7/16 Kozmo, AMPS 74, +1 158, +2 189, +3 108, +4 83, +5 76, +6 92, +7 99, 2wks post DKA

Hopefully he won’t drop further because he’s hungry. Do you feed him during the night? It might be worth feeding him just before +10 overnight so he has some food aboard and doesn’t drop low for AMPS
 
He nibbled at the low carb food we left down until +10. He’s addicted to high carb and doesn’t like it.

Prior to his most recent DKA he was weaned off high carb but feeding him up post DKA undid it all.
 
Is he eating ok? if so we could feed him the higher carb food for a couple of hours to get him up a bit and shoot the 1 unit now
Can you monitor all cycle? how do you feel about that?
 
I have one more pouch of his high carb Whiskas Gravy. I have sufficient Gourmet Gold Gravy high carb but I don’t know if he likes it.
I can race up the road to get more Whiskas if need be.
 
Is he eating ok? if so we could feed him the higher carb food for a couple of hours to get him up a bit and shoot the 1 unit now
Can you monitor all cycle? how do you feel about that?
I’ll see how he likes the gourmet gold high carb now for breakfast. I have to collect Neil from hospital as you know between +3 and +5 ish, hopefully it won’t take longer than an hour.

I have tennis balls today rather than steel ones, but I’m a trooper and will grow some if I have to because what’s the other option?
 
+1 158

I have to head to the hospital to collect Neil earlier than expected. Because Kozzie’s levels are higher, I’d expect you to say either to feed low carb or not to feed at all but I don’t know how long I’m going to be. Hopefully less than an hour but maybe a bit more which puts us at the crucial +2... so I’ve fed him a little high carb food.
 
+1 158

I have to head to the hospital to collect Neil earlier than expected. Because Kozzie’s levels are higher, I’d expect you to say either to feed low carb or not to feed at all but I don’t know how long I’m going to be. Hopefully less than an hour but maybe a bit more which puts us at the crucial +2... so I’ve fed him a little high carb food.
OK that's a good move. Better to be sure than sorry, especially when you don't know how long you will be. He certainly responds to carbs which is good in this situation.
See you when you get back!
 
I’d try some normal low carb food I think to see if we can get him to surf in the high greens. Do you think he’ll eat that?
I picked up some low carb Whiskas in jelly in the hope that it tastes similar to his high carb that he's addicted to. Ahhhh I'm kidding myself haha. I'll see how he goes with it - he totally, absolutely, positively HAS to get off that bad food.
 
It’s ok if he is eating it at the moment. The main things at the moment are he eats Plenty and we can give the insulin. That trumps everything. di you actually know how many carbs in the ‘bad food’?
 
This is the response from Whiskas when I wrote to them requesting the carb content in his poultry gravy food. They have ignored my reply.
fullsizeoutput_2789.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • fullsizeoutput_2789.jpeg
    fullsizeoutput_2789.jpeg
    28.3 KB · Views: 175
How high carb is it?
He needs to eat something now as we don’t want him to drop too fast. He’s already dropped quite a bit in an hour.
I think give him a small snack of his preferred food while we think of a strategy!
 
How high carb is it?
He needs to eat something now as we don’t want him to drop too fast. He’s already dropped quite a bit in an hour.
I think give him a small snack of his preferred food while we think of a strategy!
I've put his HC in front of him and he had one lick and walked away. He's not hungry :facepalm: or suspects me of foul play.

I have no idea what the carb content of Whiskas 7+ Poultry in Gravy which is why I wrote to Whiskas. I suspect it's high but perhaps not as high as Gourmet Gold Gravy or that would be the recommended hypo food?
 
Don’t know what happened there...post both of us twice
Good he ate something.
I’m going to tag @Elizabeth and Bertie as she wrote that greatUK info and she may know the carbs of your food. Can you write down the details of the food in the next post including a photo to help her please?
 
I would test again now Annie as he had a big drop last hour and he’s only just eaten. If he has the same big drop this hour he’ll be too low so I think test now if you don’t mind.
 
Can you list the ingredients please Annie of the can or take a photo of them....that will give us an idea if it is full of carbs. Thanks.
Ingredients
Meat and Animal Derivatives (36%, of which 94% Natural*, including 4% Chicken in the Chunk**), Cereals, Minerals (0.6%), Vegetable Protein Extracts, Various Sugars, *Natural ingredients, **Chunk typically 43% of product
 
Is Kozmo starting to produce his own insulin?
Probably not yet, but all those greens are lovely healing numbers and the more he can stay in them the better. And he’s doing really well for a fairly newly diagnosed cat. He loves the Lantus.
I think moving forward with the dose in insulin, because we have had 3 mornings where we have had to reduce the dose because of lower preshots, and they are getting lower each time... I think we should make the dose 1.75 units both am and pm doses and hopefully that will be enough to be able to shoot that dose both cycles. Also if you could make sure he had something to eat at night around +9 or +10 hopefully that will stop him dropping too low as well.
i would also test around that time at night as I think he is dropping lower at night and staying low at preshot.

Looking at the food list I see cereals and various sugars so it is probably higher carb. But don’t stress about it.......he can be weaned back to the low carb over time. We don’t want him to stop eating or eating less.
 
Thanks Bron. I know you have other people to help and will be hitting the sack soon - thanks for the help this morning. I was so busy that I didn't have time to worry about the low preshoot number.

It's 30 mins since his snack and 20 minutes past +4... shall I see if he wants a little snack now and test again at +5?
 
Back
Top