Figaro's Liz
Member Since 2019
Previous condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-567-after-greens-last-night-pmps-533.216851
Seeking opinions, please, but first I need to explain a few things (which are also reflected in Fig’s SS).
Fig’s drop seen on the 14th, I believe, did not come on from a dose of 0.75U, but a dose unintentionally closer to 1U. I have updated the spreadsheet to show his effective dosing for clarity. Sorry it is messy, but reality is also messy
.
Explanation: Fig is nominally on the 6th cycle of a 0.5 unit dose, but I believe this dose is actually closer to 0.75 units, maybe a skinny 0.75 relative to our starting data (I’ll get back to that). He dipped to 76 (Alphatrak) out of pinks, at a nominal dose of 0.75, which I now believe now was closer to 1 unit / 1 skinny, on 7/14. This dip happened the day after I began using a new box of syringes. Bear with me...
The syringes are the same type (BD Veo Ultra fine), but I noticed the markings were much clearer on this new lot. I do not use calipers and was relying on the barrel markings. Well, last night I was poring over Fig’s SS and a lightbulb lit up. I looked really hard at the new syringe and compared it to a few of the older ones that I had kept from the earlier lot, using a paper template I made myself. The difference between the markings appears to be almost equivalent to .25U, with the new syringes effectively delivering an increased dose. (Yes, I know about calipers and I have read the stickies about fine dosing so many times. I simply have not had the mental capacity to introduce calipers to my routine, but I will be using my paper template for now. In theory I knew about the inaccuracy of syringe markings but it is truly astounding to see how much of a difference there is and the effect it can have on Figaro’s BGs).
Note, Figaro went to the vet yesterday—some small vomits repeatedly over several days, possible GI issue. I am waiting for test results but the physical exam raised no red flags. I can’t rule out an underlying issue yet, but it seems he had an upset tummy, possibly from the pumpkin/olive oil I was giving him for mild constipation, skin dryness, and hairballs (have stopped those). He is eating fine. Not sure if he is pooping fine again yet, I hope to come home to find something in the LB. I don’t know how or to what degree these issues are related to his diabetes.
I understand the safeguards of SLGS that require patience. On the other hand I understand the dangers of glucose toxicity and the stress high BGs is putting on his body… I don’t need to be reminded about the dangers at either end of the spectrum of poor regulation. It is clear from Fig’s SS that his numbers are consistently too high and of course I really want them to come down, but not too far! So I am asking for opinions to help me decide how to proceed.
I am seriously considering TR, but do not feel data-ready yet as I work full-time 9-5ish (I have been taking lots of half days off and work from home sometimes, but that is not sustainable).
Two main questions with all of this background laid out:
1) Am I wasting time at this current dose? I have accidental data that two shots nearer to 1 unit on 7/14 got greens (not limes), and that a bounce followed. Since I reduced back to an effective 0.75, I don’t know if he is still bouncing or just doesn’t have enough insulin. Do I need to simply be patient?
2) I still don’t have a great grasp on his patterns. I understand the value of data, but I am not willing to test him unnecessarily for the sake of superfluous data. I would very, very much appreciate suggestions of what spot check/curve approach would be effective. I’m planning a curve Saturday or Sunday.
Thank you in advance, everyone. You are all an amazing resource.
Seeking opinions, please, but first I need to explain a few things (which are also reflected in Fig’s SS).
Fig’s drop seen on the 14th, I believe, did not come on from a dose of 0.75U, but a dose unintentionally closer to 1U. I have updated the spreadsheet to show his effective dosing for clarity. Sorry it is messy, but reality is also messy
.Explanation: Fig is nominally on the 6th cycle of a 0.5 unit dose, but I believe this dose is actually closer to 0.75 units, maybe a skinny 0.75 relative to our starting data (I’ll get back to that). He dipped to 76 (Alphatrak) out of pinks, at a nominal dose of 0.75, which I now believe now was closer to 1 unit / 1 skinny, on 7/14. This dip happened the day after I began using a new box of syringes. Bear with me...
The syringes are the same type (BD Veo Ultra fine), but I noticed the markings were much clearer on this new lot. I do not use calipers and was relying on the barrel markings. Well, last night I was poring over Fig’s SS and a lightbulb lit up. I looked really hard at the new syringe and compared it to a few of the older ones that I had kept from the earlier lot, using a paper template I made myself. The difference between the markings appears to be almost equivalent to .25U, with the new syringes effectively delivering an increased dose. (Yes, I know about calipers and I have read the stickies about fine dosing so many times. I simply have not had the mental capacity to introduce calipers to my routine, but I will be using my paper template for now. In theory I knew about the inaccuracy of syringe markings but it is truly astounding to see how much of a difference there is and the effect it can have on Figaro’s BGs).
Note, Figaro went to the vet yesterday—some small vomits repeatedly over several days, possible GI issue. I am waiting for test results but the physical exam raised no red flags. I can’t rule out an underlying issue yet, but it seems he had an upset tummy, possibly from the pumpkin/olive oil I was giving him for mild constipation, skin dryness, and hairballs (have stopped those). He is eating fine. Not sure if he is pooping fine again yet, I hope to come home to find something in the LB. I don’t know how or to what degree these issues are related to his diabetes.
I understand the safeguards of SLGS that require patience. On the other hand I understand the dangers of glucose toxicity and the stress high BGs is putting on his body… I don’t need to be reminded about the dangers at either end of the spectrum of poor regulation. It is clear from Fig’s SS that his numbers are consistently too high and of course I really want them to come down, but not too far! So I am asking for opinions to help me decide how to proceed.
I am seriously considering TR, but do not feel data-ready yet as I work full-time 9-5ish (I have been taking lots of half days off and work from home sometimes, but that is not sustainable).
Two main questions with all of this background laid out:
1) Am I wasting time at this current dose? I have accidental data that two shots nearer to 1 unit on 7/14 got greens (not limes), and that a bounce followed. Since I reduced back to an effective 0.75, I don’t know if he is still bouncing or just doesn’t have enough insulin. Do I need to simply be patient?
2) I still don’t have a great grasp on his patterns. I understand the value of data, but I am not willing to test him unnecessarily for the sake of superfluous data. I would very, very much appreciate suggestions of what spot check/curve approach would be effective. I’m planning a curve Saturday or Sunday.
Thank you in advance, everyone. You are all an amazing resource.
