7/17 Eleanor Hypo: Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74401

PS 200
+6.5 LO
Recheck LO
Rubbed Karo on gums Bg 26
Would not eat. Put HC gravy in mouth. Spit it out, more Karo
+7 32 ate HC FF, a little more Karo
+8 72
She's okay now as long as I keep a check on her to be sure she doesn't drop again when the food wears off, right?
She ate the regular amount today, in fact she ate FF Chicken Feast, which usually raises her higher than the other FF Classic varieties. She did not throw up.
How much should I lower her dose? .25 or .50? I don't want to lower it too much but I REALLY don't want a repeat of the LO.

My moniter quit working. Got another one from a neighbor but it is very blurry which makes me extremely nauseated and dizzy!
 
You MUST stay up and follow Eleanor's numbers.

Quite honestly, I'm at a bit of a loss with respect to giving you any input other than to monitor since your spreadsheet is not up to date. FWIW, I would have been testing every 20 min. At this point, you need to be testing every 30 min. until you are certain the numbers have stabilized without the influence of HC.

You'll need to decide in the morning what to do. Low numbers on Lantus can persist for a long time. We've seen cats who need to be monitored closely for 12 - 16 hours.

You'll need to decide in the morning first, whether to shoot. Second, how much. There is a very good chance you will see a big bounce. Beyond that, there's no way to predict how Eleanor will respond to more than a 0.25u dose reduction.
 
When was her last shot? How much insulin did she get? When is her usual nadir?

I'm not sure that she is completely out of the danger zone yet. I'd like to see a couple more rising numbers. Bear in mind that many cats are quite a bit more sensitive to insulin after a hypo.
 
It's been about 25 minutes since the +8 test, she is now 61.
Her next shot is due in 3.5 hours.
She's eating a few more bites HC.
When we first started this, I thought her nadir was +5 to +6, but since then I've gotten lower numbers at +4, +8, +10 and at PS. So I don't know that she has a set nadir.
I'm thinking I should skip her shot tonight since I'm not shooting on low numbers.
I shot 2.75 dose she's been on for about two weeks.
 
I'm trying to update the SS. I've got to rest my eyes for awhile though or I'll be too dizzy to do anything.
So don't worry if I seem to have disapeared!
 
if her next shot is due in 3.5 hrs, and she's 61 at +8, she might skyrocket between now and then and be safe to shoot. i think i wouldn't try to decide now what to do in 3.5 hrs. the downside is that it's not likely anyone will be on in 3.5 hrs from now. perhaps Jane or Serryn might be.

you definitely DO want to decrease after a LO reading. that likely means she was less than 20. protocol would call for a .25u reduction.

i would err on the side of caution if she hasn't zoomed up. so in other words, if she's bounced high, you would likely be ok to shoot the new decreased dose of 2.5. if she hasn't bounced high you will have to decide if you want to skip the shot or shoot a token dose of something less than 2.5. things for you to consider include how you are feeling and if you are able to monitor her, if she is eating ok, etc.

you might want to refresh your memory with the Low Numbers sticky at the top of the page to help you be ready to make the choice.

here's the link: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top