7/16 Jupiter AMBG/89 --- 2 days til surgery!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100032

Jupiter’s surgery is just 2 days away! I am thinking the shot of antibiotics must be helping him cause his appy is much better and he is acting like he is feeling better. I am really happy his appy is better because I want him to be strong for surgery. As this surgery keeps getting closer... I am getting more and more nervous - although I look forward to him feeling better!

Prayers, thoughts, and vines for Jupiter are so so very appreciated.

Copied/Pasted from yesterdays condo:
This is my plan and these are my concerns

“The plan is ... Dane and I are both going to take Jupiter to the vet in the morning on Thursday. Then Dane has to go to work. The vet said she is not sure exactly what time Jupiter will be done.... but he should only be there for a few hours... So I am glad that I will have a car by then so that if Dane is still at work, I will be able to go pick up Jupiter. Would feel horrible to have to leave him there any longer then necessary since his anxiety is so bad.

I want to make sure everything is ready though. I think the night before the surgery I will sleep with Jupiter in the bedroom with the door shut because hes not allowed to eat after 9pm... (my bed is in the living room so no door to close) and if I take the food away.... the civies will search and destroy the house. I also need to find a way from keeping Jupiter from going under the couch... he likes to hide under or in the couch and since he is so big he has to put pressure on his legs to squeeze under there and I am worried about him hurting his leg after surgery.... Coaxing him out from under the couch to check on him might end up being too hard...dont want him to get scared and squeeze under there then be in too much pain to try to come back out...and I also want to make sure we have any food and supplies he may need the day of and atleast the day following the surgery. Really worried about not having enough cans of his favorite foods.”

“I have no clue how Im going to prevent Jupiter from going under the couch. we did a test run by putting these long flat boxes under there.... he pushed them all out of the way and got under...”




Sending lots of prayers for comfort for Kathie.


Todays Numbers:
AMPS-89
Skipped shot

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-67
Skipped shot
+7-59
PMBG-74
Skipped shot
 
Aww,Jupiter...

I hope his surgery goes wonderfully and he feels loads better when it's done. Sending you lots positive vibes!
 
Jupe - dat foot will be fixed real soon. I know it will feel a lot better!

Wish it was Friday and both our babies medical issues will be OVER! But then my wise grandfather always told me "Don't wish your life away..."

BIG HUGE HUG Jamie - you too Dane....
 
The color of his fur... I just feel like over the past few months hes been losing a lot of color... and he looks like hes lost a lot more color recently... I am just so scared and nervous.

I just want the surgery to go well, I want to hear good news, and I want Jupiter to feel all better. I am just praying and hoping for that.
 
Will be praying for Jupe to come through the surgery just great and to heal quickly!!

As for keeping him from getting under the couch, maybe you could get and cut some 2x4's so he couldn't get under there.....or try rolling a sheet/towels up and stuffing them under so he can't push them out of the way.

Good luck to you both!!
 
Bed risers - supportive cups you can put under the feet of the bed frame, or even a couple of bricks for each support - could be used to raise the couch temporarily and make it easier to get him out from under it.
 
Hi Jamie,

I know how hard it is, but try not to worry. There are so many prayers and good thoughts flying through the universe for Jupiter - He has to have a great recovery!

((((Jamie, Dane, & Jupiter))))
 
BJM, thats a good idea I didnt think of that... If I cant keep him from going under it, I could make it so if he does.... it wont be as a snug of a fit.... I dont have any bricks or anything though... and we are really broke... but.... I am going to try to think of something we could put the couch on to lift it up... If worst comes to worse.... we will stand the couch on it side or something... I dont know.. I dont want to risk him hurting his paw even worse after surgery by trying to squeeze under there....

I am so unbelievably scared and worried and nervous... on top of that I think I have a kidney infection.... and did I mention the cold that I cant seem to get rid of? Its 85 degrees in the house how do I have a cold and cough!?! :YMSIGH: I wish I was feeling better because I want to be able to take the best possible care of Jupiter these next few days - and no matter how I feel, I am still going to do the best job possible taking care of him .... it would just make it a little easier.


Thank you all for the thoughts and prayers... I appreciate it soooooo much. Even all the visits alone, they are wonderful, you guys are all so great. I am so sorry I havent been visiting condos lately and I am going to keep trying better to visit you all. Please forgive me
 
Check your local Craigslist or any building construction sites for scrap wood or bricks or old wood pallets to use. Heck, several layers of cardboard stacked may work. Or a car jack. It just needs to have at least 1 end elevated to make it possible for you to get under there.
 
Just try to take care of yourself Jamie, before the surgery. Get as much rest as you can.
Keep your thoughts possitive. Think about how he'll come home kind of groggy, but will be so happy to come home. And he'll want to eat a lot, because anesthia sp? does that to a cat, but you need to keep his meals real small, because you don't want him to eat too much at a time and throw up. Imagine him walking around your place with a small bandage on his foot and kind of high stepping with that foot because he's not used to having it wrapped. Imagine him getting better and better and soon he's walking fast around your house without shaking to try to get the bandage off. And imagine that soon afterwards, he's trotting around the house and being playful, and eating his meals every time.

I would keep imagining all these thoughts while he is in surgery, too. Over and over. Keep the thoughts possitive.
It may help you to get a good sleep, and have possitive dreams, too.
 
For once, I am actually able to sleep even though I am worrying. I think its because I am sick.... I cant stay awake... I am just falling asleep constantly.... I lay down to watch tv and I fall asleep... its probably better to sleep it off then to stay awake dealing with pain anyways. I am really hoping I can get in to see the doc tomorrow.

I am REALLY trying so hard to stay positive. I REALLY need him to be okay. Went to the grocery store to pick up a few cans of his favorite foods... and someone asked me "what if".... it was so hard not to cry. I just told them "I dont want to think about the 'what ifs' I just want him to be okay - I am just hoping and praying that this is benign"

Today I looked at him and it really just looked as if he has lost so much color in just the past day or two. That scares me soooooooo much.

Dane has to work on thursday but hes hoping to leave work early that day. I really hope he is able to come with me to pick up Jupiter. I dont know if they will tell me the results of the biopsy then... or if they wont know right away?? .... I am afraid to be by myself though if they have the results just in case of bad news... I wish I wasnt going to be alone Thursday because I know how much I will worry and my anxiety is so bad right now.

Does anyone know how the biopsy works? If they get results or if it takes time?
 
If there are disruptions of tissue growth with no distinct ending and beginning where there should be obvious demarcation, that suggest something invasive, usually malignant.

It may take a little bit of time for specific histopathology, depending on the vet's expertise or the need to use a specialty lab.
 
I'm sending lots of positive thoughts. I know when we were getting SRT for Neko, I could hardly wait for it to be done. It will be so nice to have that surgery done for Jupiter - waiting is the hardest part. When we were in Fort Collins for SRT, Neko kept on wanting to hide behind the headboard and we couldn't move the bed in the hotel room. So we stuffed all the access points with pillows. You could probably do the same thing with rolled up towels.

Almost there!
 
What great numbers for Jupe, I'm so happy the times is just a couple days away, it's been a long wait for you both, Sending good vibes your way,
 
We've used those long plastic boxes when Margaret used to hide under the middle of the king sized bed. I ended up filling those boxes FULL of stuff such as CD's, magazines, school paperwork, things I needed or wanted that also needed a place to be stored. If the boxes were heavy for me to move there was no way kitty was moving them. Good luck with everything! We're hoping for a quick and successful surgery, a speedy fast recovery and a great report from the doctor! Tons of prayers and good thoughts heading your way.
 
Sending many prayers and positive thoughts to you and Jupiter. Dyana is right...just keep visualizing a positive outcome and a full recovery.
 
BJM, thats a good idea I didnt think of that... If I cant keep him from going under it, I could make it so if he does.... it wont be as a snug of a fit.... I dont have any bricks or anything though... and we are really broke... but.... I am going to try to think of something we could put the couch on to lift it up...

Got any really thick books? It might make the couch unsafe to sit on but will make it easier for you to reach under there. And it will still allow him to feel "hidden".
 
Carl & Bob said:
...Got any really thick books? ...

And you've just enough time to go to the library (er ... put some fabric between the books and the couch legs!)
 
we have a lot of flattened cardboard boxes... we are going to try to make it work later... dane has a interview for a new job today... keeping fingers crossed for him....

unfortunately nothing seems to be going right today :sad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top