7/17 Jupiter AMBG/52 Surgery tomorrow morning!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100129

JUPITER’S SURGERY TOMORROW MORNING!!! I cant believe surgery is less then 20 hours away. No food after 9pm tonight. I am so incredibly nervous. Yesterday I laid down with Jupiter and explained to him that he is getting surgery and that I know he will be scared and its okay to be scared but that everything will be okay. I told him I need him to be strong. I told him that as soon as the vet says its okay for him to come home (which I explained he would only be there for a few hours) that I will be there for him and take him home…. And I will take very good care of him. I told him that he is getting the bump on his leg removed because I don’t want it to hurt him anymore and I want him to feel all better. I told him that I know I seem scared, but that I am just most worried about him being worried and scared about going to the vet - but that I know that everything will be okay. I told him that I need him to eat reallllly well today because I want him to be strong for the surgery.

Call me crazy, but I think he knew what I was saying. I think he was trying to tell me that he knew what I was saying. I didn’t want it to be a surprise to him and I just wanted him to know whats going on. I didn’t want him to be terrified tomorrow morning because of how I have been acting afraid and sad so I wanted him to know everything is okay. I wanted him to know that he will only be there for a few hours and then he will come home and I will spoil him and take good care of him.

I am praying and hoping for good news. I need him to be okay. I love Jupiter so much and he means the world to me. I just want him to feel all better.

Dane and I will be taking him to the vet at 7:30am tomorrow morning. Then Dane is going to go work for a few hours. I am so scared to be here by myself tomorrow because I know I am going to be a nervous wreck and don’t want to be alone.

Your thoughts and prayers for Jupiter are soooo appreciated. I will keep you all updated.



Jupiter seems to be doing okay so far today. Appy decent but not great. Going to try to feed him a bunch at 9pm so he isnt up hungry and miserable all night tonight.

Todays Numbers:
AMPS-52
Skipped shot

Recap of yesterday:
AMBG-89
Skipped shot
PMBG-66
Skipped shot
+4.5-69
 
BIG HUGE LOOOOOOOONG HUG Jamie...today will be at least 48 hours long... :roll: THEN you probably won't sleep tonight either...but then it will be DONE!!! We're celebrating DONE for KT today!!

Sweet lovin' JupeBaby....the ouchie will be gone soon....
 
((((Jamie))))

I too believe our babies understand what we tell them. They are so much smarter than we are. Telling Jupiter what lays ahead gives him time to absorb it and being honest about your own concerns lets him know you are being truthful. I'm sure he's sensed your worry and that made him worry too - about you.

You are an amazing mommy. I know you don't feel strong. I know you feel overwhelmed with dread about the unknown future. This is natural. This is human. Trying the best you can to stay in the present moment, to not project about what ifs that lay in the future, is not easy, but if you can stay in the now this will bring a bit of peace to your heart.

We are praying for you and will be with you in spirit as you move forward on this journey.

Shai and the Pirate Fitz (GA)
 
Baby steps to the vetty, baby steps to the procedure, baby steps to the recovery...Sending strength and calming vines your way! Hope all goes smoothly and Jupe gets his appy back as he recovers. Hang in there, Jamie!
 
Dane and I will be taking him to the vet at 7:30am tomorrow morning. Then Dane is going to go work for a few hours. I am so scared to be here by myself tomorrow because I know I am going to be a nervous wreck and don’t want to be alone.

Hang out "here". You won't be alone. Drop by the Feline Health forum, and look for one or two posts from brand new members. Share what you've learned since that scary first day you joined up. It'll help you pass the time without worrying too much, and you know it will make them feel a lot better :smile:

Best of luck to Dane on the interview!
 
Okay so the vets office gave us a reminder phone call about the appt tomorrow. She said no food after 5pm.... thats what the vet originally said too but crossed it out and said just dont feed after 9pm - since 9pm was insulin shot time. We told her we are not giving insulin though so they said maybe dont feed after 6 or 7pm..... yikes... hes gonna be so hungry all night... he eats most of his food at night....they said bring in him between 7:30 and 8am... they will be doing the surgery first thing in the morning but she said he will probably have to stay there til in between 4pm and 6pm.... WHAT!!! 8 hours.... REALLY?
 
They want the stomach empty so he doesn't inhale any stomach contents while under anesthesia and wind up with an aspiration pneumonia.

The late pickup is probably because they want to make sure the anesthesia has worn off enough that he won't hurt himself ambulating. He may be rather out of it from the anesthesia, so you'll want a calm, quiet, not too bright place for him to sleep it off.
 
Couple of suggestions:

1) bring two cans of his food with you. This way when they are ready to offer him food, they can give him what you provide and they don't have to guess. Label it with his name on it. They may only offer him a small amount of food or none at all. It depends on how quickly he comes out of the anesthesia.

2) When you go to bed tonight, wear a t-shirt that you can take with you to the vet. Give it to them to put in the cage with him. Your scent will be on the shirt and may help keep him calm. Make sure it's a shirt you don't care too much about, in case he has an accident on it.


Good luck tomorrow. Paws and fingers crossed here for a simple, easy process.
 
I dont have any shirt that I can give him... but we have lots of throws (like small blankets) and one is in our bed now so I planned on putting that in his carrier with him

thank you all so much for the visits
 
Hang in there Jamie! It will be nerve-wracking, but it will all pass and he will be home with you. Bob and I will be thinking of you and saying prayers for Jupiter tomorrow!!
 
Wishing you both the best!!

It is sooo nerve wracking the night before such a huge thing, but I think Jupe understood you. This is the hardest part really especially if he wants to eat and you can't feed him. Poe gets like that the 2 hours before shot time, so I have to play with him lots to distract him and get him away from the fridge :lol:

I think it's great that they will be keeping him that long for monitoring to make sure he really is fine and that when you get him home there won't be (hopefully) anything unexpected.

I'll be praying for you both...successful surgery vines for Jupe and peaceful vines for you, Jamie.

Hugs and scritches from me and Poe :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
They need him to be 12 hours without food.... since you aren't taking him until 7:30.... I'd go with that time frame for his last food tonight. ( but that's me.... )
That's what my vet has me do with mine for surgeries.

Many prayers for tomorrow and extra paws crossed for Dane's interview.

Your pillowcase would smell a lot like you for Jupiter. That would be a good thing for him to have..... smell his mama as he wakes up from the anesthesia.


((((((Jamie)))))))
 
(((Jamie))), I'll be thinking of Jupe tomorrow and sending lots of good surgery vines and recovery vines.
You are getting so many great suggestions (I love Rhiannon's pillowcase idea!).
I'll hold your hand all day tomorrow, across the miles :YMHUG: .
 
(((Jamie, Dane, Jupiter))) We'll all be thinking of you tomorrow. Before this time tomorrow, he'll be back home with you. Sending tons of good vetty and good operation vines for Jupiter. It's great that you talked to him and explained what is happening.
 
Jamie,Jupiter, Dane

Will be sending happy healing vines to you guys for tmro.

It's OK JUPE cat_pet_icon

787b61a2-206a-4790-b330-aa3a61fd2f35_zps94a0a444.jpg
 
Jamie,
Of course Jupiter understood everything you said.
I really believe that.
Sending lots of prayers.
We'll be thinking of Jupiter and you tomorrow.
 
I'll certainly be thinking about Jupiter and you, all day, tomorrow. :YMHUG: Saying the strongest of prayers that all goes well tomorrow. This time tomorrow night, Jupiter will be home and feeling hungry and good and glad to be home.
 
Sending heaps of vines and hugs for tomorrow. Jupiter understands what you say, and loves you very much. We'll be anxiously looking for updates, and thinking of you the whole time. :YMHUG:
 
I'm sure Jupie picks up on the pictures in your head when you talk to him. :-D Sending tons of vines for the surgery and vines for the recovery afterwards too. Big hugs!
Liz
 
I haven't posted in Jupiter's condo before, but wanted to let you know I've been reading and praying for Jupiter. Sending more prayers everything goes well tomorrow with Jupiter's surgery and calming prayers for you.
 
Sending smooth surgery vines to Jupiter.

I saw a quote today I wanted to share with you.

"Worry gives a small thing a big shadow."
 
thank you all so so so much for the visits today. i will keep jupes condo updated tomorrow.

:lol: my couch is sitting on cinder blocks.... it looks really funny up 8 inches taller then normal... looks quite ridiculous.... oh well :lol:

atleast jupiter wont hurt himself trying to go under there though
 
Jamie,

Calming vines for you and Dane! I will be at work, but trying to watch for your posts and updates. Good idea on the cinder blocks!!

So many prayers are flying your way for Jupiter - soon it will be all over :-D

Jane
 
We will be thinking of you and Jupiter tomorrow morning. Sending tons of soothing and healing vines for the both of you. Just think how much better he (and you!) will feel when that lump is off his paw!
 
He is already trying to search the house for food. He is acting very hungry and its only been a little more then 5 hours and he still has a little more then 7 hours to go!

I think I am going to be up all night trying to make sure cats dont get into anything
 
Thank you all for the visits today. Thank you for the vines, thoughts, prayers for Jupiter - we appreciate them soooo much!



I completely forgot to test Jupiter's BG tonight... :sad:
 
Many many prayers for a very successful surgery and a fast recovery. We will all be asking for special blessings for you and Jupe and LL always has miracle prayers. Please keep us posted and as Carl said, you aren't alone.

Sending you lots of vines for peace tomorrow....we will all worry with you.

Hope you rest. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hes acting very very hungry and I dont think I can go to sleep because I am worrying about the cats getting into some kind of food... 5 more hours til we leave for the vet
 
Jamie, why don't you test his BG, if for nothing more than to tell the vet what it is when you arrive there.
They may want to give him some fluids with some dextrous or something during the surgery. I'm not sure, that's what they'll do, but it's just a thought.
 
Me too!

Jamie, if you're going to continue to use this condo, maybe you would want to change the first Subject Line? or you can just start a new condo. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top