7/17 Atlas AMPS 52, 106 PMPS 216

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Lantus Land!!!!

Sorry for my absence lately, but life and business have been a bit crazy.

Attie is doing fine and just being a stinker about eating his fuds. Oh...he has an appetite, just not for what he should be eating. :lol: Last week he even snubbed some kibble on a low evening. He has been on a Nature's Variety Beef kick for about 2 weeks. NV beef is 13% carb. The duck and venison are lower in carbs., but higher in fat content and well honestly...he won't eat those two. :roll: >... Although in a last ditch of desperation I did "Taste of the Wild" which he loved...way high carb. I think that was day he even snubbed the kibble...which was an offering of EVO or Meow Mix.

So between all these carbs. and food standoffs we're riding a bit of a rollercoaster in the BG numbers area. Carbs, spiking things up a bit. The NV beef seems to get him to ride in the upper yellows (which honestly ain't too bad when you've been a busy as me), and the food refusals half way through the cycle to drop the numbers excessively low. Somewhere in all my reading and research I recall the German forum using a modest amount of kibble in these situations. Although the EVO, even with the company claiming the carb.% is now at 6%(called & confirmed in early July), pushed Attie into the 300's. It seems the NV Beef accomplishes pretty close to the desired results I am looking for, just a weee bit higher than I'd like if we're going to bounce between raw rabbit and canned.

Whew...which is interesting as it brings me full circle back to anecdotal evidence that too much variance in carbs. also affects regulation difficulties on the tight protocol. Just as a drop or two up or down the insulin dosing scale, carb %'s up or down at a too wide of a variance(ECID in this regard), cause a distortion to BG results and a hinderence to consistent regulation.

So on busy days like mine today we'll be loading the auto-feeder with a beef & bunny blend(B&B) in order to maintain safe numbers up and numbers not too high at the end of the cycle.
 
Re: 7/17 Atlas AMPS 52, 106 (45 minute stall)

Glad to hear you are ok :-D

Last week I went looking for information about EVO. Most reviewers say that Natura Pet's claim that EVO is 6.64% is not true. They say it is about 13%, like Wellness Core Fish and Fowl. Who knows...without a law that forces manufactures to tell the real ingredients and nutrient analysis :shock: , they can say anything.
 
Re: 7/17 Atlas AMPS 52, 106 (45 minute stall)

:lol: :lol: :lol: Beef & Bunny made easy..

and Hi! guys!

jdun412l.jpg
 
Glad all is well. What a day for Attie!! Also glad he ate his blend tonight!!

I think you hit the nail on the head about mixing foods and %carbs around. I believe the more consistent we can be on a day to day basis, the better for the BG. That's what makes managing curves when they are dropping somewhat difficult.

Hope he continues to eat. HOpe Gary and MudCat are well!!
 
ATTIE!! Good job on the rabbit! I too am glad all is well - with Attie, and Gary and Mudcat.. YAY!

Interesting on the fuds... I think consistency in what we feed is important too, so much variance isn't always a good thing. Interesting too on the kibble and the german forum. It's been a while since I have read that... And I know on needing yellow days on some... been there too, had days were I was glad to see them.

Have a great rest of the evening. It is great to have an Attie condo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top