7/17- Lucky PMPS 182..dose suggestions, please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
I am already 30 mins late with insulin because my computer was acting up and I have no idea what dose to go with tonight. He's never had a PS this low.

Please advise! Thanks!
 
It looks like what you shot last night was a little bit light, but ok. So maybe stick with that dose, since this PS is slightly lower than last nights?

From what I see, it looks like last night's dose should kind of be your low end dose, and probably 1u your high end dose.

He is doing awesome, yay!

If you can't get a spot test in tonight I would go with something on the lighter side, if you can spot test, you can go with a hair more (I wouldn't go any higher than a hair over what you shot last night, and definitely under 1u).
 
Well, I'm no dosing expert, but you know Lucky is going up, so I would try something between .6 and .8 and give him something to eat.
What do you think?
 
Oh, good call. I didn't even notice the ps number last night. I was looking at amps today.
Yea, I would do what Joanna said. That makes sense.
eta: I think I read somewhere you thought last night's dose was closer to .8, so I would do exactly what Joanna said. Just what you did last night. Looks like Lucky did fine with it. Even nice amps number.
 
Thank you, thank you yet again!

I was going to do just what you said actually but came back before I shot to check for messages to see if anyone had replied! I ended up shooting a skinny 1u again, probably closer to .8 (fat .8), it's really hard to tell but close enough to what I shot last night.

SO, we will see! He's REALLY been surprising me with his numbers lately! Ahhh, I hope it's a good sign! Cooooome on PS's, how low can ya go!!!??

I will check him tonight at +4 before I go bed!
 
Sounds good! Just FYI a skinny 1 is like *just* below the line, so it's kind of like a 0.95. I think you shot the right amount, not saying you should have gone with a skinny 1! Just for general info. I am guessing you are using the U40 syringes? It's a little trickier to measure, but you are getting great results, so no worries!
 
In the SS I'd put the closest to what you think you actually shot, so maybe 0.8F for last night & tonight. Just so if others look at the SS (or I forget ;-) ) you won't get advice that ends up having you shoot the wrong amount.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Sounds good! Just FYI a skinny 1 is like *just* below the line, so it's kind of like a 0.95. I think you shot the right amount, not saying you should have gone with a skinny 1! Just for general info. I am guessing you are using the U40 syringes? It's a little trickier to measure, but you are getting great results, so no worries!

Looks like I got really confused! I'm using U100 3/10cc. So from now on, if I want to shoot more than .8 but less than 1u, then I will go between 2.0 and 2.5 on the syringe to measure out .9 The lines are really close together so I'll just measure that way to avoid confusion (mostly on my part lol).

Tonight and last night were technically .9 then. I'll change my SS!
 
Yeah, I always did 0.8 and 1 right on the line, 0.9 would be 1/2 way inbetween, and then just edged below or above the line would be your skinny & fat doses. It's basically a drop in each of those increments - some cats won't even notice it, and other cats will get different results at each of those doses.
 
Interesting how high the AMPS was this morning off the 0.9. You shot a little bit late last night due to testing and then waiting for replies before shooting, right? So if it ended up being 1/2 hour or something, it's possible that was enough to take a little oomph off the dose and that's why he didn't get as great a response as we thought he might. Still good really, but it looks like he could have taken at least a skinny 1 last night. I'd be tempted still to stick with 0.9 if the PSs is around 200 or under, just to get a little more data on that. Or a skinny 1 if you can monitor more that cycle (so maybe like on a weekend if you get a good PS like that).
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Yeah, I always did 0.8 and 1 right on the line, 0.9 would be 1/2 way inbetween, and then just edged below or above the line would be your skinny & fat doses. It's basically a drop in each of those increments - some cats won't even notice it, and other cats will get different results at each of those doses.

Ah, okay. I'll keep that in mind for the future! I did print out the conversion chart and taped it to the inside of the cabinet door where I draw up the insulin and keep the syringes so I don't have to keep running to the computer "just to make sure". I highlighted the doses I use most often.

Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Interesting how high the AMPS was this morning off the 0.9. You shot a little bit late last night due to testing and then waiting for replies before shooting, right? So if it ended up being 1/2 hour or something, it's possible that was enough to take a little oomph off the dose and that's why he didn't get as great a response as we thought he might. Still good really, but it looks like he could have taken at least a skinny 1 last night. I'd be tempted still to stick with 0.9 if the PSs is around 200 or under, just to get a little more data on that. Or a skinny 1 if you can monitor more that cycle (so maybe like on a weekend if you get a good PS like that).

Lucky's #'s tend to be higher in the morning anyway. And I'm scared to shoot too much and push it too much at night since I can't stay up all night with him, he's just so unpredictable. The latest I can check is +4 and that's pushing it because I'm not getting enough sleep! But if I don't do it, I worry. But yes, I did end up shooting 30 mins late last night. Hindsight is 20/20. I thought a .9 would be enough but then I see during the spot check or at the AMPS that the dose could have been just a bit higher. I'd rather shoot a little too little than a little too much, ya know?

I think from now on, I will do what you said and shoot 1u if 220 or higher and .9 if below 220. If I get a number a bit below 200 when I have the day to monitor, I'll try a skinny 1 and do more spot checks.

It really does look like he's starting to respond well to insulin so he's not needing as much and I'll probably have to continue adjusting down, which is fine by me, I kind of like that trend :-D And like you said, it's all about fine tuning and figuring out his needs, which is sooo confusing sometimes!
 
all4mymarine said:
But yes, I did end up shooting 30 mins late last night. Hindsight is 20/20.

No, it's good that you waited! You don't want to shoot if you aren't comfortable with the PS, so it's the right thing to do to wait and retest til you get to a PS that you feel safer with, as you are gathering data to see what is safe. All I meant was that it's possible that's why the results weren't as good as we thought - which means you wouldn't want to raise the dose if you got that same PS and shot right at +12, as the shot could have a little more effect than last night's (or I guess the night before).

Just peeked at your SS, hope everything is going ok tonight? Will go look for another thread. The 1u is looking a little too strong to me on the yellow PSs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top