Crista & Ming
Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-14-ming-pmps-220-2-129-2-5-88-3-106-ming-has-freestyle-libre-on.216843/
Ming has the FreeStyle Libre on!! Numbers from the Libre are inputed regularly on the SS while numbers in parentheses are from my OneTouch glucometer.
JULY 15 PM CYCLE
I've only put the lower numbers in the title and they're also numbers from my OneTouch and not the Libre. Although, they're not too far off from each other.
For example:
At +6.5:
OneTouch = 41
Libre = 47
Should I reduce tomorrow AM if Ming isn't bouncing even though I have my reduction rule? I don't like how he's diving at onset.
I read that too somewhere on the manual. I'll have to re-read it again tomorrow on my day off. I'm in charge of writing up the protocol for clients who may use the libre at work in the future!
I'm really loving the every 15 minute readings from the Libre. I'm seeing lows and dives I otherwise would've missed because I'd be waiting for the hour mark.
In retrospect, I think I should still use my glucometer before shooting. But I haven't noticed too large of a number difference when I compare. I still need more data to make a better conclusion though.
Right now, as I post this, my SS isn't complete. There are a few numbers from my glucometer I haven't inputed yet but I will once I have time tomorrow. I didn't write down the numbers immediately so I have to do some work to match the times I took blood and the times I used the Libre.
I also wonder what's causing the higher dose..
I gave up collecting pee from Ming at home but I'm going to try again. I just seem to never catch him peeing. It's time to take away his usual litter and replace it with no-sorb litter and see if that works.
I got Ming's blood work back today. No pancreatitis. Some glucose and protein in his urine (I'm not sure what that means and I'll be googling tomorrow). He's a little dehydrated but not enough to do anything about it. His blood was super fatty as usual. I spoke to a doctor about it and he isn't concerned - thinks it probably has to do with his pancreas (I think he said that) not being able to digest something (I forgot what the 'something' was) and is probably what caused his diabetes. But he recommended I talk to the Main Vet about it to see what she thinks but she's away at the moment. He's a good doctor too and one of the best in the clinic.
I forgot to send myself Ming's results but I will once I go back to work on Wednesday
Ming has the FreeStyle Libre on!! Numbers from the Libre are inputed regularly on the SS while numbers in parentheses are from my OneTouch glucometer.
JULY 15 PM CYCLE
I've only put the lower numbers in the title and they're also numbers from my OneTouch and not the Libre. Although, they're not too far off from each other.
For example:
At +6.5:
OneTouch = 41
Libre = 47
Should I reduce tomorrow AM if Ming isn't bouncing even though I have my reduction rule? I don't like how he's diving at onset.
I don't know if this is true, but when Phoebe Squeak had the Freestyle Libre meter on, I was told it reads high for the first day or so and then it settles in. I really hope it works well for you and Ming!
I read that too somewhere on the manual. I'll have to re-read it again tomorrow on my day off. I'm in charge of writing up the protocol for clients who may use the libre at work in the future!
I am looking forward to seeing the results of the experiment. It’s great you are comparing with your own meter as we haven’t seen that much here. Also interesting about the numbers delay and not being so useful in lower numbers. I noticed the low numbers were where there was a larger percent difference.
I'm really loving the every 15 minute readings from the Libre. I'm seeing lows and dives I otherwise would've missed because I'd be waiting for the hour mark.
In retrospect, I think I should still use my glucometer before shooting. But I haven't noticed too large of a number difference when I compare. I still need more data to make a better conclusion though.
Right now, as I post this, my SS isn't complete. There are a few numbers from my glucometer I haven't inputed yet but I will once I have time tomorrow. I didn't write down the numbers immediately so I have to do some work to match the times I took blood and the times I used the Libre.
I'm glad too. Seems like 6.5 units is working.I missed the action the other day!Glad you reduced by 0.5. Being over 5 units had nothing to do with size of reduction in this case, but the 25!!! did. If kitty had just barely hit the 40’s, and didn’t hold reductions well, a 0.25 unit reduction might have been OK. Of course, it all depends on knowing thy cat. Another factor on size of dose reduction is what is causing the need for a higher dose.
I also wonder what's causing the higher dose..
I gave up collecting pee from Ming at home but I'm going to try again. I just seem to never catch him peeing. It's time to take away his usual litter and replace it with no-sorb litter and see if that works.
I got Ming's blood work back today. No pancreatitis. Some glucose and protein in his urine (I'm not sure what that means and I'll be googling tomorrow). He's a little dehydrated but not enough to do anything about it. His blood was super fatty as usual. I spoke to a doctor about it and he isn't concerned - thinks it probably has to do with his pancreas (I think he said that) not being able to digest something (I forgot what the 'something' was) and is probably what caused his diabetes. But he recommended I talk to the Main Vet about it to see what she thinks but she's away at the moment. He's a good doctor too and one of the best in the clinic.
I forgot to send myself Ming's results but I will once I go back to work on Wednesday
Last edited:


