7/17 Skooter PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81 +4.5 97 +5.5 115 +11 246

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121876


Happy Thursday LL!

It is a bit of a "Meh" day for us....not quiet sure why I am feeling off, but let's hope it gets better...Skooter was a bit of a cuddle bug and was once again very good about getting poked. While I am feeling greedy for blue, I will take a mid yellow over a pink in hopes that Skooter sails into the blues today....

Today is the day we find out the specific kind of leukemia my dad has and what treatment options will be. Which is another reason I am a bit glad that Skooter tested a little bit higher as I was considering not shooting this morning if he went somewhat low as I am not sure if I would be able to swing home during the day, depending on the news we got. So I shall be at work, just waiting for my phone to go off and give me information, I guess as it is my brother's "turn" to go with the parents for the appointment. My sisters and I did a rotation over the past two years when my mom had a triple a procedure two years ago and then almost a year to the date a double bypass.

My dearest Skooter....please slide safely today as momma is not sure if she is gonna be able to come home during the day.....

Sending good day vines to one and all!!!
~Molly
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249

That's a good starting point, Skooter. Be sure to eat yer fuds while your bean is working to get more. Many vines for your family today. (((Molly)))
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249

Hi Molly,

It was nice to see Skooter hit some blue. Also, mid-yellow is a nice starting point.

Sending prayers for your dad to help him recover and respond well to treatment.

That's great how you help your parents out.
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249

At first blue and then green are scary. Then they are addictive.

Hope Skooter stays flat while you are gone and then shows you some blue later!

Prayers for your dad. ((((Molly))))
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207

Unfortunately, I was not able to come home today during lunch, which really sucks because with a AMPS of 249 and a PMPS of 207 I am almost positive he was surfin' some blue today.

Also, either the frozen fuds are already losing their charm or I once again put too much water in it, as he didn't eat a bit of it until dinner tonight when I took all the extra water out. I will try again tonight and use less water and see what happens tomorrow. Either that or he just wants to eat when I am home, which may end up being problematic I was so excited to see him at the door when I got home tonight, until he walked right passed me and went for his litter box :roll:

Good news on the dad front, he is considered Stage 0: there are too many lymphocytes in the blood, but there are no other signs or symptoms of leukemia. Stage 0 chronic lymphocytic leukemia is indolent (slow-growing).

However, I think the stress of Skooter's illness, dad's diagnosis, training a new person this week and not sleeping well has finally taken its toll on this mommabean....I am curling up on the couch and setting the alarm to go off a couple of times tonight to get tests. Because I am feeling like utter and complete crap tonight, I am sure that Skooter will think tonight is a FINE time to have a super active cycle. At least tomorrow is Friday, and if I can get enough done, I won't have to go in at all on Saturday (fingers crossed)......

Welp, time to set the alarm for 20:30 to retest.......
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207

Nice numbers for Skooter and that's good news about your dad, but still a stressful situation - :YMHUG: Hope you get some rest, you have had a lot on your plate!
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207

We will keep your dad in our prayers. That is good that it is stage O.
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207

We all understand Molly and are sending lots of :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

All of this is so very stressful, especially at first, but it will get much better and you're really doing great!

Good news about DD! With all it could have been, it's wonderful that he's only at stage 0

Hope you got a nap in tonight and Skooter has a nice safe surf tonight!
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143

I'll take a nice blue surf tonight! Not that I have much frame of reference, it doesn't appear he is doing a quick slide either....

I did notice he was walking a little wonky when I got home tonight, but he is jumping up on the couch and it doesn't seem to be bothering him TOO much......

He just happily finished his piece of chicken from his ear pokey.....I am thinking a +4 reading would be good? Yes? No?
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143

Remember the +2 "rule"?

If the +2 is lower than the PS, plan on a more active cycle!

He dropped quite a bit in 2 hours, so I'd definitely get a +4 and see if you need the good old alarm clock!

Alarm_Clock.gif
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143

Yay to the slide :-D

Growl to the gold clock :evil:

lol

planning on a +4 and I think some pizza....Ugh.....
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81

HOLY BUCKETS OUR FIRST GREEN!!!!



Woot Hoot.....

Trying to remain calm and not freak out and I will be waiting a few hours before I start asking about what to do tomorrow lol.....

Going to get through this first......


Holy cow DOUBLE DIGITS!!!!
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81

Molly

Please feed him two tsp of LC food and retest in 30 minutes after he eats. Let's see how fast he is dropping.


Ok?
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81

Look at him go!!

Time to slow it down a little there Skooter! 80's are PURRFECT

Hopefully the snack will get him up on his surfboard!

Here's a little surfing inspiration!

cat_surfing.gif
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81

Already gave it to him....he ate them right up......

I am nervous and excited all at once.....

So for future knowledge, when his drop is this quick, it is a good idea to give the little bit of LC food because that might help slow down his slide, correct?
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81

Yes. Usually when they see green, you might went to give a couple tsp of LC to slow them down or even get them to surf (stay in green numbers).

However, if they are coming down really fast, even if they are higher, you might want to slow them down because fast drops can cause bounces. Whether you give LC, MC, or HC in that scenario depends on where they are in the cycle and how fast they are coming down.....and also....ECID.
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81 +4.5 97

Sure doesn't take much to get him to slide back up, does it?
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81 +4.5 97

Looking good!

This is where you want to make sure you keep good notes on your spreadsheet though.....You learn how Skooter responds to feeding to steer his numbers

Maybe next time, you'd want to try 1 teaspoon instead of 2...just keep trying things until you learn how HE does things :mrgreen:

Plan on getting another test fairly soon in case he comes back down
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81 +4.5 97

Yup...it's always an experiment! I didn't expect him to be that carb sensitive. You gave teaspoons, not tablespoons right?
;-)

Chris is right that it's important to write it down. If you look at Gracies SS, you'll see how we keep track of all foods. It's also interesting to note that sometimes they might react differently to food. For example, we gave Gracie some 10% last night to slow her down and it worked perfectly...flattened her out in green. Today we gave her the same amount, albeit different times in tthe cycle, and she kept dropping. A lot.

If he's had all his food allotment, I'd grab a before bed and if it's flat or higher, I'd catch some sleep.

Good news for your dad!! :-D
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81 +4.5 97

I just double checked and it was teaspoons....HOWEVER, I thought I had it pulled all the way down and I didn't so when I thought I was doing 2 teaspoons, I was actually doing two 1/2 teaspoons.....so he only got a total of ONE teaspoon of food....

I guess in all the excitement I didn't double check where the measuring spoon was exactly....lol....so he is even more carb sensitive than I thought he was...

YAY TO OUR FIRST GREEEEEEEEENS!!!!!



:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81 +4.5 97 +5.5

Yeah Skooter!!

Dipped his toes in the green lagoon for the first time! (most cats aren't too sure about that the first time....LOL)

I'd get a +11 in the morning so you have a little time to consider your options (if he doesn't bounce)

Goodnight Molly!! Give yourself a pat on the back!
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81 +4.5 97 +5.5

SInce he seems to be trending up nicely, I am guessing it would be ok for me to try and get some sleep?

I am planning on getting up to do a +11 just to give me some insight for his AMPS......If he bounces, which I know is likely, I do not have a problem shooting through the bounce....my concern is if he is under 200 at AMPS....if it were a Saturday, I would shoot no problem because I could be here....

Since there is no guarantee I will be able to come home and check on him tomorrow, is there a number where I should not shoot? I understand that it could potentially make him spike/bounce, but with no guarantee of being able to come home, I would rather him be higher/more safe than to go too low and not have me here to stop it.
 
Re: 7/17 Skooter AMPS 249 PMPS 207 +2 143 +4 81 +4.5 97 +5.5

We generally lower the "No shot" number to 150 once you're here in Lantus Land, Molly, but you hold the syringe and have to do what you feel most comfortable with...and most of us will shoot anything above 50 once we really know our cats

If you can come home at lunch to test, I think I'd go ahead and shoot anything above that for sure but your options are to skip or shoot a reduced dose ...but in either of those cases, you will lose momentum

You can also always leave some higher carb food down so if he does go lower, he can have a higher carb snack.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top