? 7/18 PHOEBES deciding on steroids to help her pain? amps 140 PMPS 239 +1.5 188

Status
Not open for further replies.
NoT sure what the 239 was abiut. May have been pain she was due her bupe. Poor baby. I'm guessing if bupe is not holding her we will have to think about steroids? Is there something better than bupe? She's taken gabapentin and bupe.
 
NoT sure what the 239 was abiut. May have been pain she was due her bupe. Poor baby. I'm guessing if bupe is not holding her we will have to think about steroids? Is there something better than bupe? She's taken gabapentin and bupe.
The vet said if worse comes to worse we can start some steroids. Any suggestions with her arthritis?
 
The vet said if worse comes to worse we can start some steroids. Any suggestions with her arthritis?

Would something like acupuncture be an option for you guys? Cats are so hard for pain relief! My civvie has major spine problems, and is on Gaba, Bupe and Pred (thankfully no FD!), but that's about all we can do aside from increasing his Pred again, which we don't want to do. We're thinking of acupuncture next as there's not much more we can add in, and his pain is not super well controlled.
 
I'm not sure her going in the car to a strange place would be such a good idea. She starts panting foaming at the mouth anytime in the car. She hates it. I know acupuncture has helped many. It is hard to get her pain under control. So sorry yours is difficult too. It's so hard to watch. But do you pts for that?? She's starting to poop outside the box now. I think it's pain full and I have the big shallow box with the side cut out. It's heart breaking to be getting some good numbers, then have her hurting on top of it. Pulling my hair out.
 
What bupe dose is she getting? If she's still on the lower end of the range of doses for her weight, you could always increase the dose. Neko was on 0.22 ml bid, but she was also 13-14 lbs. It might be worth a discussion with the vet. You don't pts unless you can't manage the pain.

As for acupuncture, a lot of vets that do acupuncture will travel to the house. Cold lasers are also an option as long as there is no cancer. Neko got a lot of relief from acupuncture - fortunately she was also good with travelling to the vets, though I had to go to a different vet for that.

Other options for arthritis are hyaluronic acid (Hyaflex is one brand) and Duralactin for inflammation. It's ECID what works for each cat, but Duralactin helped Neko.

For pooping out of the box, it is possible she is having bowel problems. With Phoebe's size of dose, it's very likely she has acromegaly, and often acros have megacolon or thickened bowels. Neko had thickened bowels. She would poop from inside the box, but against the edge and with not squatting as much it would often fall outside the box. I surrounded the box with pee pads. Neko was on budesonide for her thickened bowels, and it didn't impact her blood sugar.
 
I'm not sure her going in the car to a strange place would be such a good idea. She starts panting foaming at the mouth anytime in the car. She hates it. I know acupuncture has helped many. It is hard to get her pain under control. So sorry yours is difficult too. It's so hard to watch. But do you pts for that?? She's starting to poop outside the box now. I think it's pain full and I have the big shallow box with the side cut out. It's heart breaking to be getting some good numbers, then have her hurting on top of it. Pulling my hair out.

I understand completely! Our boy is an old man too - 16 years. He also poops outside the box sometimes, and has had to go on Laxatone as he has trouble squatting to poop. We made a low litterpan by cutting down one of those tubs for storage. It's tough because he's otherwise okay, and happy.

There are quite a few mobile holistic vets that might be able to come to your house though! That's what we're going to look into as it won't be great to bring Ben in often either.
 
I understand completely! Our boy is an old man too - 16 years. He also poops outside the box sometimes, and has had to go on Laxatone as he has trouble squatting to poop. We made a low litterpan by cutting down one of those tubs for storage. It's tough because he's otherwise okay, and happy.

There are quite a few mobile holistic vets that might be able to come to your house though! That's what we're going to look into as it won't be great to bring Ben in often either.
Will look into holistic traveling acupuncturist. Ty
 
Would something like acupuncture be an option for you guys? Cats are so hard for pain relief! My civvie has major spine problems, and is on Gaba, Bupe and Pred (thankfully no FD!), but that's about all we can do aside from increasing his Pred again, which we don't want to do. We're thinking of acupuncture next as there's not much more we can add in, and his pain is not super well controlled.
I don't know the name, have had a kitty use a red light kind if thing for pain. (Real scientific, huh?!)

It looks like and ultra sound wand, but emits red light. The humans wear goggles and so does the cat. It really helped my cat. Plus, he just looked cool in his goggles. One of my coworkers nicknamed him goggles when his showed off is photos!
 
Last edited:
I don't know the name, have had a kitty use a red light kind if thing for pain. (Real scientific, huh?!)

It looks like and ultra sound wand, but emits res light. The humsns wear goggles and so does the cat. It really helped my cat. Plus, he just looked cool in his goggles. One of my coworker nicknamed him goggles when is showed off his photos!
She got laser therapy for about 12 sessions. 400 dollars later, no noticeable difference in her back. Ty tho. I bet he did look pretty cool. Lol
 
She got laser therapy for about 12 sessions. 400 dollars later, no noticeable difference in her back. Ty tho. I bet he did look pretty cool. Lol
I am not familiar with what the condition with her spine is but I wonder if Adequan would help?

ETA-Geesh - just read your signature. Looks like you are already using it.
 
I am not familiar with what the condition with her spine is but I wonder if Adequan would help?

ETA-Geesh - just read your signature. Looks like you are already using it.
She has arthritis around her tail bone from an old injury jumping off the bed. Yes started the adequan about 2 months now. Not sure if it's helping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top