7/18 Boomer AMPS 236 +3 263 +6 241 PMPS 286 +3 225 +9 223 , photo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 236 shooting .5u
Not liking these yellows at all!

Boomer ate all of his overnight fuds and Allen ate very well also.

The photo session last night was a success. It was funny....based on a few facebook conversations between my customer (the mom) and I, I thought she was going to be very picky and basically a pain in the butt. And I had understood that she was only interested in posed family photos (husband, 2 kids ages 3 and 18 months) and nothing lifestyle with the kids playing etc. Well I was wrong on all counts....there are times I'm really glad I was wrong! Anyways, at the start of the session she says to me "what is that, I've never seen that animal before". It was a groundhog. So of course I had to get a photo :rolleyes:. Now.....this shot isn't terrific lol....all I had was the lens I use for portraits, my big-ass lens was in the car, so the image is severely cropped. After I finished the session, I got my big-ass lens and stalked the area where the groundhog was hanging around but he wouldn't come out to play.
 

Attachments

  • Groundhog Day.jpg
    Groundhog Day.jpg
    314.2 KB · Views: 119
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 236 shooting .5u
Not liking these yellows at all!

Boomer ate all of his overnight fuds and Allen ate very well also.

The photo session last night was a success. It was funny....based on a few facebook conversations between my customer (the mom) and I, I thought she was going to be very picky and basically a pain in the butt. And I had understood that she was only interested in posed family photos (husband, 2 kids ages 3 and 18 months) and nothing lifestyle with the kids playing etc. Well I was wrong on all counts....there are times I'm really glad I was wrong! Anyways, at the start of the session she says to me "what is that, I've never seen that animal before". It was a groundhog. So of course I had to get a photo :rolleyes:. Now.....this shot isn't terrific lol....all I had was the lens I use for portraits, my big-ass lens was in the car, so the image is severely cropped. After I finished the session, I got my big-ass lens and stalked the area where the groundhog was hanging around but he wouldn't come out to play.
Very cute! I hate it when people look at these little guys as "junk" animals, like squirrels, racoons, gulls, etc.
 
We have a resident groundhog that lives in our backyard. She has babies every year and they are always so cute ... that is until they discovered our garden. They apparently love pumpkins. I gave up after 2 years in a row. We tried everything, to keep the groundhogs (and many other critters) out of the garden, but never got a pumpkin. We were successful keeping deer and bunnies out with the fence, but the groundhogs found a way.
 
I love how your "not great" photos are still fantastic! We have a groundhog in our yard on occasion...cracks me up when he runs 'cause he jiggles up a storm!

Work that juice, Boomer...enough of this NDW nonsense!!
 
+3 263
Oh I want to cry. What is happening here?
I so know how you feel. Food maybe? Have you started any new foods or any new batches of food? I have gone to straight Fowl ball over the past week and am extremely pleased with the results. If the food companies know what havoc they cause with their "change the formula" antics they might reconsider (not). It is not so much that they change the formula but - for Christ's sake, please tell us!!

:bighug:
 
I so know how you feel. Food maybe? Have you started any new foods or any new batches of food? I have gone to straight Fowl ball over the past week and am extremely pleased with the results. If the food companies know what havoc they cause with their "change the formula" antics they might reconsider (not). It is not so much that they change the formula but - for Christ's sake, please tell us!!

:bighug:
No, nothing has changed.
With the +3 last night I thought he was starting to work this dose. I expected a high AMPS; I certainly didn't expect a higher AM+3. I just don't know.
 
+6 241
Is there such a thing as flat yellows before the greens? :smuggrin:o_O:arghh::banghead::blackeye:
Crying now. :(
Actually, going out for a drive or walk. Might as well; not afraid of a hypo today.
 
I'm going out on a limb here and for Boomer only. To me he looked better on regular .25u and was seeing green on that dose pretty consistently. See what he does but part of me thinks too much insulin is causing the yellows. Not all kitties "crash" from too much insulin. His +9 meals have changed recently too? Glad you're going out for a walk/drive. Maybe the flat yellows will result in a very green cycle tonight.
 
Big hugs Judy! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I think you will see a green cycle either tonight or tomorrow. It seems to work that way at least for Shoes. A high that upsets me, then lower numbers within 2 cycles.
 
I'm going out on a limb here and for Boomer only. To me he looked better on regular .25u and was seeing green on that dose pretty consistently. See what he does but part of me thinks too much insulin is causing the yellows. Not all kitties "crash" from too much insulin. His +9 meals have changed recently too? Glad you're going out for a walk/drive. Maybe the flat yellows will result in a very green cycle tonight.
I tried changing his +9 meal one day but it certainly didn't do any good that day and I haven't continued trying. Is it like you suggest and the numbers are going up because the insulin amount is going up? Or are the numbers going up because he's just not getting enough insulin? IDK. He was doing better before the dental but then he was getting 1.25u and he was on an antibiotic. He does have two teeth that Dr Larry thinks might have resorptive lesions and he's waiting to hear back from an expert who is hopefully reviewing the X-rays.
There are just too many things that could be possibly causing this :confused:
 
Did you recently stop his ABs again? Just thinking that that might have something to do with the higher numbers.

Whatever it is, Boomer, you better stop worrying your bean and come back down into the lagoon where you belong.
 
Did you recently stop his ABs again? Just thinking that that might have something to do with the higher numbers.

Whatever it is, Boomer, you better stop worrying your bean and come back down into the lagoon where you belong.
I had a couple of days of antibiotics left over from pre-dental. And Dr Larry gave me about 2.5 days worth post-dental so he had I believe 5 days worth of antibiotics after the dental. The blue numbers started before finishing the antibiotic.
There's too many things going on here: less insulin than before but increasing doses, ending the antibiotics, possible resorptive lesions,
Three things that are consistent: he's eating (chicken pate, turkey pate, fowl ball, ff turkey & giblets), he's pooping usually once a day and he's peeing normal. Ok four things....he's acting normal
 
Oh I want to cry. What is happening here?
Deep breath. :bighug: It's only a couple of days. Many things could be at play. Eliminate one at a time. It could be New Dose Wonkiness, amongst other things. I would try getting a spot check, maybe +5 at night, as the back half of the PM part of the spreadsheet is pretty sparse. You are also missing data in the Remarks section, so we don't know if any meds have been started/stopped since his dental. Sounds like the vial is getting of for 6 months old. Does it look fine?
(We have a chipmunk who is eating all the raspberries before they ripen enough for human consumption.)
Squirrels are stealing mine too, though thankfully there is enough to share. What is really annoying me (to DH's amusement) is them stealing unripe pears off the tree, taking one bite, and dropping it. :mad:
 
Hoping Boomer comes down tonight or tomorrow. Wondering if he needs the antibiotics again. If we try more antibiotics, I don't want to increase his dose because then, if his numbers come down, we won't know whether it's the antibiotics or the increased dose.
 
Deep breath. :bighug: It's only a couple of days. Many things could be at play. Eliminate one at a time. It could be New Dose Wonkiness, amongst other things. I would try getting a spot check, maybe +5 at night, as the back half of the PM part of the spreadsheet is pretty sparse. You are also missing data in the Remarks section, so we don't know if any meds have been started/stopped since his dental. Sounds like the vial is getting of for 6 months old. Does it look fine?

Squirrels are stealing mine too, though thankfully there is enough to share. What is really annoying me (to DH's amusement) is them stealing unripe pears off the tree, taking one bite, and dropping it. :mad:
Squirrels steal the peanuts that I put out for the bluejays and cardinals. Used to annoy the crap out of me lol. Now I've given up the fight.

Insulin is clear, has never been left out of the fridge. I had a couple of days of antibiotics left when he had his dental so I continued them after the dental and Dr Larry also gave him another 2.5 days worth. I believe the antibiotics were stopped around July 12th or 13th. Yeah, I don't do any testing, usually, after +3 (once I get up I can't go back to sleep) although I did recently warn Boomer that if he got me up at night to fix his food he was going to be tested. Of course he has let me sleep since then :rolleyes:.

I am hoping for the NDW and, if it is NDW, it should end soon. I thought it had ended last night when his +3 was 50 points lower than PMPS. Then this morning happened :facepalm:
 
PMPS 286 shooting .5u
So.....
The yellow happened yesterday morning which caused me to increase his dose. So I'm not sure the yellows are from bouncing.
The blues started happening before we stopped the antibiotics however he also hadn't had insulin for 5 cycles.
The antibiotics were finished about 6-7 days ago.

I don't know what to do.
 
I haven't checked in on you guys lately. I ss for that. Boomer what are you doing here? I hope things turn around for you.

I read something some time back and I wish I could remember where I saw it. But it was on the use of ABs. What stuck out was that if cat was diabetic the course of AB should be longer than normal. I asked my vet his thoughts on it in case Smokey ever needed ABs. My vet totally agreed with it. He told me if Smokey needs them he would be on a minimum 21 day course. I personally do not know if it's good thing or not. Just putting it out there.
 
I haven't checked in on you guys lately. I ss for that. Boomer what are you doing here? I hope things turn around for you.

I read something some time back and I wish I could remember where I saw it. But it was on the use of ABs. What stuck out was that if cat was diabetic the course of AB should be longer than normal. I asked my vet his thoughts on it in case Smokey ever needed ABs. My vet totally agreed with it. He told me if Smokey needs them he would be on a minimum 21 day course. I personally do not know if it's good thing or not. Just putting it out there.
Hi Paula, that is interesting and makes sense since diabetes has a harder time with infection..........
 
I haven't checked in on you guys lately. I ss for that. Boomer what are you doing here? I hope things turn around for you.

I read something some time back and I wish I could remember where I saw it. But it was on the use of ABs. What stuck out was that if cat was diabetic the course of AB should be longer than normal. I asked my vet his thoughts on it in case Smokey ever needed ABs. My vet totally agreed with it. He told me if Smokey needs them he would be on a minimum 21 day course. I personally do not know if it's good thing or not. Just putting it out there.
Boomer's been on and off antibiotics since June 8 but never for more than 10 days at a time. I'm going to google. Thanks Paula.
 
New vial started in February.

Just my 2 cents, but I think you might want to replace the insulin and see if it makes a difference....it doesn't always last as long as we hope it will and if you opened it in February, it's 5 months old

I just broke out a new pen for China....her old one was only about 2 months old...and it seems to have made a difference

As for your "not terrific" photo, I think it's amazing!!!!!
 
So I told Boomer last night...if you wake me up to help you eat you're getting a pokie. He woke me at 5:00; there was a dime-sized amount of food left in his dish:rolleyes: so I "stirred" it for him :rolleyes: and then tested. +9 223.
 
but I think you might want to replace the insulin and see if it makes a difference.
I wish there were a way of testing the insulin for potency. Even though it's much cheaper here than in the US, I still hate to throw out half a bottle. But it's something we may have to consider trying.
 
I still hate to throw out half a bottle

Why don't you check into getting cartridges or pens? At least you can usually use every drop of them since each pen is good for usually 2 years from the time of purchase and only holds 300 units

You're a lot less likely to have to throw any away!! I know how you feel....before we switched to pens, I had to face that "tossing good money in the trash" a few times too
 
I wish there were a way of testing the insulin for potency. Even though it's much cheaper here than in the US, I still hate to throw out half a bottle. But it's something we may have to consider trying.
Judy, you know you can buy Lantus over the counter in Ontario pharmacies, right? They sell whole 10 mL vials or the 5 pack of 3 mL cartridges.
 
I loved the pens. The idea that I had a fridge full of insulin at all times was comforting, especially after one vial fell and cracked. Also, if there was ever any doubt, I could try a new pen. If the problem wasn't the old pen, I didn't waste anything - I knew that both pens would stay good for months.
 
Why don't you check into getting cartridges or pens? At least you can usually use every drop of them since each pen is good for usually 2 years from the time of purchase and only holds 300 units

You're a lot less likely to have to throw any away!! I know how you feel....before we switched to pens, I had to face that "tossing good money in the trash" a few times too
I did look into pens last year; for some reason, and my memory is failing me again, I opted to not go that route.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top