7/17 Monty, AMPS 158, +3 131, +9 140

Tom & Monty

Member Since 2020
Had a NS yesterday morning so I expect a few cycles like this of slightly higher than normal BG while the depot builds back up.
 
Today's photo is Monty's (non-diabetic) sister, Molly.

She's been mistaking Monty's poking for attention so she gets air time today in the interests of fairness.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200717_080158.jpg
    IMG_20200717_080158.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 59
Side note: tomorrow my human glucometer arrives. It comes with 10 strips. In the PM I'm going to measure his BG both on feline and human devices to ballpark where he's at in human numbers now.

If I'm happy with the new glucometer I'll order a few hundred strips and begin TR next week.

In two weeks I start a new job which is entirely remote so I can be home to get lots of tests in during the days.
 
He was just begging for food despite me putting two meals down for him so I tested and he's 131@AM+3.

I suspect his sister may have helped herself to his second meal! I'm training him to use a feeder that only opens for him but bless him he's not the smartest cat. His sister is a genius, she learned to use her feeder within days.

Gonna put half a meal out for him
 
This morning I injected monty at 8am, my partner planned something and forgot to consider the inject times and I might not be home until 9pm - is it a problem to inject him an hour late then work his inject time back over following cycles?
 
Yes, you can do that. You can make up half an hour every day or 15 mins per cycle:

9pm today 8:30am/pm tomorrow, 8am/pm the day after
or
9pm today, 8:45am/8:30pm tomorrow, 8:15am/8pm the day after.
 
Side note: tomorrow my human glucometer arrives. It comes with 10 strips. In the PM I'm going to measure his BG both on feline and human devices to ballpark where he's at in human numbers now.

If I'm happy with the new glucometer I'll order a few hundred strips and begin TR next week.

In two weeks I start a new job which is entirely remote so I can be home to get lots of tests in during the days.
Comparing the meters will drive you nuts and make you not trust the human one. The protocol was designed on a human meter as vet ones didn’t exist then. Using a human meter works. BTW I used to buy test strips for my Relion on eBay and often saved a lot of money.
 
Comparing the meters will drive you nuts and make you not trust the human one. The protocol was designed on a human meter as vet ones didn’t exist then. Using a human meter works. BTW I used to buy test strips for my Relion on eBay and often saved a lot of money.

Oh I don't want to compare them long term, I want to brain transition from feline to human by comparing once. If I go straight to human I have no "feeling" of what a normal number is for him. I don't want to take that further and extrapolate hypothetical numbers.
 
140@AM+9. Wanted to get a 9 to fill in some late cycle blanks.

Injecting an hour late this PM because of social commitments so I'm going to give him a small snack now to keep him happy.
 
hope you are taking food away 2 hours prior to the shot so that you don't get a food-influenced pre-shot number.
 
146@PMPS, injected at 9.45 PM, 1 hour 15 minutes later than usual.

Going to bring his injection time back 15 minutes per cycle until 6.30 as the new normal.
 
Back
Top