7/17 Six Caturday update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy and Six

Member Since 2009
:YMHUG: to all our friends in LL who are grieving or need healing vines and snowflakes.

I decided to start Six's OTJ trial this morning. It's very exciting, but now I understand why so many people are so nailbite_smile when attempting. It's day one so I am hopeful the anxiety will lessen.

We went out of town last weekend and our neighbor took care of Six for us. I lowered his dose while gone and his numbers seemed to be fine on the .25 IU (save for two pre-shot numbers that could have been MC/HC food induced - one of the numbers while we were gone). I kept him at the .25IU this week and his numbers were great.

Six had another acupuncture treatment this week and it went super smoothly. Needles that irritated him the last two sessions, didn't this time. There was also less heat/energy coming off of the needles.

Yesterday I started using the One Touch meter again as well as the Alpha Trak and I think that gave me perspective on his numbers too.

When I went to bed last night I didn't think I would start the trial today, but this morning it seemed right. I usually agonize over decisions like these, but I'm thinking all of the signs were there to start the trial, I just didn't want to see them. I'm also suspicious of the progress he's made in such a short amount of time. I'm thinking I need to get over that and just accept Six might want to go OTJ. :lol: Afterall, it's not about me!

I am looking for some feedback on my decision. I'm also not sure how I go about testing during the trial and would appreciate some info.

Today's # without insulin

AMPS 108 (77 on the One Touch)

+3 85 (55 on the One Touch)
 
Wow!!! How exciting! It's great to see Six (and you!) doing so well!!

I can't offer any advice on the OTJ trial, since Chloe hasn't decided she wants to do that yet. I'll be watching Six's progress!

Good luck with the GUM! :smile:
 
A report from our buddy Six!!!!!
Such good news to hear from you guys.

Max is soooooo excited that soon ((antijinx)) he will have his best buddy
living in a condo next to him at the falls.

I hope you and everyone else are doing well.

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Nice to see you guys!

I'm going to link Johnny's thread from yesterday, has a bit of info on trial info for now...(Johnny is the latest kitty to start trial.)
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19941

I'm sure Libby or Jill will by to give their thoughts, so check back when you can.

I like the numbers! Best of luck to Six!!!
 
An OTJ trial is a decision that I tend to bring to Libby or Jill's attention since they have the greatest experience with interpreting spreadsheets. If you saw Libby's condo for Lucy and Jazzy, she's not around until much later today. I'll see if I can round up Jill to take a look.

In most cases, we encourage insulin for as long as possible in order to best support the pancreas. That would mean the next dose would be 0.1u.

As far as testing, test at your usual AMPS and PMPS times. If the numbers fall in the normal range (below 130 on the AlphaTrack, I believe), you don't have to do anything. If the numbers are higher than expected, feed and see if the numbers come down in 3 - 4 hours.
 
I'll check back in later.

Thanks Ronnie for the link. I already cut and pasted the necessary information.

Sienne, thanks for the info and perspective. Some things I needed reminded of...but I seriously dread thinking of trying to do a .1IU measurement. I was planning on posting questions last night, but quite frankly, just couldn't after reading so many others and the struggles they are facing. I guess I felt this morning that if the numbers start showing me my decision was stupid, I would immediately restart the insulin.

I'm still doing snacks between feeding times. I'm not sure if that's clear in my spreadsheet. Also, at his next acupuncture visit we are going to check his spec-FPL. I'm guessing we have one of two options...he still has a higher than normal value and the chinese med/acupuncture is keeping the inflammation down or his value will be in the normal range. That visit will be in two and half weeks. We will fast for his test.

Thanks Chris and Randi for the cheerleading....we'll see if this lasts.

The rest of the gang is doing well enough for now!
 
hi amy. i've been found. lol!
usually we do like to see kitty stabilized on 0.1u for about a week before starting an OTJ trial in order to give their pancreas as much healing time as possible to insure a strong remission. ultimately, the decision is yours. six's numbers are good. you've already started a trial. see how it goes. don't hesitate to intervene with 0.1u if necessary.
good luck!

ps- thanks for putting both alphatrak and OT numbers in each cell. :-D
 
Hey Six, This is really EXCITING!!! We hope that you'll be able to continue the trial now that you've started it, but you know that you can always go back and start again at .1 (what is that? a half drop??) if you want to be "totally correct"!!!. Anyway--good luck. It will be nice to see your posts every day, Amy.
Neat that you found some local blueberries. We are just beginning to get them in, too.

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top