7/16- Lucky AMPS 414

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
Was AMPS so high b/c of going so low last night?

I'm trying to make sense of all this but his numbers are like an out of control yo-yo! Kinda scares me not knowing how he's going to react to even 1u.
 
Some others will respond, that are much more qualified than I am to answer you....But, yes--most likely the high preshot this morning is a type of rebound.
Trust me, I know it is hard to do...but, you probably should hold your dose and not increase on the higher preshot (from looking at your SS it looks like you increased a little this morning). The rebound/bounce will clear on its own and as you increase the dose you are aiding to the bounce. It can become a cycle and you want to avoid getting in that trap! (I am in it!!!!!)

The nadir is as important, maybe more so, than the preshot when you are dosing. You are seeing greens--so just hold steady and let the bounce clear. Once you have seen a bounce, sometimes it takes a few cycles for it to clear. Don't be surprised if you get higher numbers throughout your cycle today due to the bounce.

Good Luck! Some others will be along to give you advice!
 
Kim said it all. Yes, it is most likely a bounce. He is not used to those lower numbers, so his body reacts. I would stay with the one unit, get some tests in today and see if he settles down.

Does he free feed? If he has food available all day so he can snack, sometimes he can eat when he is going lower than he is used to and smooth out the curve. Is he on all wet lo carb food?
 
Yep, what they said. It's liver training, his body has gotten so used to those high numbers that when he gets a nice green number his liver reacts and dumps sugar. Every time he sees a green he will get more used to it and stop bouncing to high numbers again eventually.
 
I figured it was a bounce but his number have always seemed to be higher in the morning. I have been dosing 400's with 1.1 or more like a fat 1.

He can't free feed because I have two civvies and he just gobbles everything and I do mean everything. But I do feed pretty often, several times a day, small meals. I haven't had the money for an auto feeder for overnight but I do want one. Yes, he's on all low carb wet food, started that as soon as we got the dx. I make sure to stay under at least 5% when picking it out.

Last night and this morning, in another thread, Joanna & Bix and I were discussing dosing and because he responded well to the 1.1 yesterday after his AMPS being in the 400's, it was decided that he would probably do well with that dose when faced with 400's again. I'm using U100 so the 1.1 is really a fat 1. Like she said, it's really about fine tuning at this point and I agree with that.

I have been noticing that probably pretty soon the dose will have to be lowered, since he's getting greens now with 1u. But I'll keep a check on things today and decrease to 1u tomorrow and see what kind of numbers I get with that in relation to 1.1. Trial and Error. Just want these bounces to stop already lol But I'm being patient and going with it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top