7/18 Rocky PMPS 127

Sorry no one responded earlier. I see that you shot a token dose of 0.5u.

Like @Sienne and Gabby (GA) said in this post on your previous thread, since Rocky's numbers were rising at PMPS, you could have shot the full dose. He earned a reduction to 1.25 with that drop to 68 yesterday. It is scary to shoot a new low PS. So if you aren't confident or unable to monitor closely, it is better to give a token dose or skip - depending on the numbers. Usually there are senior members here to hand hold. (Disclaimer: I'm not one of them!)
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. I see that you shot a token dose of 0.5u.

Like @Sienne and Gabby (GA) said in this post on your previous thread, since Rocky's numbers were rising at PMPS, you could have shot the full dose. He earned a reduction to 1.25 with that drop to 68 yesterday. It is scary to shoot a new low PS. So if you aren't confident or unable to monitor closely, it is better to give a token dose or skip - depending on the numbers. Usually there are senior members here to hand hold. (Disclaimer: I'm not one of them!)
Thank you for responding :) Yes I was a chicken to shoot the full reduced dose. Do I go to the reduced dose today of 1.25 or back to his 1.5? I'm not real clear on how long the reduced dose is supposed to be held.
 
Since you are following SLGS and Rocky dropped below 90, he earned a reduction to 1.25. In SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days/14 cycles.
Unless Rocky falls below 90 again, in which case you reduce the dose by 0.25 again.

From the SLGS sticky (for a quick refresher :-)):

"Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit"
 
If you reduce the dose for a low pre-shot, you go back to your usual dose the following cycle. So today (7/19), you'd be shooting 1.25u.

A couple of housekeeping items. You have 2 threads for 7/18. Given how big and busy this forum is, we ask that you open only one thread per cat per day. It allows you to keep all of your information in one place. You then link the previous day's thread to the current one. That way, you and the rest of us don't have to search the board to find information that's been posted in your condo (aka thread). Bhooma included the link to your AM thread in her post.
 
If you reduce the dose for a low pre-shot, you go back to your usual dose the following cycle. So today (7/19), you'd be shooting 1.25u.

A couple of housekeeping items. You have 2 threads for 7/18. Given how big and busy this forum is, we ask that you open only one thread per cat per day. It allows you to keep all of your information in one place. You then link the previous day's thread to the current one. That way, you and the rest of us don't have to search the board to find information that's been posted in your condo (aka thread). Bhooma included the link to your AM thread in her post.
Oh I'm sorry thank you
 
No apologies needed. We have lots of conventions that in the big picture, are helpful. Until it becomes routine, those conventions can be a pain in the neck!

Did you shoot? Is Rocky just being picky or is he not feeling well? Have you tried to tempt him by putting some treats on top of his food? (Freeze dried chicken or freeze dried mussels are a favorite around my house -- the mussels are particularly stinky).
 
No apologies needed. We have lots of conventions that in the big picture, are helpful. Until it becomes routine, those conventions can be a pain in the neck!

Did you shoot? Is Rocky just being picky or is he not feeling well? Have you tried to tempt him by putting some treats on top of his food? (Freeze dried chicken or freeze dried mussels are a favorite around my house -- the mussels are particularly stinky).
Yes I just gave him 1.25. He's never been picky so I'm not sure. He has an appointment with his new vet tomorrow so maybe good timing. I had the freeze dried chicken pure bites which he liked but ran out, bought the freeze dried duck and he won't touch them. I'm gonna go to the pet store today and see if they have the chicken so I have them on hand. I also have several cans of FF higher carb in his hypo kit in case I need.
 
Back
Top