7/16 Max+5=68+6=39+6.5=77+8=97+9=109 PMPS 269+1.5=369+3=391

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121833

We got to green last night but are starting in yellow this morning. He was crying for food but for a long time. He doesn't seem to be able to jump on the bed. He doesn't even try and I know he would have if he felt he could. I'll see what my vet says today. The bupe didn't seem to make a difference yesterday. I might try it again tonight.

I hope everyone has a happy Wednesday. Vines and prayers to all in need and green to all.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223

Hi guys .. well, the amps is a nice low yellow so maybe blues and greens are on their way! I hope the vet can give you some answers .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219

I think you might be right. Max ate a big breakfast as he was starving. He had his baby food spoonful with his miralax and cell advance, treats, and 1/2 a can of ff with stella & chewy's on top and he didn't go up yet. I'm going to go take a spin class and will be back to test by +3.5. I'm hoping for low blue or high green then. Fingers and paws are crossed.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219

That is some nice flatness to start with today. Hopefully Max will his wasy down nice-n-easy. I hope you figure out his jumping issue. One of my guys CAN jump, but prefers that his beans pick him up and place him on higher surfaces that he wants to be on :roll: ...and naturally we oblige.

Have a great day, Elise!
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72

Well, his BG has come down but not so slow. I came home and he was at his water dish. I tested him and then fed him some lc. to slow down the slide. I think he was more interested in the water but he ate a little. He ate a lot earlier so that is fine with me. When he starts crying I think he wants to get to me but can't. He used the condo as a ladder for a long time and it is pretty low but now he doesn't even sleep on it like he used to do. He does use his bed more and isn't under my bed quite as much. Jumping down doesn't seem to bother him. Lately if I pick him up he will stay with me for awhile before jumping down. How do you tell the difference between arthritis and neuropathy?? Since this started to happened at least a year before his diagnosis I assume it is arthritis. Then again he has stopped getting on my bed in the last few months.

I'm wondering if it would hurt to try zobaline to see if it helps?
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39

So why did he drop to 39 after seeming to need more insulin? I just don't get it and now don't know what to do about dosing tonight and tomorrow.

I did double check with my back-up meter. So he got hc and karo and I"ll check again in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39

Looks like Max really wants a reduction. :mrgreen: A drop into the 30's means less juice for him.

If Max is fine jumping down but not up, then any arthritis is in the hind end. Vetty can X-ray, but sometimes it can be felt with just a physical examination. In Neko's case, she also has a really tight psoas muscle and even I can feel how tight it is.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39

The drop below 40 is an automatic reducie for sure. Does the "2.5+" in your SS mean "fat 2.5" - just a bit more than a regular 2.5 dose?

Unfortunately FD can be a perpetually confusing disease to deal with....
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39

Okay, but last night we were talking about an increase and wondering if it would be 1/8 or 1/4.. I don't get this. It seems like when he hits green, he goes into panic mode and if I don't feed him often enough, he drops too fast. If I had tested 30 minutes after the 68 and he ate, I bet he wouldn't have dropped that much. Thanks, Wendy.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77

So in 25 minutes he jumped from 39 to 77 just from a little karo and hc food. This just doesn't make sense to me. So should I not feed and check in 30? What reduction should I take tonight?
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77

I've had Neko jump up that fast with karo - it works really well with her. Your plan is good, you can test again in 30. I don't know if he's had all of his breakfast, but a tsp of LC might encourage him to surf there. 70's are a great spot to surf.

Here is where the protocol refers to drops in the 30's:
Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.

If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.

If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
There are some very experienced people here who do reductions of less than .25U for drops into the 30's but if I see a 30's number with Neko, I still drop it .25U. I'm too concerned about the depot getting ahead of me.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77

Thank you Wendy. I will take the .25. I know if it is a failed reduction, we can go right back up. In the past when I have given karo it doesn't bring him up by that much so quickly. Both the 39 and the 77 had me fooled. He ate really well this morning and then I gave him the hc with his 39. If the past means anything with Max which it likely doesn't, he will move up to about 85 and be in the 200's by pmps. I'm really trying hard to cut back in how much food he gets so he loses the 1/2 pound he put on since November or December but he is making that impossible too.

How long would you wait to go back up and call it a failed reduction? You know me, I always want to plan ahead.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77

I'd wait until the bounce is over before deciding if the reduction has failed. If he doesn't see green, then up he goes. It's hard to say how long Max will bounce from this one. On July 7th he got right back to business with a smaller bounce a couple cycles later. On July 10th he took 6 cycles to clear the bounce. I wouldn't go by amount of time but by what his numbers look like (blues) to see when the bounce is breaking.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77+7=100

Up he is now up to 100. I am sure he will keep going up and bounce. I might shoot through the bounce tonight and reduce tomorrow. I'm upset with myself for not catching him before he hit 39.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77+7=100

You can't be upset with yourself. Since Max was pretty flat between +3.5 and +5, it was perfectly reasonable to not test at +5.5.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+1=219+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77+7=100

Hi Amy. I just saw your post. We must have cross posted. The 2.5+ is just a drop or two more to make up for the air bubble I never can get rid of so it's going to be fun for me figuring out this one. I guess it will be a drop or two over 2.25. Thanks for looking at his ss.

Thanks, Wendy, for looking over his ss. I thought he was just high when you see that he took 6 cycles to clear a bounce. confused_cat is how I feel. :roll: Would I ever be able to know what to feed when? I know how to get him back up if he is too low and sometimes I can prevent a drop under 50. I had been saving mc for the 50's but maybe if he is dropping in the 60's I should go to that even if it means that he doesn't stay in green for many hours. I don't know.
 
Re: 7/16 Max AMPS 223+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77+7=100+8=97

Hi Elise! I don't have any advice to offer, but I can tell that you work really hard to keep Max healthy, and I think that's awesome. I hope you both have a good night tonight.
 
Re: 7/16 Max+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77+7=100+8=97+9=109 PMPS 2

Thanks for stopping by Deanna.

Max sure jumped from +9 to PMPS. I don't know if it is a bounce or not so I guess I'll reduce tonight. I hope it will be enough juice but I have my doubts. That 39 today seems out of place but it was a couple points lower on my back-up meter so he gets his reducie.
 
Re: 7/16 Max+3.5=72+5=68+6=39+6.5=77+8=97+9=109 PMPS 269+1.5

So Max has gone from a low of 39 to 369. He should didn't waste any time in bouncing. I wonder how long it will take this one to clear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top