7/16 China AMBG 75 NS due to family PMPS 314

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo


Good morning LL! I need some advice this morning. At the normal AMPS time, China's only at 75, so I"m stalling 30 minutes and retesting. If her BG goes up, should I shoot? I can't be around all day to test, so need some help


AMBG 75
+12.5 71
 
Re: 7/16 China AMBG 75 STALLING..ADVICE PLEASE

Hey Chris - did you get any help or resolve your problem?? I can't give advice, but wanted to check in....
 
Re: 7/16 China AMBG 75 STALLING..ADVICE PLEASE

How much time will you have until you need to leave? (And do you have strips and HC if you need them?)
 
Re: 7/16 China AMBG 75 STALLING..ADVICE PLEASE

AMBG 75
+12.5 71

Yes, I have my hypo kit and plenty of strips

As for when I have to leave, that's unknown right now. My mom (who had a stroke recently) fell at home Sunday night, and last night her left leg was badly bruised, swollen and hot. I'm trying to get her into the doctor as soon as possible or to the ER. We're waiting to see if she can get into the local doctor or I'll have to run her to the hospital
 
Re: 7/16 China AMBG 75 STALLING..ADVICE PLEASE

Chris --

If I were in this situation, I would skip the shot and get your mom to the ER. A bruise that's warm/hot to the touch could easily be a clot. That's not something to mess with. Further, the earlier you get her to the ER, the earlier you'll get home.

(Please make sure you get a "real" doctor if you go to the ER. July is the month that new residents start and they are notoriously nervous and not always knowledgeable.)
 
Re: 7/16 China AMBG 75 NS

Thanks Sienne...I agree at this point, with the unknowns, it's best to skip the shot this morning. I hate to do it since I liked yesterday's numbers and hate to lose momentum, but Mom's health has to come first.

I assure you, I've been trying to get her to agree to go to the ER!! She's a stubborn woman who doesn't like to admit she needs help (or that she's NOT Superwoman anymore) The possibility of a clot scares me too, but I can't force her to go

Told her last night if she couldn't get in to see her local doctor today, I WAS going to take her to the ER if I had to have my son go down and carry her to the car

Will go ahead and skip this morning, and deal with getting her to the local doctor or the ER

Thanks Sienne!
 
Re: 7/16 China AMBG 75 No shot this AM due to family emergen

Hi guys, I think you made the right call to skip the shot this morning and get your mom to the ER .. I will keep you all in our prayers that it is not a clot and that you are all back home soon!
 
Re: 7/16 China AMBG 75 No shot this AM due to family emergen

Hope everything is all right with your mom. Sending healing prayers and positive thoughts your way.
 
Re: 7/16 China AMBG 75 No shot this AM due to family emergen

I hope you can get your mom to the doctor and everything is ok. They do get stubborn. (((Chris and Mom)))
 
Thank you all for the prayers and well wishes....Mom still refuses to go to the ER, but we did get her to the doctor( who I have always thought was a Quack). He's overdosed her on medications by not paying attention to what he's already given her, as well as mis-diagnosing a TIA as an "inner ear infection" so I don't have any faith in the man...unfortunately, Mom thinks he's great.

Anyway, he didn't take any x-rays, just looked at her badly swollen, red and hot leg and said she needed an MRI, but instead of suggesting she go to the ER, or ordering one STAT, set up an appointment for 2:45 tomorrow..I tried to argue, but when the doctor thinks he's God and Mom believes in him the way she does, I'm outnumbered. grr_red


Since I skipped the AM dose, I'm going to go ahead and back her up to a 7/7 schedule instead of 8/8 so that if I need to leave during the day, I'm more likely to be able to get at least a +1 and probably a +2 so I'll have some idea of what to do with China if I can't be home to test

AMBG 75
+12.5 71
+8.3 300

PMPS 314
 
When my grandmother had a badly bruised leg (blood thinners!), my nurse aunt put warm compresses on it to improve circulation and help it slowly dissolve. When I asked, she said NOT to rub it as that might dislodge any clot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top