pertinent and important. Here are instructions:
1. go to previous day's condo and copy link in browser
2. open a "new topic" and put your cursor in the big text box
3. click on the URL box above the text box
4. paste your link in between the boxes so it looks like this: Paste Link Here

If you want to make it fancy, do this:
1. remove the second bracket and put in an =
2. put the second bracket at the end of your link
3. in between the second and third bracket, put whatever title you like....some are like the one above, others are "Yesterday", whatever you like so we know it is the condo from the day before
4. highlight it all and then click on the B in the line above the text box to bold your title. So it looks like this: 7/17 Condo (note: I didn't add the "b" or else it will just bold it and you won't see them anyway)

have a great day!
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS = 186; +1 = 235; +2 = 128

Marjorie and Gracie said:
And reread the link in my signature block to Handling Low Numbers.

I was in the midst of reading the link when I stopped to take her +2.5 (115). She doesn't seem very interested in her LC wet today. It is out, but she's only nibbled on it a bit.

Have a good day at work. Thanks for looking in on us.
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS = 186; +1 = 235; +2 = 128

I'm glad she has slowed a bit but she has a loooonnnngggg cycle to go ;-)

Great job! And thanks...now I'm out the door to work cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS=186; +1=235; +2=128; +2.5=115; +3=78

Here are her latest numbers, for those of you who are checking in on us!

AMPS = 186
+1 = 235
+2 = 128
+2.5 = 115
+3 = 78
+3.5 = 77
+4 = 83 :!:

She has access to LC wet FF, but hadn't seemed particularly excited about it. I sprinkled it with tiny bits of Purebite turkey breast treats (100% all natural).
As soon as her numbers start coming up, I will be running to Target & Walmart to pick up some wet food with a slightly higher carb content. She's only been getting FF wet with ~ 3-4% carbs. Any suggestions?
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS=186; +1=235; +2=128; +3=78

Hi Deborah, woohoo for Shasta! Those are great numbers (even though you are freaking out :smile: ). Check out the link in Marje's signature about handling low numbers and look for the link to Janet and Binky's Food Chart. That will give you some ideas on higher carb food. It's good to have Karo syrup on hand too. We give Zener Duck and Pea pill pockets with his meds and that brings him up or slows down a drop. We also use SeaFlex for Cats.
Liz
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS=186; +1=235; +2=128; +3=78

Thank you, Liz! I've actually had both of those links open for the past hour or so, reading and re-reading and poking Shasta, and staring at her SS! haha

Just trying to make sense of all of this. Would love to feel better about her diet & dosage before school starts back. :-|

Thanks for checking in on us! ~Deborah
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS=186; +1=235; +2=128; +3=78

We read that stuff about a gazillion times. It finally makes some sense to us but we still re-read from time to time. :roll: :lol: You might want to print those out so you have them in case the internet goes out at a critical time and you can make notes on them and highlight key points.

Have you tried Fortiflora with Shasta? It's a powder with probiotics and the flavoring they use in dry food. You can get it a amazon.com (and the vet but more expensive). Zener loves it and our civie Tillie thinks it's disgusting. You can also try freeze-dried chicken (no carbs and not a complete protein so it's not a long term diet). It's available at pet food stores. The dog version is the same and a lot cheaper. For a while, that was about all Zener would eat. Tillie loves the "dust" sprinkled on her food. Parmesan cheese is also something that gets some cats to eat.
Liz
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta AMPS=186; +1=235; +2=128; +3=78

Anne & Zener said:
You might want to print those out so you have them.
Have you tried Fortiflora with Shasta?
You can also try freeze-dried chicken.

I do plan on printing everything later today when I get on my desktop, as it's hooked up into my printer. Shasta has had Fortiflora in the past when she had a spell of vomiting, but I never thought to look at it on Amazon! I'm a little over my vet right now and don't necessarily want to give them any more of my money!!! Now that I know she likes the freeze dried turkey (small, less expensive package), I will pick up some of the chicken treats!

Thank you for the information! I will start Amazon shopping when I get back from Target & Walmart (my 2nd and 3rd homes as of late!) :-D

Oh, and her +5 was 86!!! I'm starting to breathe normal again! :razz:
 
Re: 7-18 Shasta PMPS=290; +1=221; +2=157

Keeping my fingers crossed that her numbers don't dip too low and don't level off at a good number and don't go too high! Is that so much to ask for?! nailbite_smile

She hasn't eaten as much today. We are at about 1 1/2 cans of FF wet. (and I feel that I'm having to coax her to eat more with sprinkles of freeze dried turkey treats.) hmmmm? Off to test for her +3. be right back...

Oh my... +3 = 106 :sad:
While it's a lovely number, it's not so lovely at +3 with her history of big drops. Please keep us in your sights tonight!
 
Do you have medium carb or high carb food on hand? We give Zener some extra carbs when he drops more than about 50 points in an hour. It took us a long time to realize the goal should be flat cycles, not necessarily low numbers at the nadir.

You might think about putting together a hypo kit, just so you are prepared for the worst. I think there are instructions somewhere in the sacred stickies but I'll have to look for them. Anne usually does that stuff and she's in Scotland for the week.

I'm off to bed.
Liz
ETA: I just noticed the +4 so maybe Shasta has decided to surf. :-D
 
I just threw out her previous wet food (FF seafood stuff). I'm thinking she's not a seafood fan. I rarely ever feed it to her because I'm allergic! Guess she takes after her momma. I put down a small bit of FF wet beef/chicken which she just ate after +4.5 poke (well, most of it.)

I do have a few medium carb cans (Friskies) that I will try tomorrow for her breakfast and lunch and resort to her lower carb cans (FF) for her snacks.

Her +4.5 was 86... another ugh moment!
 
Shasta is getting some beautiful numbers on a nice low dose of insulin! And she's not bouncing up into the reds or black due to these low numbers.

Consider yourself very, very blessed, Deborah! I mean that from the bottom of my heart! I would prance naked in my yard for Google Earth's Satellite if my Pumbaa had SS numbers like Shasta's. :)

For more ideas about foods and their carb levels, we have been working on updating a lot of the numbers on this SS, and have also included ingredients. The far right column "date of update" will tell you if the nutritional values have been updated recently, or where they came from (2010 is the Nutritional Values SS of August 2010, Binky's old means it came from Binky's lists, and if they are blank, we don't know when the data was gathered). Hope this helps.

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
Shasta is getting some beautiful numbers on a nice low dose of insulin! And she's not bouncing up into the reds or black due to these low numbers.

Consider yourself very, very blessed, Deborah! I mean that from the bottom of my heart! I would prance naked in my yard for Google Earth's Satellite if my Pumbaa had SS numbers like Shasta's. :)

For more ideas about foods and their carb levels, we have been working on updating a lot of the numbers, and have also included ingredients. Hope this helps.

:lol: I needed that laugh just now! Shasta is very pissy with me and I just got two strange numbers for her +5 reading. 1st attempt = 143?!; 2nd attempt = 120. (<- wasn't expecting that either!) Now I'm questioning the accuracy of the meter. :?

Thank you for the link. I've been fretting over this mid-carb; high-carb stuff. I'm pretty sure she's not wild about seafood, so I think I'm going to take it back tomorrow. I did pick up some FF grilled flavors today...in case I need any high-carb food. But this mid-carb is perplexing. I know they suggest keeping it under 10%, but most of the stuff I see that is 6-10% carb is seafood of some sort. :sad: I'll keep looking!

Hopefully her +5.5 will be good. Thank you for the encouragement! Being so new to this testing/regulation protocol, I just feel like an idiot! I have all the Stickies printed and my hypo kit is accessible. Saying prayers that I never need to use it!
 
Deborah, we all need to laugh through all of this...it's the only thing that keeps us sane!!!!

To add more complications to your life, per the FDA (or whatever regulatory agency monitors these meters), every reading from every meter is allowed a +/- 20% accuracy rate. How is that for complicating our lives?

So, 143 - 20% = 114
143 + 20% = 171

The second reading of 120 was within the +/- 20% of the meter accuracy.

Do NOT feel like an idiot. (((HUGS))) There is way too much to learn/absorb. Pumbaa was diagnosed on 4/3/12, and I'm going crazy trying to absorb everything I can to do a good job for him, and he's a bouncer/diver. You are doing a great job with Shasta!

For foods, look at my Pumbaa's SS. I've been documenting the KCal % for protein/fats/carbs with every feeding every day, because I wanted to be able to figure out if he was carb sensitive. Granted, the Friskies Pate numbers are from very old Binky's lists, but they haven't been affecting Pumbaa's BG numbers as far as I can see. And I have been trying to feed him the "special diet" pates, as those are equal in carbs to the FF Classics. But there are Friskies Pates that are higher (7%) in carbs that will allow you to feed Shasta more carbs when you think she's dropping too low. Since Shasta doesn't like fish, you might want to consider the 95% EVO canned foods.

I understand Shasta getting pissy with you. Trust me! Pumbaa was so much easier to handle before insulin. *LOL* Now I have to constantly try and outsmart him, and deal with his not desiring to be poked, and that really irks me because, as far as I know, he was never eligible for MENSA, and he is outsmarting me, daily! haha_smiley

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top