7/18 Philly AMPS 321, +4 320, PMPS 301, +7 278

I have made a decision. Phoenix and Philly do seem to act a lot alike. They both are high during the day and then drop at night. It was suggested to me to drop Phoenix back to 6 units from 6.5. I am going to do this.
But, this is what I am going to do. In the morning, I am going to give him 7 units. He has taken 7 units before and his day numbers were great.

At night, I am only going to give him 5 units. I think this should stop the low numbers. Correct me if I am wrong but 6+6=12. and 7+5=12. I am going to try it. I am a newbie so please don't follow my advice. But I am going to give it a shot and see how he does.

You are lucky you have a roommate to help you. I set my alarm to wake me up at 3a.m. I slept through my alarm and didn't wake up until 6 a.m. Thankfully, Phoenix was ok but this is why I need to get these numbers under control as well.
 
Philly's bouncing -- but I'm sure you know that.

I want to plant an idea. Think about what pre-shot numbers you'd be comfortable shooting. Ideally, you want to shoot progressively lower numbers. I realize that numbers on 7/10 may have you a bit gun shy. I'm hoping that someone mentioned that you shot a dropping number. You got a test at PM +11 (163) and the AMPS was 111. If you were going to shoot, I would have urged you to get tests earlier than your +2 so you could have intervened if necessary. On the other hand, on 7/16, you saw a flat series of numbers at AMPS until +2 when the numbers started to rise. In all likelihood, you could have safely given a shot at AMPS since you would be feeding Philly and onset was at +2. Since you're great at getting tests, you would have known if you needed to steer the numbers with food.
 
Philly's bouncing -- but I'm sure you know that.

I want to plant an idea. Think about what pre-shot numbers you'd be comfortable shooting. Ideally, you want to shoot progressively lower numbers. I realize that numbers on 7/10 may have you a bit gun shy. I'm hoping that someone mentioned that you shot a dropping number. You got a test at PM +11 (163) and the AMPS was 111. If you were going to shoot, I would have urged you to get tests earlier than your +2 so you could have intervened if necessary. On the other hand, on 7/16, you saw a flat series of numbers at AMPS until +2 when the numbers started to rise. In all likelihood, you could have safely given a shot at AMPS since you would be feeding Philly and onset was at +2. Since you're great at getting tests, you would have known if you needed to steer the numbers with food.
Hi. I think you talked me through a morning of falling numbers right after the 28 scare. I did TR with a diabetic cat here a couple years ago, so my inclination is to shoot at least anything 100 and over. I am still a bit shy at numbers under 100, but am not against it. The only reason I skipped 7/16 was that my vet had asked me to skip a shot when his numbers were falling to see when they turned around. I had done a curve the day before during the daytime cycle to try to capture the info she wanted, but he didn't fall as shot time approached so we shot PM to try to keep him in good numbers. Since he was dropping the next morning, we skipped to see what he would do. I hate skipping.
 
I have made a decision. Phoenix and Philly do seem to act a lot alike. They both are high during the day and then drop at night. It was suggested to me to drop Phoenix back to 6 units from 6.5. I am going to do this.
But, this is what I am going to do. In the morning, I am going to give him 7 units. He has taken 7 units before and his day numbers were great.

At night, I am only going to give him 5 units. I think this should stop the low numbers. Correct me if I am wrong but 6+6=12. and 7+5=12. I am going to try it. I am a newbie so please don't follow my advice. But I am going to give it a shot and see how he does.

You are lucky you have a roommate to help you. I set my alarm to wake me up at 3a.m. I slept through my alarm and didn't wake up until 6 a.m. Thankfully, Phoenix was ok but this is why I need to get these numbers under control as well.

You're right. I'm so lucky to have a roommate to help. She gets up early for work most days so I try not to ask her to get up in the night to help unless it's a weekend or we decide to do multiple tests. She's great.

About your decision, Philly is only on one unit, and I've found if I skip the shot it takes days to get him back on some kind of track. Even going from 1.25 to 1 unit messes with his depot. I think you might see numbers even more all over the place if you aren't consistent with the same amount both shot times.

Maybe try the lower number for awhile but do that amount morning and evening? I'm seeing better numbers with 1u shot consistently than I did at a higher dose.

Good luc . We can do this.
 
We have my niece's cat for a week or two. The boys have never met a girl and things aren't going well there but she latched on to 94 year old MIL pretty quick.
A year ago this would have induced a panic attack, now she says goodnight to each and every cat.
rosie002.JPG
bad kitty!
 

Attachments

  • rosie002.JPG
    rosie002.JPG
    41.8 KB · Views: 120
We have my niece's cat for a week or two. The boys have never met a girl and things aren't going well there but she latched on to 94 year old MIL pretty quick.
A year ago this would have induced a panic attack, now she says goodnight to each and every cat.
View attachment 54854 bad kitty!
I was following your latest houseguests' story in OT. You really do have the biggest heart. This is a heartwarming photo.

I love your MIL's name! Any Trixie has to be a good soul.
 
She got that name packing parachutes for Lancaster bomber crews. There were two Margarets so she ended up with Trixie. There are very few people allowed to call her that name but I put her mask on for her and drive her around so I'm allowed.
"If the chute doesn't open just bring it back to me straightaway young man". 1940's humor! :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top