7/18, Binie, AMPS 332, +3 196

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-fasting-for-blood-work.292245/#post-3194094

Good evening,

we have been at the vet today for bloodwork. It war quite hard to get blood from Binie and they had to poke her two times in different legs. Maybe it was not enough blood to do a complete panel. We tried to decide what is most important and I'll see what the lab can do with it.

Her skin on the breast, where she had surgery, is not looking great. When she was lying on the back I could see that she has many small wounds from licking. It seems to be superficial but the vet suggested to think about giving steroids, if it doesn't get better. Wearing a cone doesn't make too much sense, as the allergical reaction of the threads can go on for many more weeks. The vet thought that the collodial silver is a good idea and we should give it a try, before making a decision.

After a pink and yellow night Binie saw some blue numbers again but quite high. Tomorrow morning I will activate the new sensor the vet applyed today and if everything is working, I will increase to 1.5 IU in the evening.

I was a bit nervous, that going to the vet so late in the cycle may make it difficult to inject her but she really was patient tonight.

Hope everyone is having a calm and relaxed evening! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-fasting-for-blood-work.292245/#post-3194094

Good evening,

we have been at the vet today for bloodwork. It war quite hard to get blood from Binie and they had to poke her two times in different legs. Maybe it was not enough blood to do a complete panel. We tried to decide what is most important and I'll see what the lab can do with it.

Her skin on the breast, where she had surgery, is not looking great. When she was lying on the back I could see that she has many small wounds from licking. It seems to be superficial but the vet suggested to think about giving steroids, if it doesn't get better. Wearing a cone doesn't make too much sense, as the allergical reaction of the threads can go on for many more weeks. The vet thought that the collodial silver is a good idea and we should give it a try, before making a decision.

After a pink and yellow night Binie saw some blue numbers again but quite high. Tomorrow morning I will activate the new sensor the vet applyed today and if everything is working, I will increase to 1.5 IU in the evening.

I was a bit nervous, that going to the vet so late in the cycle may make it difficult to inject her but she really was patient tonight.

Hope everyone is having a calm and relaxed evening! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’ve been thinking of you both today hoping it was going well, Heike.
I’m sorry it was so difficult to get blood today from Binie. I understand the difficulty we have the same problem with Ivy.

I hope the colloidal silver will help heal her wounds. Sorry to hear that’s not healing faster.
Good luck activating the sensor tomorrow. I hope everything goes smoothly. And also good luck if you decide to raise the dose. Keep us posted and I’m sending positive vibes to you and Binie.
I hope you both have a restful night. I’m sure you both need it after the stressful vet visit.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’ve been thinking of you both today hoping it was going well, Heike.
I’m sorry it was so difficult to get blood today from Binie. I understand the difficulty we have the same problem with Ivy.

I hope the colloidal silver will help heal her wounds. Sorry to hear that’s not healing faster.
Good luck activating the sensor tomorrow. I hope everything goes smoothly. And also good luck if you decide to raise the dose. Keep us posted and I’m sending positive vibes to you and Binie.
I hope you both have a restful night. I’m sure you both need it after the stressful vet visit.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you for your kind words Staci! Somehow it was really frustrating today. I really hope Binie doesn't need the steroids, as this will really throw us back with her diabetes. And I am not happy to go up with the insulin again but it looks like she really needs it. I saw that you did a lot of interesting research about bloodwork and fasting. Binies blood also tends to be lipemic and it is interesting, that this means you have to interpret the bloodwork differently. Thank you for sharing this valuable information! So many things to consider and you are figuring everything out for Ivy so carefully. Hope you have a peaceful night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you for your kind words Staci! Somehow it was really frustrating today. I really hope Binie doesn't need the steroids, as this will really throw us back with her diabetes. And I am not happy to go up with the insulin again but it looks like she really needs it. I saw that you did a lot of interesting research about bloodwork and fasting. Binies blood also tends to be lipemic and it is interesting, that this means you have to interpret the bloodwork differently. Thank you for sharing this valuable information! So many things to consider and you are figuring everything out for Ivy so carefully. Hope you have a peaceful night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oddly the vets don’t seem so concerned about the lipemic blood. Which seems strange to me.
I just thought that it would be better if we had more accurate results so we could get a better picture of what’s actually going on and that’s why I thought it could be better if I tried to alter when I have her blood drawn instead of right after her meal, maybe several hours later in the day. Not sure how this will work out as I’ve never gone later in the day, I always go first thing in the morning, but she’s so complicated because I have to sedate her giving the shot and all that stuff as you know. It seems we are both trying to manage very complicated cases of not just diabetes, but other conditions as well.
I hope Binie won’t need the steroids either and try not to stress too much about the insulin dose going up a little bit. She’s still on a relatively small dose of insulin.

I hope you can try to have a relaxing night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So sorry that her wound is not healing well. Hopefully the colloidal silver will help it! Sending you healing thoughts.
Good luck also with the new libre. Sometimes they do act up at first, as tigers did last night. They are so expensive it looks like the quality would be better.
Keep us posted on how you both are doing. I hope your night is less stressful !
 
Oddly the vets don’t seem so concerned about the lipemic blood. Which seems strange to me.
I just thought that it would be better if we had more accurate results so we could get a better picture of what’s actually going on and that’s why I thought it could be better if I tried to alter when I have her blood drawn instead of right after her meal, maybe several hours later in the day. Not sure how this will work out as I’ve never gone later in the day, I always go first thing in the morning, but she’s so complicated because I have to sedate her giving the shot and all that stuff as you know. It seems we are both trying to manage very complicated cases of not just diabetes, but other conditions as well.
I hope Binie won’t need the steroids either and try not to stress too much about the insulin dose going up a little bit. She’s still on a relatively small dose of insulin.

I hope you can try to have a relaxing night :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci, seems like my vet is also relaxed with that. She never told me to fast Binie before the blood draw. Seems like there are no perfect solutions.That Ivy needs sedation makes it even more complicated of course. Maybe it is o.k. that there is no long fast if that is taken into account interpreting the labwork. Like that you could stick to your early appointment. To be honest I didn't think about all this when I made the appointment. I just took what they had. The question just came the day before in my mind. They always keep us busy thinking, isn't it? Hope you had a nice day, curious to read your daily post later! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So sorry that her wound is not healing well. Hopefully the colloidal silver will help it! Sending you healing thoughts.
Good luck also with the new libre. Sometimes they do act up at first, as tigers did last night. They are so expensive it looks like the quality would be better.
Keep us posted on how you both are doing. I hope your night is less stressful !

Hi Deb, thanks so much for the healing thoughts! I also hope she gets better soon. It seems to bother her quite a lot. Thank you also for wishing me luck with the libre. They can be nerve wrecking, isn't it? Are they working? Or not? Falling off? What - sensor error again??? And yes, for the price they should work better. On the other hand I am so happy they exist, can't imagine poking Binie several times a day. And yes, on the first day they can be somehow erratic. We also had unexpected ups and downs today. Hope you are well and tigers bg became a bit more steady. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top