Hi. I think you talked me through a morning of falling numbers right after the 28 scare. I did TR with a diabetic cat here a couple years ago, so my inclination is to shoot at least anything 100 and over. I am still a bit shy at numbers under 100, but am not against it. The only reason I skipped 7/16 was that my vet had asked me to skip a shot when his numbers were falling to see when they turned around. I had done a curve the day before during the daytime cycle to try to capture the info she wanted, but he didn't fall as shot time approached so we shot PM to try to keep him in good numbers. Since he was dropping the next morning, we skipped to see what he would do. I hate skipping.Philly's bouncing -- but I'm sure you know that.
I want to plant an idea. Think about what pre-shot numbers you'd be comfortable shooting. Ideally, you want to shoot progressively lower numbers. I realize that numbers on 7/10 may have you a bit gun shy. I'm hoping that someone mentioned that you shot a dropping number. You got a test at PM +11 (163) and the AMPS was 111. If you were going to shoot, I would have urged you to get tests earlier than your +2 so you could have intervened if necessary. On the other hand, on 7/16, you saw a flat series of numbers at AMPS until +2 when the numbers started to rise. In all likelihood, you could have safely given a shot at AMPS since you would be feeding Philly and onset was at +2. Since you're great at getting tests, you would have known if you needed to steer the numbers with food.
I have made a decision. Phoenix and Philly do seem to act a lot alike. They both are high during the day and then drop at night. It was suggested to me to drop Phoenix back to 6 units from 6.5. I am going to do this.
But, this is what I am going to do. In the morning, I am going to give him 7 units. He has taken 7 units before and his day numbers were great.
At night, I am only going to give him 5 units. I think this should stop the low numbers. Correct me if I am wrong but 6+6=12. and 7+5=12. I am going to try it. I am a newbie so please don't follow my advice. But I am going to give it a shot and see how he does.
You are lucky you have a roommate to help you. I set my alarm to wake me up at 3a.m. I slept through my alarm and didn't wake up until 6 a.m. Thankfully, Phoenix was ok but this is why I need to get these numbers under control as well.
I was following your latest houseguests' story in OT. You really do have the biggest heart. This is a heartwarming photo.We have my niece's cat for a week or two. The boys have never met a girl and things aren't going well there but she latched on to 94 year old MIL pretty quick.
A year ago this would have induced a panic attack, now she says goodnight to each and every cat.
View attachment 54854 bad kitty!