7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65 +10.75-230 -PMPS 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Well I guess my thoughts last night were right
A reduction is in order!!
so...what the heck do I do now...
he is sreaming for food.....should I feed and reduce??
I am sure he want the food cause he was so low
LAst night of course was the first night I fell asleep at 9:30pm and did not wake up at 2 am in weeks!!
doesnt that figure!

any advice please
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

I am def not the one to give advice on any of the L’s but I wouldn’t shoot right now either. How long can you hang this morning?
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

I had to feed him as he was going mad!!
I am going to stay until 6:30 test and shoot I was thinking 1.5 units
I just dont want to deplete the shed but I dont want to give him too much
I dont know!! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

I am always of the feeling if you are gonna be away all day you have to keep them safe, so shoot less. Your thoughts sound reasonable to me. And you guys free feed don’t you?
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

Yes we free feed, he ate a lot and at +12.5 he is 90
that is food induced raise.....I still think I will shoot 1.5
in 15 minutes...I am going to leave out the MC food and extra today
just in case, there is no way I will be able to make it home for any testing
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

ok, fingeres crossed here today, looks like another day in meetings all day
but on pins and needles worrying....
I shot 1.5 units into his 90, I will retest in a few minutes on my way out
He did eat again just now before I shot so he should be rising....
hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

Hi, I was going to mention pm'ing Dyana on the dose, but looks like you've already shot! Sounds like Shakespeare will eat and you can come home and get some checks?
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

Sorry, I was outside in the heat with my cats, and just logged on.

I think Denise said she can not come home and test today.

Denise,
You did a good job. I think you did the right thing. Gave a BCS dose because you had to leave, and left out MC and extra food.
I hope your work day goes by quickly.

Here is your condo from yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75063
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

Go Shakes!!! A green Preshot!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

In the grand scheme of things, a 65 is a fine number to shoot. You shot an 85 and had a lovely cycle. I do understand that shooting this low may be unnerving, especially if you can't get any spot checks. Remember to go back to your usual dose tonight.
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

thanks everyone, he was 124 before I left so I felt so much better leaving him!
So I am thinking I will shoot 2.25 tonight because I am sure that he went below 50 last night!
any thoughts?
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

Before I reply, are you still using an AlphaTrack? If so, Shake's gets a dose reduction if his numbers drop below 80. The AT meter generally runs about 30 points higher than a human glucometer. If you've switched meters, could you remove the AlphaTrack notation from your signature.

If you're using the AT, then Shakes gets a reduction. If not, I'm not a fan of reducing the dose based on intuition. Unless you have other data that's no on your SS, there's no way to know where Shakes numbers were last night -- it's all speculation.
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

Hi guys .. just want to say, nice 'hootin! Number looks puurfect this morning! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

Yes I use the alpha track so I will reduce to 2.25 tonight
I was supposed to stay at 2.25 last weekend I thinkI I rasised to 2.5 too quickly
Thanks all!
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

WOO-HOO, Shakes!!!!!

Denise - I know YIKES! is your first reaction; it was mine, too. But, these really are the kind of numbers we want to see now. It's still hard for me to turn the ProZinc thinking off and now think TR Protocol. Shakes is doing wonderfully and you're doing a GREAT job!!!! Way to go!!!!

Have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

YIKES!!!! is right! :lol:

For those of us who've not seen green in months, let alone shot INTO green, this is REALLY HUGE movement!

Go Shakes, and Denise... BREATHE!!! You're doing great!
 
Re: 7/18 - Shakespeare - AMPS 65!!Yikes!

I am so very glad that I took the +10.75 - which was 230
his PMPS was 320, quite a jump in 1.25 hours
I lowered him to 2.25 and I will hold there for at least 6 cycles!(unlike last time
Hope everyone has a great night!
 
I'm going to provide a little strategy....

When your cat drops into low enough numbers that a reduction is warranted, if there is a bounce you do not have to immediately reduce the dose. Instead, you can "shoot through the bounce." What this means is you can shoot the pre-reduction dose to help your cat clear the bounce. So, one option would have been to have shot the 2.50u dose tonight and then reduced Shakes' dose in the AM.

Please remember for the future, with an AT meter, the BG level for a reduction is 80 for a cat within a year of diagnosis and 70 for a cat that is more than a year past diagnosis.
 
Thanks Sienne!
so below 70 he gets a reduction
and dont reduce the first time around
Got it!! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top