? 7/17 CRYSTAL AMPS 119 +4.5 135 +6 117 +8 99 +10 95 PMPS 85, +1 94 +2 103 - Questions on R please

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday's all blue

and today we have some greens !!!!:D:D first time since the beginning of June. So now, do I just carry on with her normal Lev and R doses or do you think I should reduce one or other? Greens always make me nervous, because I don't see too many I suppose!

@julie & punkin (ga) @Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Cobb(GA) @Grayson & Lu - grateful for any input if you are around, PMPS is 1.5 hours away. thanks.

Vines to all in need today and remembering Ruth in our prayers today for the loss of Tiger.
 
I would decide based on her PMPS. If she is still going down, I would do less R than if she is flat or rising.

Are you able to monitor tonight?

Great Tour finish!
 
The 80's are a great place to hang out Crystal. No need to go any lower.

I bet she was happy to get that gravy.
 
Just logged on. Wow!!! Crystal...what a clever girl you are....and what a clever girl you are too Suki!!!
!:D:):D:):D:):D:):D:):D:D:D:D:D:D
Sending many more surfing vines across the seas
 
Thanks Wendy, Julie and Bron, it was a bit of a surprise for me too. Haven't we come a long way, I am very pleased for her. Just taken her bedtime test at +7 of 115 so I'm off to bed now. Thank you all for your kind words of encouragement, we wouldn't be here today without all the advice and support so freely given. Night night
 
99 @ AMPS, deciding how much R, no one around to ask so think I will stick with the 6u, hope I'm doing the right thing. :nailbiting:

Questions on R please - Am I right in thinking there is no build up of depot with R? it's straight in and out the system in a few hours? Tonight we are out just after PMPS for at least 6 hours so thinking ahead. Would rather have her a bit higher tonight. So might miss the R altogether. I'm assuming it's the R pulling her down and not the Lev? Also, I've been increasing the R very steadily, now I'm at 6u but should I need to go back to say 10u, is it okay to increase in one jump, or best to gradually increase to get back to where I want to be? Grateful for advice, thanks.
 
Wow, just WOW! :D WTG Crystal!

I think a reduced dose of R is a good thing. A lot of people with R scales do zero R if kitty is in green, but she seemed to do well with a half dose last night. If you are at all worried today or tonight, definitely do without R. It might be an interesting experiment too.

And yes, R is an in and out insulin with no depot. However (there is always one of those), our kitties have that special version of the depot call insulin antibodies. They bind to the insulin and let them go at random, and often inconvenient times. Use extreme caution because of that randomness and because we never know when the IAA will break. R will pull down the insulin and allow the Lev to do it's work. Lev by itself will also do some pulling down of numbers, but more slowly.
 
Forgot to answer the bit about increasing the R. Most people use R scales - if preshot is X, then R dose is Y. Since R is in and out and not depot based, you can jump around as needed with the R dose.
 
Woo Hoo--Go Crystal!!! ........Suki I think you earned these :D:D
bos.jpg
 
Thanks Wendy for clarification on using R. I think I'm definitely going to give it a miss tonight and then pick up the dose tomorrow. I gave up on using an R scale a few weeks back, just kept steadily increasing regardless of the PS numbers, but good to know I don't have to start over with the dose.
Crystal has just come to sit on my lap while I type and is purring deeply and having scitches, we are having a love-in!

Thank you ((((Ruth)))) as always, you have time for others:bighug:
 
I think she's doing okay, she was a bit "off" the other day when she started to go lower but I think her body is adapting, at least I hope it is, to the lower levels now. Also I think the heat is playing a part making everyone lethargic but good news, it's just started to rain! Hope we get a much needed downpour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top