7/18 Charms AMPS 412, +2 465, + 4 427, +6 404, +8 445

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
I have the directions on how to link yesterdays condo but it is way too hot here to try anything new so here they are:
AMPS 409
+2 438
+4 353
+6 321
+8 345
PMPS 299
+4 389

This was at 6u. Today the numbers are not as good. It is extremely hot here. As far as I know Charms has not gotten into any food. So not sure why they did not continue to go down. Very disappointing.

Should I continue to raise the dose by .5 in the morning?

Also the Young Again Zero Carb food came for my other cats , can Charms eat this too? It is lower carbs than the cans I am feeding him. If he can eat this food how much should he have, the directions recommend free feeding, and when I called the company they said diabetic cats can free feed also. Is this true?

One last question - I tested both Charms ears this morning and got different BG numbers , 40 difference, does anyone know why this would happen?
- Sam
 
First, here the post to Charms 7/17 condo and first yellow PS. We link back to previous condo's, not just because of the numbers, but to help us remember any discussion we had and your description of how Charms is doing. Sorry it's so hot there, a lot of the country seems to be baking today.

Does Charms still have access to dry food at all? Or do you think he is sneaking some? Just trying to find a reason why he doesn't seem to be coming down from those reds. Has the vet ever taken a look at Charms' teeth to see how they are doing? Often a dental infection can impact the numbers too.

Regarding the YA food, what percent carbs are the Friskies pates you are now serving Charms? If he is sneaking some dry from the other cats, the YA is a much better choice to steal. Some cats here are grazers, so they do free feed. My Neko is a hoover, so I can't leave food out for her, only what she needs to keep her in good weight, otherwise she's balloon is size. Cats that are in high numbers like Charms is now, are not properly processing their food, so they do need a little extra food. Are you weighing him periodically to see how is weight is doing? I try to do every month now, but was weighing every couple of weeks when Neko was first on insulin so I could get the food balance right.

Regarding the different numbers in the different ears - the meters are allowed to be out as much as 20%. At the 400's that's an 80 point difference so the tests you took were well within allowed error. I've seen some people here swear that one ear always testing lower than the other. :lol:
 
Hi - I have had some really great advice from everyone here and I am pretty sure my house is Charms- proof at this time! He was sneaking the other cats dry food, and then some dog bones , but for the last few days nothing but pate. The pates are in the 9 - 11% range. His teeth have been checked by the vet. Charms is a big boy and when he was first diagnosed in April he had lost some weight , but even with these high numbers he has managed to gain a little back, and remains steady for the past month. I got a scale so I could weigh him at home. I had no idea the BG meter could have that much error! And I am laughing about the ear thing. Charms reads higher on his left ear! I got the Young Again food for my other cats because guarding the other cat food all of the time was getting too stressful. I gave Charms some of the new food tonight and he really liked it. Thinking of switching Charms too, but not sure, I have not gotten much feedback from anyone .

Raise the dose in the morning?
 
How much does Charms weigh now?

Good for you on Charms-proofing the house! :lol: My other cat was originally on higher carb prescription food for his FLUTD, but I had to switch them both to the the same food, it was just too much work keeping them separated at meal time, especially as the civie is a slower eater. Have you tried any foods in the 4-6% carb range for Charms? It will make a bit of difference but not a huge difference. I think you have to keep increasing his dose at this pace until you see a lot more yellows, at which point you can go a couple more cycles between increases - unless you get blues/greens, when you can go even slower.

I guess the right ear is now your preferred one for testing? ;-)
 
Charms weighs 13 lbs. Probably a good weight for him, although, I am used to seeing him a little heavier. I love chunky kitties! Too many Charm treats!
And yes the right ear is the preferred ear!
Started him on the Young Again for his dinner and I got a purple (pink?) was excited but I am going to post a new condo and the numbers are bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top