7/16 Newman AMPS 305 shot 2.0 PMPS 274 shot 2.0

Yep - though see changed suggestions below based on how he did today.

The important thing is that he's flat or rising. As long as he is, it's generally ok to shoot at least some sort of dose.

I would skip anything below 150-ish for now.

In the 150-174 range probably more like 0.25U, 175-200 then 0.5U-0.75U. Those should keep him in a safer range in case you can't get to him for testing.

Target nadir is still 90-120, just given those preshots, those doses are what I think will help get nadir in the upper end of that range.

Thanks so much for the guideline. This is so helpful to me as it brings the numbers into focus.

I also appreciate your suggestion to add a comment to my signature. I will certainly do that!
 
Fasting BG 294 will feed and then since he is so close to 300, but still under 300, I will shoot 1.50U (75% of the current dose)

I will check back with you guys, should you comment before I shoot. @FrostD
@Suzanne & Darcy

Shot 1.50U fat

Note: I have a dental appt today and will leave the house at 4:00pm so I will be away for about 2 hours
I also need input on the dose increase we were looking at before the disruption when he barfed at breakfast, which may have led to the low fasting BG 156, yesterday (Thurs) morning.
 
Last edited:
I don't think that was due to the vomiting. Even the smaller dose yesterday brought him down quite a bit so I think better to hold. We'll see how he does today, I'm hoping you'll be able to shoot full doses over 250.
 
He was 147 @ +6 He then ate some of his FF pate, groomed and came back for more. I gave about 1 tbsp, he ate it and vomited. The only thing different was that I used Pure Bites chicken for bait and treat for testing. He has vomited those bites in the past but not always. He is acting fine so I will get ready for my appointment, try to test him before I have to leave and if he is lower, I can give him some med carb Friskies 14%. I haven't been able to find high carb to purchase short of a case of it. No cans at the grocery store. Hopefully he won't go too low, +6 is pretty far into the cycle. Fingers crossed. I wish I didn't have to go out. @FrostD
Add: 139 @ +7 not bad.
151 @ +8
 
Last edited:
Yep - though see changed suggestions below based on how he did today.

The important thing is that he's flat or rising. As long as he is, it's generally ok to shoot at least some sort of dose.

I would skip anything below 150-ish for now.

In the 150-174 range probably more like 0.25U, 175-200 then 0.5U-0.75U. Those should keep him in a safer range in case you can't get to him for testing.

Target nadir is still 90-120, just given those preshots, those doses are what I think will help get nadir in the upper end of that range.
@Linda and Newman I really cannot comment much on this “sliding scale” as I believe that consistency is key to getting a cat regulated. Of course, in your situation, some adjustments will occasionally have to be made (like yesterday and even today since you would be away from home) but I believe those tiny doses mentioned will not do much for Newman. He had a beautiful cycle yesterday on the 1.75 unit dose after a lower than your comfort zone preshot (and a little stalling.). I think the stalling was good so you could see he was rising. If you had given him only a .5 unit dose according to that sliding scale that would not have helped get him anywhere near blue numbers. I see he’s seeing some nice blue today as well, but that was with a 1.5 fat which was similar to yesterday’s dose. Anyway, that’s my take on it, and I look forward to seeing how Newman will do on this new sliding scale. Surprise me, Newman!
 
I prefer consistency as well. The goal is always shooting the same dose AM and PM above 200, then hopefully lowering that number over time - still shooting same dose. Some cats don't cooperate like that.

I suppose I should have clarified - the scale I gave is more for when he's lower than usual, and you want to shoot *something* instead of stall for awhile. I'm not recommending it as a standard thing (like I am for Spike if you've been reading, he's a cat that benefits from a true sliding scale approach for now).

Eventually the hope is they level out nicely to get a consistent dose and/or you find you can shoot higher doses at lower numbers.

And I suppose I disagree - and this is the same point I'm currently making for Maggie on this forum - 0.5U at 150 is the safe option. Newman seems to give better clues that he's going to bounce, in which case it's better to shoot a higher dose. But when you're not sure if a bounce is incoming, it's better to go with a safe dose to avoid hypo.

I'm a little torn here. Had you shot the full dose yesterday and today like we'd normally say, I'm fairly certain he'd have earned a reduction. So in this case I leave it up to you, the options as I see it:
  • Go back to 1.75U and shoot that any time he's above 200. I'm not a fan of this because I feel like it's a step backwards. Before the last two days, we were considering an increase, so I'd hate to decrease.
  • Hold the 2U for a little longer to see if the last two days were more of a fluke, especially with the vomiting factored in. Give it any time he's above 200. This does run the risk of some sub-90s (I don't think below 60 though), so you have to weigh your situation vs your goals for his BG.
 
Quote: Had you shot the full dose yesterday and today like we'd normally say, I'm fairly certain he'd have earned a reduction. So in this case I leave it up to you, the options as I see it: Quote

I agree with this. But we did not shoot a full dose - to prevent too low numbers.
——
Quote: I suppose I should have clarified - the scale I gave is more for when he's lower than usual, and you want to shoot *something* instead of stall for awhile. I'm not recommending it as a standard thing Quote
——
okay, good. I was not sure about this. Although I don’t think I have a problem with stalling when Linda is at home - but that’s up to Linda. I understand. I would rather shoo a higher dose after stalling like yesterday as opposed to shooting a really lesser dose. But sometimes this may not be possible.
————-
Quote: I'm not recommending it as a standard thing(like I am for Spike if you've been reading, he's a cat that benefits from a true sliding scale approach for now). Quote
————
Yes. I understand about Spike, who is a whole different ball game! He really does need a sliding scale. I don’t see Newman as being like Spike. There’s kind of a similarity though, not so much between the cats but in the caregiver’s situations. Linda may not be able to test Newman if she can’t get her hands on him and Lee cannot if he’s at work all day.
 
@Linda and Newman I really cannot comment much on this “sliding scale” as I believe that consistency is key to getting a cat regulated. Of course, in your situation, some adjustments will occasionally have to be made (like yesterday and even today since you would be away from home) but I believe those tiny doses mentioned will not do much for Newman. He had a beautiful cycle yesterday on the 1.75 unit dose after a lower than your comfort zone preshot (and a little stalling.). I think the stalling was good so you could see he was rising. If you had given him only a .5 unit dose according to that sliding scale that would not have helped get him anywhere near blue numbers. I see he’s seeing some nice blue today as well, but that was with a 1.5 fat which was similar to yesterday’s dose. Anyway, that’s my take on it, and I look forward to seeing how Newman will do on this new sliding scale. Surprise me, Newman!
It was not my impression that I would be using a sliding scale as an ongoing plan. It very much followed the "How to handle a lower than normal preshot number when following SLGS"
Otherwise, I don't feel experienced or knowledgeable to add to the discussion. I do think and want to find a dose that is consistent for both morning and evening, based on preshot values, if possible.
 
I agree. If a CG can stall, and after the stall it's fairly indicative a bounce is coming, my preference is always to shoot a higher/full dose.

When I give a "sliding scale" it's typically only for sub-200 numbers. That way in a pinch, a CG has some loose guidelines if nobody is around. The sticky lists anything from a skip to 50% and that's a wide range and can be scary/confusing. Perhaps sliding scale is the wrong phrase for that situation...
 
Quote…
the options as I seeit:
  • Go back to 1.75U and shoot that any time he's above 200. I'm not a fan of this because I feel like it's a step backwards. Before the last two days, we were considering an increase, so I'd hate to decrease.
  • Hold the 2U for a little longer to see if the last two days were more of a fluke, especially with the vomiting factored in. Give it any time he's above 200. This does run the risk of some sub-90s (I don't think below 60 though), so you have to weigh your situation vs your goals for his BG.
———-
I Also agree with these as being the options.
 
I agree. If a CG can stall, and after the stall it's fairly indicative a bounce is coming, my preference is always to shoot a higher/full dose.

When I give a "sliding scale" it's typically only for sub-200 numbers. That way in a pinch, a CG has some loose guidelines if nobody is around. The sticky lists anything from a skip to 50% and that's a wide range and can be scary/confusing. Perhaps sliding scale is the wrong phrase for that situation...
Yes. It is empowering to have some general guidance in case nobody is around- and eases the mind.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

I got the email notification that you had posted, "Bouncy Newman", but I can't find the post to reply!
I click on View this thread and it brings me to this point, but I don't see that most recent comment.
 
Back
Top