7/16 Willie OTJ Trial (!!!) Day 3 PMBG 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hello all...it's been far too long since I've posted, but all has been well here. Willie has continued to do great on a low dose of insulin (apologies for not keeping up our spreadsheet!). Over the past year, he's spent the vast majority of time in the "normal" range, with doses rarely reaching 0.75u, and typically hovering right around 0.5u. While he has slowed down a little, there are still epic wrestling matches between he and Herbie, who's growing into quite the little princess!

I met my boyfriend Scott in early November, and we instantly hit it off. Herbie has been competing with me for his affections since our 4th date or so, and Willie has a whole nightly routine in which he greets him at the door with a gentle but firm request for pets, met by a smack of the paw if his requests are not immediately granted. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: We just him into my place this weekend, and the cats couldn't be more thrilled...well except for all the boxes! I'm able to telework 1-2 days a week, so they both get full-day time with mom, with backyard privileges for Willie.

Willie has done fantastically well on Merrick BG Turkey food, though it is neither kitty's favorite. When I ran out recently, we went to Friskies& Fancy Feast, and when I started him back on the lower carb food, he just snowballed downward. On Friday, caught a midcycle 32, with him on 1 drop of insulin. Skipped the Friday night shot, but with a 98 Saturday morning, gave him 1 drop again. With moving, we skipped Saturday (I didn't even get a chance to test), and after seeing a 72 Sunday morning and then a 68 Sunday night, decided to roll with it and see where this takes us.

7/12 AMPS 69, +4~32, +4.5~58, +6~70, PMBG 74
7/13 AMPS 98 (last shot)
7/14 AMBG 78, PMBG 68
7/15 AMBG 88, PMBG 68
7/16 AMBG 112, PMBG 88

I'm over the moon just to even be in a position to TRY an OTJ trial. Since being diagnosed in December 2010, we've been close a couple times but have never gotten even this far. I've always held out hope after Mocha went OTJ, but have just been happy to have a healthy, happy, relatively easy to regulate furry purry boy. I think it also lends credence to the idea that our methods really do work. Keeping cats in normal numbers is a good thing... I strongly suspect that if I'd chosen to go with a more lax protocol that kept Willie above the renal threshold, he might not be with me today. Going to hold off on labs until our OTJ experiement is over. Until then, one cycle at a time! If ultimately, remission isn't in the cards right now (or even ever), I'm okay with that.

Still in the middle of moving, but will try to catch up on all the kitters this week!
 
CHRISTIE, WILLIE....we've missed you so! And what fantastic news. Hope for OTJ after all these many months. Herbie is all grown up now too. We are so thrilled to read of this most excellent news in all sorts of ways. :mrgreen: We will be watching and counting the days!!!!
:RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT
 
And cheering you on every day of course. A surprise OTJ trial, you snuck this one in on is. So glad to see this.

Come on Willie,
now don't be silly,
Greens are great!
They sure do rate.

Another day in the cool green grass. Ah, heavenly.

p.s. Apologies for the horrible rhymes. It's part of what I do to cheer people on.
 

Attachments

  • OTJ day 3 green grass.jpg
    OTJ day 3 green grass.jpg
    3.6 KB · Views: 154
This is WONDERFUL news!!!! All of it!! Congrats on the OTJ trial, congrats on the new love .. awwww :-D :-D Mocha says neber eber eber EBER give up hope!! :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top