7/16DurielleAMPS274,+4 228,+6 65,+7 39,+8 55,+10 99,PMPS 185

Status
Not open for further replies.

Durielle

Member Since 2012
Getting ready to test often today, after increasing Durielle's dose to 1unit per shot (up from .75u).

The reason for the increase is not so much due to the numbers from glucose testing, but rather from results of a fructosamine test. Has anyone else had this done? The vet explained how it's a more accurate test of her average blood sugar/glucose/fructose/and response to insulin interaction over the last 3 weeks.

Her fructosamine test result was 535, which suggest moderate/poor diabetes control. http://www.vetsulin.com/vet/Cats_Monitoring_Glycated.aspx

The vet said that glucose monitoring is often inadequate, as results are often affected by stress. And that another way to monitor a cat's diabetes is through monthly fructosamine testing, with an unchanging dose during that whole month, and a few full glucose curves in-between. I'm really interested in this method, and wonder what others know and/or think about it.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle

Hello Jorge

When you are hometesting, you get real-time data on which to base dosing decisions. You don't need to pay for a fructosamine test. I find that Gracie is much more stressed by going into the vet than she is at home. What your vet is saying makes no sense.

If you look at her SS, you can already tell she has poor glucose control. You don't need to take her in and pay for a fruc test when you already have the information.

I also would not hold a dose for a month unless it is warranted...in other words, you could hold a dose a month if nadirs were right where you want them. Otherwise, you would make dose adjustments.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

Durie's down to 39 as of am +11, but not showing symptoms of hypo. I've read different things that suggest there's "real hypo" and false hypos.. whereas a real hypo shows all the classic signs of incoherence and physical distress, and a false hypo is simply a low score where the cat shows no unusual signs, no lethargy, no lack of coordination, no obvious distress.

At 39, Durie appears aware, bright, energetic, coordinated, and even playful. I used to worry when she went this low, but I'm guessing that I should not (unless symptoms of 'real hypo' appear along with low numbers). Am I right about this?
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

BEing new myself, I've heard it said to feed the 40's. you might want to give a bit like a tspn or 2 of LC food and check again in 30 min
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

Karen is right. Feed the Forties, and this is below. Please give her a couple of teaspoons of LC and test again in 30.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

Depending on where Duri is, you might not be shooting at PMPS. So dont feed to much as you might have to stall and wait for numbers to come up before you can dose kitty.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

I can understand a little of where you vet is coming from. He is not used to people who are proactive like us in treating their cat's diabetes. He is used to cats being stressed at the vet when they get their blood glucose tested, so he thinks that cats are always stressed when they get their blood glucose tested, but we know better. A cat is much less stressed at home, than he is at the vet's office. A Fructosamine test gives you an average of how the blood glucose has been for the past 3 weeks. You can get an average just by looking at your spreadsheet and averaging the numbers. What's most important are the nadirs. They tell us whether the cat is getting too much or too little insulin.
If a cat goes to the vet to get a curve, he is stressed the whole time he is there, and it's just one day of that 3 weeks, not everyday testing like we do. For all we know the cat will be in the middle of a bounce the one day he goes in for his vet office curve.
Believe me, the results we get by home testing several times a day and throughout the curve while a cat is calm in his own environment, tell us a lot more about how your cat is doing, than a once a month fructosamine test and a curve at the vet's office every once in a while.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39,PMPS 55 (no sh

Sorry to have worried you folks. As of the 39 test result, I did feed 2 teaspoons of her regular food (FF Chicken). I've had Durie with me, watching her closely. Off to retest right now - will post asap.

EDIT: 55 as of PMPS. Will not shoot.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

Durielle earned a dose reduction with that 39. Back for another try at 0.75.

You can shoot, if your shot schedule is flexable enough to handle a late shot tonight and still shoot 12 hours after that tomorrow morning. You would need to tall without feeding, and test every 30 minutes or so, to make sure she is rising without the enfluence of food, and you are at a number where you are comfortable shooting.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39,+12 55

Yes, I can move her shot time. I'll test hourly until she goes over 130 stalled, and whenever that happens it'll be her new feeding/shot time at .75 units.

Thanks everyone!
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

I usually test every 30 minutes when my cat is below 70, unless I know for sure (from several previous tests) that my cat is either surfing or rising.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

99 at 9pm EST. I cannot test as often due to rationing of strips. She is on the rise, and I'll test again in a couple of hours.
 
Re: 7/16 Durielle AMPS274,+4 228,+9 65,+11 39

No shot given yet. By now she's 4 hours late for her PMPS. So I don't know how to graph the results anymore. I figure she'll be ready for a shot by 11pm, if she's gone above 130. So 11pm will likely be my PMPS. As such, I've adjusted the last test result to be AM +10, since it was taken at 9pm (2 hours before expected shot). Please advice - thank you!
 
185 at 11pm EST (5 hours past her usual PMPS). New dose at .75units, next shot at 10:45am... will gradually move shot times by 15mins each to return Durielle to her 6am/6pm routine over the next few weeks.

Good night, and thank you all. I will take a break from posting for a few days, unless something unplanned happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top