7/17 Shadow AMPS 459 PMPS 245 & questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
A little bounce this morning from last nights hypo- I stayed with the 2.5 units to try to help him through. Then my husband forgot to decrease and gave 2.5 again tonight... will be checking a +4 shortly.

I've been feeling stressed about Shadow lately. Things have been busy and we're not getting the 12 hour timing right- sometimes it's 11hrs between sometimes 13.The other day my husband checked a blood sugar, fed, and then forgot to give insulin.

Had the hypo last night and now we leave for vacation Friday.
These are the instructions I'm thinking of leaving.

>250 give 2
200-250 give 1.5
150-200 give 1
Less than 150 don't give insulin

If it's someone who isn't able to get a blood sugar give 1.5
Thoughts?
 
Wow, can you take shadow with you, very risky at this point if not getting insulin on time and not to check before a shot can go so wrong so fast and then need to have test after insulin. can you get anyone that is will to help you more with Shadow.
:sad: Linda
 
Linda,
It's me and my husband that aren't doing good with the 12hr spacing. There are a million reasons why, many which can't be controlled. The biggest problem is I work 12 hr shifts. Does anyone else with a diabetic cat work long days?

No, shadow can't come with us on vacation- we're going camping. The timing will actually be better for him while we're gone because the people that are coming by don't work 12 hr shifts.
 
I just saw your +3 and I think you need to keep testing tonight.
that's a fairly big drop in those 3 hours and you are likely to continue having an active cycle.
You might want to give a little food.... to slow that down....
You may even need to bring in medium carb or hi carb if the next test goes down another 20 or more....

It looks like you earned a dose reduction last night.... Shadow went below 50. Your new dose should be 2.25 u now......


I'm looking for more eyes....
 
There are a few people on here that have the same problem with the hours and traveling, it's sad but that is life. If you could get them to maybe get a +1 or +2 after shot and before giving insulin you would be good. I'm still new at this too!!!can't give real good advise but that is what I would do if i had to leave. Just make sure they know about HC food just in case.
Good Luck, Linda
 
Yes, another late night. He has dropped low again. Will continue the test & feed routine for a while tonight...
 
What is his PMPS ? do get +1 +2 if really low. have you given insulin already. Add a ? in subject line maybe someone that has been here longer can help you.
 
That is a big drop from 245 to 93 and with his depot overfull, you need to stay on top of these numbers.

Here is what I would suggest. Since he earned a dose reduction that he did not get, feed him HC and abort this cycle. By that I mean, try to keep his numbers up with HC. He doesn't need to drop any lower.

Did he just have low numbers last night or an actual hypo with symptoms?

Shadows 7/16 Condo.
 
Lantus does best if you give the same dose each cycle. It's better to have Shadow have a little higher numbers while you are gone but get the same dose each time. What people here do who go on vacation and have a pet sitter who won't or can't test, is to give a reduced dose while you are gone. My suggestion is to post tomorrow, and ask the question in your subject line "pet sitter dose?". It may be that giving an even 2.0 units is best but I'll let others with more experience in pet sitter doses advise on that. What you can then do is leave a sample syringe filled with colored water (or juice, tea) to show the petsitter how much to shoot.
 
No symptoms last night just low numbers.

Last check +5.5 is 38- just fed again with karo. He's still acting fine.
 
Did you see my post about aborting this cycle? It's very important that you feed him a couple of tsp of HC food with a drop of karo. Please retest in 30 mins from when food was given.

Lets get him up.
 
Yes, I saw your post. I did feed and give karo. Will be retesting after 30 min. Can't update my SS right now.

Recap:
Hypo last night
AMPS: 459 gave 2.5u
PMPS: 245 was supposed to get reduced dose of 2.25 but got 2.5u
+3 93
+4.25 43-fed with karo
+5 52-fed
+ 5.5 38- fed with karo
Next test 20 min
 
Ok...I will be waiting.

Just a note: we don't usually call low numbers a hypo unless there a clinical symptoms. There are non diabetic cats that run in the 30s. When I see "hypo", I'm assuming the cat had low numbers and symptoms of hypoglycemia.
 
Good job, Jen.

Could you please give him a little more HC and retest in 30? I'd like to see him up alot more and then perhaps we can give him some LC and keep him from falling back down.

Thank you!
 
Looks like its going to be a long night.

Is he doing ok on the eating? Are you giving him HC food or gravy with the karo?

Please feed HC again, another drop of karo, retest in 30.
 
I'm feeding LC with karo. It's already been a long night. I have to be up for work in 4hrs.... I need to go to bed soon
 
+6.5 63- fed again with karo.

Phone is dying and that's all I have to post on right now. Will test again in 30- if still rising will give some LC then I have to go to bed for a few hours.

Marje, thanks for your help.
 
D you have any HC?

I'm sorry but he needs to be way up before you stop testing. That is why I suggested HC from the beginning. LC even with karo will just keep him from dropping more.
 
Well, I've gotten a lot of different information RE: how to handle going away. I'm doing the best I can with Shadow. Unfortunately not everyone has people around that are going to test- that is the position I am in. If he gets no insulin while I'm gone- he will be a mess when I get home.

I hope everyone understands that I'm trying to balance taking care of Shadow along with many other obligations- which I get we all have. Everyone does the best that they can with what they have available.
 
so you leave tomorrow? Friday?

You asked about bg and doses....

>250 give 2
200-250 give 1.5
150-200 give 1
Less than 150 don't give insulin

If it's someone who isn't able to get a blood sugar give 1.5
Thoughts?

Do you know who is watching over him yet since you added the part about someone who isn't able to get a test? Or are you just projecting that they may have difficulties
getting a test...?

Give the last two days, I myself would adjust lower than you said.
I think I would start with the 1.5 units and adjust downward from there with your bg numbers that you wrote for the caretaker.



I wish I lived closer so I could be of service. :YMSIGH:
 
Hi there,

I hope I didn't upset about a caregiver not giving a shot if Shadow's BG is unknown at shot time. I want to be sure Shadow to be safe, is all. I'm sure you would never give Shadow a shot without first checking Shadow's BG level. It is really important to test first--we want to keep all the sugar kitties safe :-D . Maybe if your caregiver can't get a BG reading (I assume you mean that he/she literally can't get Shadow to bleed and therefore register BG?), ask him/her to take a break, wait 5 minutes, then try to test again.

Sorry if I upset you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top