7/18 PMPS 530, +1 441, +5 93

Sam & Oscar

Member Since 2019
Oscar's been high all day, any ideas? I'm wondering if he snuck into the dog food (Which will now be kept more secured). If not, I haven't had any issues with fur shots since Saturday, so I know he got his dose this morning. He's down a little bit at +10.5 when I got home from work. Wondering if the dose is too low or I should give it a couple more days. The vet wanted to up it last Friday but I wanted some home tests first because he was visibly stressed at the vet. The blues I got the first couple of days had me really hopeful.
 
Hi Samantha,
It’s nice to see another Floridian :)
Yes Oscar needs an increase- you should shoot 2.25at PMPS
Question, was the “0” on 7/15 a No Shoot (NS)? If so, I was just wondering why o_O
 
Hmm... definitely interesting. I wonder if the blues and yellows are sending him into bounce cycles? Are you following dosing methods here or from your vet?

It’s possible that if Oscar has never been on insulin before that 2u may be too much for him (I don’t have enough experience to determine if this is true) sometimes a dose that is too high has the same symptoms as a dose that is too small. From what I’ve read a typical starting dose for a cat on a wet food diet is 0.5u Lantus. I’m unsure if a 2u dose would be high enough to kick off the High BG levels though.

Maybe you could try an increase of 0.25u and if his numbers don’t come down, then you could ask the question of whether it could be possible his dose is actually too high or too low.

I hope I didn’t cause confusion with that :P
 
Hi Samantha,
It’s nice to see another Floridian :)
Yes Oscar needs an increase- you should shoot 2.25at PMPS
Question, was the “0” on 7/15 a No Shoot (NS)? If so, I was just wondering why o_O
Whoops Krystina has more experience than me! Her feedback is very valuable :D
 
Question, was the “0” on 7/15 a No Shoot (NS)? If so, I was just wondering why o_O

That was Monday and I was too nervous with him staying in the blues overnight. I realize now I should have done it, but I couldn't (guarantee) be home and was worried he would drop too low :( I'm lucky to live only a mile from work so most days I can pop home for tests, but it's never guaranteed. Now that I'm getting more data on his SS I'm feeling more confident!
 
Whoops Krystina has more experience than me! Her feedback is very valuable :D

Your feedback is welcome too!! I had started him on the 2u per the vet, before I got into the forum and started learning more and more. She had wanted to increase him last week just based on his (obviously) stressed reads in her office but I wanted some home testing first and she agreed.
 
Your feedback is welcome too!! I had started him on the 2u per the vet, before I got into the forum and started learning more and more. She had wanted to increase him last week just based on his (obviously) stressed reads in her office but I wanted some home testing first and she agreed.
Sounds like a great vet! I’m glad she’s open minded and not pushy :)
 
That was Monday and I was too nervous with him staying in the blues overnight. I realize now I should have done it, but I couldn't (guarantee) be home and was worried he would drop too low :( I'm lucky to live only a mile from work so most days I can pop home for tests, but it's never guaranteed. Now that I'm getting more data on his SS I'm feeling more confident!
I completely understand your reason. Completely. No worries and no harm done :). I was curious as to why not a “OMG, WHY didn’t you shoot on 7/15!” ;)
Oscar is ver6 fortunate you are so close, when gone. This could prove to be a blessing in the future :bighug:
 
I completely understand your reason. Completely. No worries and no harm done :). I was curious as to why not a “OMG, WHY didn’t you shoot on 7/15!” ;)
Oscar is ver6 fortunate you are so close, when gone. This could prove to be a blessing in the future :bighug:

Hahah, no worries I didn't take it like that. I do feel very fortunate to work in a place that promotes holistic wellness and is flexible with all medical concerns (even pet related ones). It's certainly a first experience and hopefully I can help others in the future!

My Mona pup is very storm anxious (obviously not going well right now in FL) and didn't eat last night so it is possible Oscar got ahold of some kibble last night or this morning. He had been really going at it pre- DX. You still think I should give an increase tonight?
 
Hahah, no worries I didn't take it like that. I do feel very fortunate to work in a place that promotes holistic wellness and is flexible with all medical concerns (even pet related ones). It's certainly a first experience and hopefully I can help others in the future!

My Mona pup is very storm anxious (obviously not going well right now in FL) and didn't eat last night so it is possible Oscar got ahold of some kibble last night or this morning. He had been really going at it pre- DX. You still think I should give an increase tonight?
Yes, I do think you should give the increase. Oscar needs to come down a bit :cool:
 
The vomit sounds like a Furball to me :)

I can say that Oscar has never been one to keep up with his grooming (I have sandy cat photos to prove it), and as an indoor/outdoor dude, I never saw furballs before, doesn't mean they didn't happen. Now he's mostly inside or supervised out but I've noticed him grooming more since I've been poking him. I'll adjust to the new furball thing soon enough :D
 
I think increase is in order if he is eating. What is your feeding schedule?

I am not familiar with Theophylline so not sure if it might be a factor.
 
I think increase is in order if he is eating. What is your feeding schedule?

I am not familiar with Theophylline so not sure if it might be a factor.

He's not on Theophylline so I'm not familiar with it either :p does it say that somewhere I'm missing?

I'm doing my PS at 655, feed LC 1-3%, shoot at 715. I am not testing for ketones, not opposed to it, do I get a monitor that tests both? His ketone reading at DX 3wks ago was none. I'm also using a pet meter, AT2.

He is definitely eating, I've been feeding him over his kcal maintenance because hes underweight and the vet told me to "feed as much as he wants"...but after reading @Jill & Alex (GA) post regarding that I didn't want to overfeed, so just been giving a bit extra. I think he would literally eat everything I gave him. Which is why I think he may have gotten into the Mona pup kibble.
 
He's not on Theophylline so I'm not familiar with it either :p does it say that somewhere I'm missing?
:joyful::joyful: it is in @Krystina & Nelli signature. Sorry about that. Trying to look at all the info and I didn't scroll all the way back up.

You can test for ketones with a meter ($$) or with urine dip sticks (lot less $$, but you have to catch the pee).

I hope the higher numbers are due to the kibble! Naughty kitty :cat::D
 
I hope the higher numbers are due to the kibble! Naughty kitty :cat::D

More like brave kitty! That dog is protective over her food! When he was preDX and going for her food I would whisper scold him, "do you have a death wish?!" Now that's not such a good joke...

We have now secured the dog food situation and she will just have to take it or lea--lose it. She is super jealous of the wet food though, and has been overjoyed with the freeze dried meat treats.

I did up him to 2.25, and will see what happens tonight.
 
Back
Top