? 7/18 Luna - Increase & Decrease - AMPS 338, +3 102, +5 41, +5.5 75, +6 62, +6.5 76, +8 70, PMPS 153

For_Luna

Member Since 2019
Yesterday
Despite all of my threats of an increase, Luna held her ground and wouldn't drop back down. We're back up to 1.25u today. If the last 3 attempts at this dose are any indication, we should be seeing 50s by tomorrow or Saturday.

Unless someone with more experience has another idea, I think we're going to hold at this dose until we get 3 days under 50 or a week of good numbers. Luna keeps rejecting the dose decreases.
 
Yesterday
Despite all of my threats of an increase, Luna held her ground and wouldn't drop back down. We're back up to 1.25u today. If the last 3 attempts at this dose are any indication, we should be seeing 50s by tomorrow or Saturday.

Unless someone with more experience has another idea, I think we're going to hold at this dose until we get 3 days under 50 or a week of good numbers. Luna keeps rejecting the dose decreases.

@J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

I tagged because I believe she had a similar issue & did a 1.13 dose vs the 1.25 & that worked well for her.
 
Thanks. How do you even do 1.13? We use a magnifying glass lamp to get the .25 and I feel like that's not super accurate

I've been using a craft lamp which is the magnifying lamp with lights! I agree. I think most use calipers to get that dose, but I'm not sure if she did or not. Hopefully she will let us know.

I know for .1 I've seen thread talk about a slight rotation of the plunger to get the one drop. So, how many drops from .25 to .13?

The one issue I have is I can look at the syringe with the lines in front of me & it looks like the plunger is where it needs to be for the dose, but then if rotate the syringe so I'm eyeballing it from the side, its often not where it needs to be.
 
@J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

I tagged because I believe she had a similar issue & did a 1.13 dose vs the 1.25 & that worked well for her.
Hi, I think I may not be the person you are thinking of -- P.S. was on a dose of 2U and for 1 shot I gave 1.9 after stalling because her AMPS was low, but we went right back up to 2U for the next shot.
I use calipers and a magnifying glass that has a little circle of 11x in the center and it lights up. I was told to ignore markings on syringes because they are not consistent. Wish you & adorable Luna the best!
 
Hi, I think I may not be the person you are thinking of -- P.S. was on a dose of 2U and for 1 shot I gave 1.9 after stalling because her AMPS was low, but we went right back up to 2U for the next shot.
I use calipers and a magnifying glass that has a little circle of 11x in the center and it lights up. I was told to ignore markings on syringes because they are not consistent. Wish you & adorable Luna the best!
OOOPS :p! Should have double checked! Sorry!

Dan it was actually AmandaE & Mowgali!! I just checked her SS to be sure!

@AmandaE
 
Digital calipers will set you right up for a teeny-tiny increase. You just do the math once, set the calipers and lock them into place -- that's it. We just kept the calipers (locked and set) near the syringes and then held them up to the light to make sure we were good to go.

The calipers did move on me one day when I stored them upside-down in Perry's basket of supplies that I keep on the counter, and I noticed that the calipers were just below my usual line on the syringe. But stored flat, they stayed put when locked.
 
Digital calipers will set you right up for a teeny-tiny increase. You just do the math once, set the calipers and lock them into place -- that's it. We just kept the calipers (locked and set) near the syringes and then held them up to the light to make sure we were good to go.

The calipers did move on me one day when I stored them upside-down in Perry's basket of supplies that I keep on the counter, and I noticed that the calipers were just below my usual line on the syringe. But stored flat, they stayed put when locked.

So you set yours set for the .13 or .25?
 
So you set yours set for the .13 or .25?
We were using them for .25 increases, but Perry is at a whole unit now, so we are using the pen as the injector again at the moment. But with digital calipers, you just dial in your number and set them.
 
Dan,

I eyeballed the 1.13u which like JJ implied is not fully accurate because of syringe line inconsistencies, but as I don't have calipers yet it was the best I could do, 1u was just not enough for Mowgli. A few of us around here are just about to take a leap and try calipers so if you're interested it might be a good time to learn!

What I did was basically push the plunger so that it was resting just below the 1u line. I think that you're completely right that 1.25 is too much and 1 is not enough... why not try giving a "fat" 1u by resting the plunger at the bottom of the 1u marker on the syringe (I drew you an explanation pic below - obviously not to scale ;)). It's less than 1.25 but slightly more than 1u so it may be just the amount you need.

I got many more green numbers with this dose, I'm back to 1u now so if we have more success with that dose, I feel like I can thank the intermediate 1.13u.

Make sense?


upload_2019-7-18_8-28-55.png
 
THANK YOU AMANDA:). I like what she is doing.

I looked into the calipers after seeing them, but after doing some reading about calipers & physics & seeing that group of professionals debate over accuracy of calipers, including digital vs dial, companies who make them, yada, yada, yada, I decided not to entertain it further. Everyone has different preferences & what works for them, so I think do what works for you :cool:
 
Dan,

I eyeballed the 1.13u which like JJ implied is not fully accurate because of syringe line inconsistencies, but as I don't have calipers yet it was the best I could do, 1u was just not enough for Mowgli. A few of us around here are just about to take a leap and try calipers so if you're interested it might be a good time to learn!

What I did was basically push the plunger so that it was resting just below the 1u line. I think that you're completely right that 1.25 is too much and 1 is not enough... why not try giving a "fat" 1u by resting the plunger at the bottom of the 1u marker on the syringe (I drew you an explanation pic below - obviously not to scale ;)). It's less than 1.25 but slightly more than 1u so it may be just the amount you need.

I got many more green numbers with this dose, I'm back to 1u now so if we have more success with that dose, I feel like I can thank the intermediate 1.13u.

Make sense?


View attachment 46475
Thanks for the pic, that helps a bunch. We might try that. Going to see how today goes. About to get a +3
 
And we're done with 1.25....
Just fed HC with a drop of Karo. Going to test again at 2:30
This is a very similar to how Mowgli dropped last night, it looks like Luna has a fairly consistent nadir at +5 / +6 so hopefully the combination of the HC / Karo combined with Luna's natural cycle will bring her up at +5.5 :)
 
+5.5 75
We're up a little bit but the fun isn't over yet. I'll test again at +6. Luna is already mad at me
Good idea! You definitely want 2 hrs of increasing BG levels before you declare that you're in the safe zone! Nice catch and quick thinking Dan :)

I think you could change the 911 to a ? now so that ppl still have their eyes on you, but know it isn't as pressing as it was earlier :)
 
Does anyone notice darker blood at lower numbers? The test at 41 came out almost black looking (turned red when it spread out on the strip).
 
While Luna has everyone's attention; what do we do for tonight's dose? 1u or try the 1.13u mentioned above? After today's events, I would feel better with 1u, but Luna has rejected a reduction to 1u twice already.
 
I'm a newbie, but from what I've been told, 75 and 62 are so close that there is probably no real difference. Sometimes you retest right away and get 2 different numbers. That said, I'd still keep testing.
 
I'm a newbie, but from what I've been told, 75 and 62 are so close that there is probably no real difference. Sometimes you retest right away and get 2 different numbers. That said, I'd still keep testing.
Yeah, I'm still testing. The last couple of times she's gone this low, she didn't come back up until around +8 or +9
 
I hope someone with more experience will chime in, but if you feel better about 1 unit, I'd do it and give it a few cycles and if you need to increase again, go to 1.13 instead of 1.25.
 
Does anyone notice darker blood at lower numbers? The test at 41 came out almost black looking (turned red when it spread out on the strip).
I haven't noticed that! totally peculiar!
I hope someone with more experience will chime in, but if you feel better about 1 unit, I'd do it and give it a few cycles and if you need to increase again, go to 1.13 instead of 1.25.
I think that is most appropriate too, Luna definitely earned her reduction so I think it's better to try the ~1.13u for an increase, I think it would be safer :)
 
Back
Top