Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Good morning,
Rocky did pretty good overnight for not getting his PMPS shot, even though he still ate 3/4 can of Nature's Variety Instinct Venison with 0% carbs during his PMBG cycle. I tried to get him to eat more but he wasn't hungry. His BG was at 124 at PMBG +17 last night. I did not test him again after that reading until his AMPS shot this morning. His BG only climbed to 170 in the remaining 5 hours of that PMBG cycle yesterday.
I am now only testing at either +1 or +2, instead of doing both. His ears don't recover so fast. When I picked him up from the vet it was so good to see his ears the normal color that they should be, and completely healed up, instead of red and blue.
I am feeding Rocky a variety of foods rather than staying with one brand and flavor of food, or only one particular percentage of carbs. It also works better for him to not feed him 4 meals right in a row, for 4 hours. I don't know, but maybe Rocky's pancreas processes the carbs better when his meals are spread apart by a few hours, more like a "grazer" might eat. Or, it could be that I just have more knowledge of what percentage carbs I should feed him when I don't feed him the same food for 4 hours in a row right at the top of the cycles. Either way, right now this feeding method works best to keep his BG numbers constantly under 100.
Over the past few weeks I have noticed that Rocky's BG goes the lowest anywhere from between +4 and +8. It doesn't seem to have an affect whether he ate something for AM/PM and +1 through +3, or not. It's still the lowest at +4 through +8.
I am slowly, little by little, entering the data I have written on note paper into Rocky's computer SS. I was not careful and neglected to put the date on some of the information that I gathered so the chart is not complete and is missing a few days of information, here and there.
Also, I have switched Rocky's shot times to 6:30am to 6:30pm. That currently seems to work well for both of us. We'll see what happens in a few months when we have day light savings time again. I'll probably need to change his shot time as this affects my feeding schedule for my feral colonies.
My goal is still to work at getting him into remission. There is a part of me that wonders if Rocky might need more hours between shots if he keeps going too low to give a shot by his 12 hour "do over" schedule. I do not want to feed him more than 2 cans of food a day just to be able to give him a shot 12 hours apart. I don't know if I keep reducing his insulin, if that is going to keep him in lower numbers. Instead, the solution might be to extend the time that he receives his second shot.
I'm going with the minor reductions right now, still staying on the 12/12 schedule, and seeing what happens. If it seems he can't hold lower numbers at a lower dose, and if cannot keep above 50 at a higher dose on the 12 hour cycle, then a longer shot cycle is probably necessary.
Rocky did pretty good overnight for not getting his PMPS shot, even though he still ate 3/4 can of Nature's Variety Instinct Venison with 0% carbs during his PMBG cycle. I tried to get him to eat more but he wasn't hungry. His BG was at 124 at PMBG +17 last night. I did not test him again after that reading until his AMPS shot this morning. His BG only climbed to 170 in the remaining 5 hours of that PMBG cycle yesterday.
I am now only testing at either +1 or +2, instead of doing both. His ears don't recover so fast. When I picked him up from the vet it was so good to see his ears the normal color that they should be, and completely healed up, instead of red and blue.
I am feeding Rocky a variety of foods rather than staying with one brand and flavor of food, or only one particular percentage of carbs. It also works better for him to not feed him 4 meals right in a row, for 4 hours. I don't know, but maybe Rocky's pancreas processes the carbs better when his meals are spread apart by a few hours, more like a "grazer" might eat. Or, it could be that I just have more knowledge of what percentage carbs I should feed him when I don't feed him the same food for 4 hours in a row right at the top of the cycles. Either way, right now this feeding method works best to keep his BG numbers constantly under 100.
Over the past few weeks I have noticed that Rocky's BG goes the lowest anywhere from between +4 and +8. It doesn't seem to have an affect whether he ate something for AM/PM and +1 through +3, or not. It's still the lowest at +4 through +8.
I am slowly, little by little, entering the data I have written on note paper into Rocky's computer SS. I was not careful and neglected to put the date on some of the information that I gathered so the chart is not complete and is missing a few days of information, here and there.
Also, I have switched Rocky's shot times to 6:30am to 6:30pm. That currently seems to work well for both of us. We'll see what happens in a few months when we have day light savings time again. I'll probably need to change his shot time as this affects my feeding schedule for my feral colonies.
My goal is still to work at getting him into remission. There is a part of me that wonders if Rocky might need more hours between shots if he keeps going too low to give a shot by his 12 hour "do over" schedule. I do not want to feed him more than 2 cans of food a day just to be able to give him a shot 12 hours apart. I don't know if I keep reducing his insulin, if that is going to keep him in lower numbers. Instead, the solution might be to extend the time that he receives his second shot.
I'm going with the minor reductions right now, still staying on the 12/12 schedule, and seeing what happens. If it seems he can't hold lower numbers at a lower dose, and if cannot keep above 50 at a higher dose on the 12 hour cycle, then a longer shot cycle is probably necessary.